We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Joint, Good Food, Casual and Fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Duck Cafe

Black Duck Cafe
605 Riverside Ave, Westport, CT 06880-5918
203-227-7978
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 136 Restaurants in Westport
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Connecticut
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Good Joint, Good Food, Casual and Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is a good joint, it serves good to very good pub food in a causal setting. The only caveat is that the food isn't excellent only very good at best.

We started with the cajun shrimp, good and fresh but overburdened by deep frying in a dark crust that overwhelmed the shrimp. The crab cakes were good but, again, overwhelmed by the the deep-fried crust. The King Lobster Roll was very good, plenty of meat and good fries but it wasn't great - the meat was a bit old, it didn't taste bad but it wasn't really fresh and it was bathed in butter. The rest of my party had a chili dog, another King Lobster roll and a wrap; the total without tip was 108 bucks.

The service was quick, friendly and professional. This is a pub restaurant, unpretentious bordering on a bit shabby but that means it is absolutely casual, you can get by with jeans and a t shirt. The patrons were, basically, everybody, families with children, families with teenagers, couples young and old, etc.

I have read the most recent reviews before I wrote this and I can understand and don't completely disagree with the excellent ratings. This is a comfortable place for a pub meal, just be aware that the fried food is deeply and well fried. That being said we will definitely be back and try some of the other menu items.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    62
    31
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethel, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“fathers day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Not my first visit or my last Our daughters came home for the weekend of fathers day and on Sunday they took my wife and I to dinner before they hit the road our server was great we had the large order of steamers and lobster rolls all around the steamers here are the best also so much lobster on the roll you have to eat with a fork plus the lobster is prepared ct style it just melted in your mouth no need to dress fancy here even its your first visit you will feel like a regular here don't let the facade deter you this is a must eat spot

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
“Whole Belly Clam Platter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We have enjoyed many clam platters over the years in various locations. This is the first platter I could not finish although it was awfully good... We want to come back and try some of the lobster dishes too. They were overly generous with the clams and the price was very reasonable.

Our server was very attentive and pleasant. I would recommend this diner to friends.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Down and out in CT...??”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Go to the Black Duck - it will remind you of what is good about small old run down bars and diners... Really good simple food, a great vibe and live music - with inexpensive drinks... What more do you want...?? Oh and the floor does slope naturally....

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice view of the canal from the bar, everything else average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My wife and I rode out motorcycles up to this cafe with high hopes. It's a salty place with a long bar that faces a canal not quite under route 95. We ate at the bar. The bar tender was grumpy, seemed like working there was the last thing he wanted to do. We had the clams casino (very chewy) and the wings (skin was soft - not crunchy) and slathered with a lot of sauce. My burger was okay and my wife's fish and chips were fresh. I say an average meal, with a nice view serviced by a bartender with a chip on his shoulder.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Duck Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Black Duck Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Duck Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.