We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Wedding location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cobbs Mill Inn

Cobbs Mill Inn
12 Old Mill Road, Weston, CT 06883
203-227-7221
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Weston
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Boston
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wedding location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great setting on the river for an outdoor wedding. Outside of the street traffic, the ambiance was wonderful. Fall wedding, late afternoon as the sun is waning was just perfect. The setting was by the river and the guests looked out over the river at the beautiful trees as they started to turn.
The reception was inside the old mill. The decor is rustic as it's an old mill. Wood everywhere, low beam ceilings. Just beautiful inside. We had plenty of room for the dining and dancing portion of the wedding. Very romantic. Perfect place. Food was pretty good also.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    23
    6
    6
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Connecticut
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“It's OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This was our first try at the "new" Cobbs Mill Inn. The food was fine and the service was OK. It just did not feel as comfortable as it used to be. It used to be a great, comfortable New England restaurant. Now it's just another OK place when you can't think of somewhere else to go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Owners don't pay their employees!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We dined here recently and noticed our regular server wasn't their anymore. We were disappointed to hear she left because she always gave us great service. When we asked where she was we were told a lot of people left because Elayne can't seem to pay her employees for the work they do for her! My husband and I were shocked to hear this and very upset. How could this women be so selfish to not pay her employees who work so hard for her? I hope that someone local will read this and stop supporting this crazy lady who clearly is in over her head. It is only a matter of time before this place goes out of business again. I feel so bad for all those people that Elayne owes money too. There is a lot of talk going around about how she owes everyone money and writes bad checks to purveyors and to her employees. I hope the people of Weston will stop supporting her! I also hope the town will try and shut her down! Elayne should be ashamed of herself for not paying her employees!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield,CT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Glad they are back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Although there have been negative comments about the restaurant, let me put to rest thse comments by stating that we have enjoyed the restaurant for many years and that the revitalization of the Inn was a joy and that with the return of the maitre d' and the new chef, we enjoyed the ambiance, the food and the wine list. Theresa, our waitress could not have been more attentive to our needs and the fact that Elayne wore a fabulously well fitted dress only added to our enjoyment. Her vistiting the tables would have been nice, since it was early on a Saturday night.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobb's I, Owner at Cobbs Mill Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Cobbs Mill Inn on TripAdvisor. We value all comments about our historic restaurant, good and bad. We're very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us in the past. Our Executive Chef, Patrick Mims, has been with us since May of 2013 and it was his food, no doubt, that you enjoyed during your last visit. Please visit us again soon as we have new ownership, an updated menu, and new delectable wines to taste. We look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naugatuck
1 review
“Best Experience EVER!!!! Highly recommend to anyone who enjoys a good time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We just held our daughter "Sweet Sixteen" party at La Roue Elayne. We were so impressed by the service we received. The staff and Elayne herself made all our guests feel so comfortable. My daughter will cherish the experience she had forever. Her friends even want to host their parties there. Would HIGHLY recommend anyone to have them cater your next event. They even have a sweet cafe to cater to younger or sweet-toothed guests.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cobbs Mill Inn also viewed

 

Been to Cobbs Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cobbs Mill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.