We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn

Save Saved
You added Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   138 South Main Street, Westbrook, CT 06498   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 6 Westbrook B&B and Inns
NYC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Have had 2 fun crafting weekends with friends at the Captain Stannard House. Mary & Jim are friendly, hospitable and accommodating hosts. The Inn is comfortable, clean and homey. The food is always excellent. I loved my room and bed and the public spaces are just as inviting.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms online for photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    8
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
50
7
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

It is always a delight to stay with Mary and Jim at the Captain Stannard House. My family and I have been staying with them for many years, and we are always pleased with their services.

Mary and Jim are extremely hospitable people and at times it even feels like we are staying in a "home away from home." The house is beautiful and each room shows character and charm. It is like no other B & B I have stayed at with exceptional decorating and classy approaches in style of furniture.

The ambiance is quite lovely and very peaceful. Downstairs there are two open rooms with a tv, pool table, unlimited beverages and a microwave. There is even a fireplace to add an even more "charming" feature to the home.

Breakfast is always lovely served with juice, coffee, and a main course. Jim and Mary are great cooks, I've never had a bad breakfast with them. They put time into what they do, making everything extremely fresh for their guests.

Down the street there is a beach which is within walking distance. At night during the summer it’s nice to sit on their breathtaking porch and read a book after taking a walk to the beach. Getting in and out of the house is also convenient as there is a security code to get in.

I would highly recommend the Captain Stannard House to anyone. Jim and Mary don't look as you as just customers, but as regular people. They truly are warm hearted people who care about making you have the best possible experience in their home.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hyde Park, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

A recent visit to Capt. Stannard B&B was wonderful...the home is spotless and the owners, Jim and Mary, were very friendly and welcoming! They served delicious candle-lit breakfasts in front of the fireplace. We spent a day at the nearby outlets (Tanger and Premium outlets, a few miles apart from each other) and we accomplished quite a bit of Christmas shopping. The salespeople who worked at the outlets were very helpful. The day we arrived at the B&B, the town was having their annual Christmas tree lighting and parade with many local families partiipating. It was a nice experience seeing how a small New England town begins their holiday season!

Room Tip: All the rooms on the second floor were a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My family and I have stayed at many bed and breakfast's and this one was by far the best! It was spacious and very clean! It was also in a great area, lots of things to do right outside the inn! The inn was able to accommodate all of our needs and helped us whenever needed! The owners are incredibly nice!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My family has for the last twenty years rented a b&b for the thanksgiving holiday. Our family comes all parts of the country to share this very special weekend. We have never had a place as special as the Stannard house. Mary ann Jim are unique and were the most cordial inn keepers we have ever known. This inn is so perfect in every way to spend a holiday with the family. As long as the Brewster's rent it to us this will be the place for our family on Thanksgiving.

Room Tip: My wife and i were in room # 1 and thought it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a wonderful and relaxing time here on our 20th anniversary. Friendly hosts, easy walk to the beach, summer in November! Easy commute to New Haven for theatre and nightlife, as it is pretty quiet in the off-season. Went to Gillette Castle, Essex, and Old Saybrook, all very beautiful. We sould certainly recommend it to friends or anyone traveling along the coast of CT.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the inn for the first time for two nights end of October. From the warm welcome and tour by Jim at the beginning to the spectacular breakfast prepared by Mary and the beautiful setting this Inn has it all. We loved our room, but the common rooms downstairs offered many possibilities: Pool table, puzzles, books, books, a well kept porch and so much more.
We visited our son who is in school nearby. The nice innkeepers extended their hospitality so we could enjoy the scrumptious breakfast with him.
The Inn has a great flow and never felt stuffy, yet it was warm and inviting - just the right balance! We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn

Address: 138 South Main Street, Westbrook, CT 06498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Westbrook
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Westbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain Stannard House, abundant in history, charm and space is located on the Connecticut Shoreline, one block from the beach, in quaint Westbrook. We offer nine beautifully appointed guest rooms with private baths. A delicious, candlelit full breakfast is included in your room rate. We welcome and can easily accommodate large groups of people. Our warm and inviting dining room can seat 35 comfortably. Come, stay awhile. You will have found your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, T4B, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.