We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   138 South Main Street, Westbrook, CT 06498   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 6 Westbrook B&B and Inns
Lexington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a wonderful and relaxing time here on our 20th anniversary. Friendly hosts, easy walk to the beach, summer in November! Easy commute to New Haven for theatre and nightlife, as it is pretty quiet in the off-season. Went to Gillette Castle, Essex, and Old Saybrook, all very beautiful. We sould certainly recommend it to friends or anyone traveling along the coast of CT.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    8
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
48
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the inn for the first time for two nights end of October. From the warm welcome and tour by Jim at the beginning to the spectacular breakfast prepared by Mary and the beautiful setting this Inn has it all. We loved our room, but the common rooms downstairs offered many possibilities: Pool table, puzzles, books, books, a well kept porch and so much more.
We visited our son who is in school nearby. The nice innkeepers extended their hospitality so we could enjoy the scrumptious breakfast with him.
The Inn has a great flow and never felt stuffy, yet it was warm and inviting - just the right balance! We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this charming B&B for two nights in October, and were well-pleased with our experience. We enjoyed the hospitality of Jim, his wife Mary, and their extremely helpful assistant Kelly. The breakfasts, served at nine A.M. each morning, were beautifully presented and quite good. And each afternoon we found a small, baked treat on the dresser in our room----so good, that I requested and was given the recipe for their "Delicious Rhubarb Bites." One evening, we had fun shooting pool in the homey "great room," where we later chatted with Jim and Mary, and other friendly guests. We had dinner at two restaurants recommended by Jim: Lenny and Joe's for seafood, and Al Forno for Italian. Each meal was very good, and both restaurants were for the casual diner, just as we prefer when traveling.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

A very lovely and quaint B&B, with delightfully friendly and warm hosts Mary and Jim, and staff Kelley. . Little baked treats on our dresser each evening, delicious and unique breakfasts each morning. Very easy access to SE CT attractions, good restaurants nearby and cozy rooms. Met many nice people staying there--lends itself to conversation. Highly recommend.
Sandy and Laurel Rosenberg, Richmond, VA

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We just had a wedding rehearsal dinner and party, and housed many guests, at the Captain Stannard. I cannot say enough about the kindness and efficiency of the Inn. It was a bit hectic (our fault, not theirs) but they managed to cheerfully stay on top of the entire affair. The common rooms are very comfortable and, our guests reported that the guest rooms were also very good.

Room Tip: I think that the rooms are very individual (as they usually are in this kind of inn) so it would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I were very disapointed with our stay ,yes the bed is comfortable and the room was clean and neat and there were (2) cookies waiting for us , however I can't understand how everyone keeps braging about the breakfast (apparently they never stayed at a B & B before we have been to over 10 of them ) they served what they wanted to serve at 9:00 am , We had the same fruit each day with slices of pound cake ,one day we had an egg quiche which was ok and I will say the french toast was good.(small but good) . There was no other fruit, muffins, cerceal, yogurt etc . Mary and Jim were pleasant when you saw them. Both nights we never came across then at all . The most disapointing thing about this Inn is that there are no amendies. No cookies in a jar, late night coffee (there was hot water for tea an coco) no afternoon cordials no complimentary glasses of wine and cheese. No snacks except pop corn.( Good thing we stopped and picked up some things during the day.) Yes the Inn is close to other towns and the casinos and the Cafe Routiers restaurant but there are other Inns near by that offer more for less . Check them out before you go here and compare .Take if from someone who stays out B & B 's a lot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My boyfriend & I visited in mid-October which is a lovely time of year in CT. Very nice B&B with lovely hosts.....breakfast was wonderful (in a beautiful room :) and the rooms were clean, comfortable & well appointed. Will definitely make a return visit when contemplating a quick weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Stayed in the "Nutmegger" toward the back of the house ~ nice room ~ but all seemed equall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn

Address: 138 South Main Street, Westbrook, CT 06498
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Westbrook
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Westbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain Stannard House, abundant in history, charm and space is located on the Connecticut Shoreline, one block from the beach, in quaint Westbrook. We offer nine beautifully appointed guest rooms with private baths. A delicious, candlelit full breakfast is included in your room rate. We welcome and can easily accommodate large groups of people. Our warm and inviting dining room can seat 35 comfortably. Come, stay awhile. You will have found your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, T4B, Tingo, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Stannard House Bed and Breakfast Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.