We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haywire Burger Bar

Haywire Burger Bar
730 Boston Post Road, Westbrook, CT
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 34 Restaurants in Westbrook
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Excellent food and atmoshpere. Haywire makes you feel welcome and are friendly. Burgers are great. Restaurant is always packed.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    34
    17
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Branford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brie and apricot burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Had dinner with friends here a few weeks ago and hoping to head back soon. We went early as we know it gets super busy. Our server was very friendly and our burgers were delish!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I have been to Haywire twice now. Both times I thought is was just ok. The burgers are big and juicy, although my first time there my burger was a little dry and the rolls were cold and just ok as well. It seems the majority of the burgers have onions and bacon on them but there are several options so you can have what you want on them. I feel no matter what you have on the burger there just isn't any flavor.

Service was good just a little slow but it was very busy the first time I went. As another reviewer mentioned, the parking is really bad.

I would go back to try some of the other items on the menu.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higganum, CT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Good burgers, weird atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We've gone here twice for burgers. The selection is pretty extensive and creative. It should be easy for most people to find a burger they want to try. I think the food is good -- my husband was crazy about the coleslaw, which had a little bite to it (hot pepper?). We had no problem with service - it was very prompt. I'm not in a hurry to return, though, because I just can't get past the atmosphere. We sat in the back of the restaurant both times, where it just kind of feels like you're sitting in an echo-y school cafeteria. The tables are ugly and somehow have a cheap feel. The parking lot is really, really awful. Extremely poorly set up, with rows of cars parked so close together that it's really difficult to exit without k-turning your way out. I really think they need to do something about the parking!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good food, slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stopped in after a quick trip to the outlets. The wait was minimal. Server took orders and food arrived in a timely manner. As soon as the food was placed on the table our server came over and asked how was everything and that was the last we saw if her until we were done. My wife and I finished our beverages halfway through our meal with our server nowhere in sight.

    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haywire Burger Bar also viewed

 

Been to Haywire Burger Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haywire Burger Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.