We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Turkish Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saray Turkish Kitchen

Saray Turkish Kitchen
770 Campbell Ave, West Haven, CT 06516
(203) 937-0707
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 144 Restaurants in West Haven
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Newark, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Authentic Turkish Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

If you are looking for an authentic Turkish meal.. this is the place to go .. So after visiting New Haven, Connecticut pass by West Haven and try it. You will not be disappointed. The prices are extremely reasonable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    12
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor Locks
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Love it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

It has amazing taste. Chef has great knowledge about Kebap, I am a kebap crazy but I always get "Iskender' when I visit this place, I think they have the best Iskender in this tri state. I tried in Ny for more price but it is not the same taste. Restaurant is good size much bigger than Turkish kebab house which is on same street. It is clean, but I think little pricy comparing to former years.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“So glad we decided to try true Turkish cuisine once again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A few years ago after returning from a trip to Turkey, I decided to visit a Turkish restaurant in New Haven. Was exactly what I remembered, and visited there again a couple of times. Today because I had heard so many great things about Saray Turkish Kitchen. we went out of our way to try it because I was in the mood for something different. Everything from the Kebabs to rice pudding was excellent, and the tasty Turkish tea really relaxed me. Like when the owner takes the time to greet his customers, and he warned us that our waiter was slow which proved to be true especially when more and more customers passed through the doors and he had his fair share of patrons to serve. Noticed that a high portion of those here were natives. This, of course, confirms that the food is very authentic which is the main reason I was attracted to visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

For a tasty lunch treat Saray is always an excellent choice. Turkish food has taken hold as there are 2 wonderful Turkish restaurants on Campbell Ave in West Haven, CT. I prefer Saray because it has a more varied menu and better Turkish coffee! Great service, attentive wait staff all come together to make this a unique and pleasant dining experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good local flavor--from Turkey!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Extremely tasty food, super service---You know it is good when you see whole families coming in for a table---I assume regulars, of Turkish ancestry/descent. Everyone I have brought here has enjoyed the food and felt the service was above par.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saray Turkish Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Saray Turkish Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saray Turkish Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.