We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Disappointed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olive Garden

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Olive Garden
1441 New Britain Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06110
860 521-9049
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 158 restaurants in West Hartford
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Burlington, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never Disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have taken my Mom (it's her favorite) here for lunch often. The meals are delicious and portions generous. We especially love eating in the bar area but love the dining room as well.
The prices are reasonable and the wine selection very nice. We love it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    8
    10
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, CT
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Reservations are not required for small groups at this Olive Garden, so we had a forty minute wait for a table in this packed restaurant on New Year's Eve. It was nicely decorated and clean and the waitress took our order shortly. Luckily, breadsticks and drinks were brought quickly since we were starving. It took a very long time for our entrees to come, probably since there were so many people eating tonight. The food was decent portions and very good. The waitress worked hard to satisfy us even when there was an overcharge with our bill. A nice restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

When we arrived on a friday night it was extremely busy, we were told it would be a 40 minute wait. We were expecting that so it wasn't a problem. It only took 25 minutes to be seated. The wait staff have always been exceptional there. Very friendly, very attentive and on top of everything. We have eaten there several times and have never had a bad meal. LOVE the salad dressing!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Ask for a taste of wine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is the one place that will give you a sample of wine before ordering a glass or bottle. You can usually try a couple, but don't abuse the privilege. If I had reviewed this OG last year, I would have said it was excellent, but their menus change and lately the choices and portion sizes have declined. The value is still pretty good for unlimited salad, breadsticks, soups, and traditional pasta choices, and we still go at least once a month. We hope they bring back some of the past super pasta choices. And there's always the wine samples. Enjoy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Soup & Salad - Good Lunch Deal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nice lunch for $7.95 - unlimited soup, salad, and bread sticks. Octavia was our server. What a lovely person - attentive and kind. We tried three of their soups: Pasta e Fagioli - white and red beans, ground beef, tomatoes and pasta in a savory broth, Minestrone - fresh veggies, beans, and pasta in a light tomato broth( vegetarian), Zuppa Toscana - spicy sausage, russet potatoes, and cavolo greens( like kale) in a creamy broth ( this one was our favorite).
The salad is ample but uneventful - just an iceberg bag mix with a couple of red onion slices, two black olives, tomato wedges and two pepperoncinis added. The salad is sparsely dressed. Octavia was happy to bring us some extra dressing on the side. The bread sticks were fresh and hot - tasty!
I must say everything was fresh, the restaurant was clean and the service was spot on. Enjoy!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Garden also viewed

 
West Hartford, CT
 

Been to Olive Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.