We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes the best falafel ever..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tangiers International

Tangiers International
668 Farmington Avenue, West Hartford, CT 06119
+1 860-233-8168
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 158 restaurants in West Hartford
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Restaurant details
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yes the best falafel ever..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012 via mobile

I come from an arabic country, I tasted many falafel sandwiches in my whole life from different middle eastern restaurants in the whole world.The sandwithc is big enough to have one for a meal or maybe half. When it comes to a falafel sandwitch, I would say, this is the best falafel sandwitch you will ever have. The store is nice, well organized. U buy a lot of middle eastern groceries from their. However, it is a little expensive if you compared the price to other middle eastern grocery markets.
My advice is to try their falafel ...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    23
    10
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CT
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

the falafels are very good. They have some interesting grocery items too. The people there are quite pleasant (and good looking!).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Everthing you read in other reviews is true, the good and the bad.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Somehow, despite hearing good things about Tangiers, especially in various "Best of Hartford" polls, I've managed to never visit in its 17 years at Farmington and Prospect until recently, one eat in and one takeout. Everything you read in the other reviews -- both the good and the bad -- is accurate. It is mostly a small middle eastern grocery store and I'm no expert but the prices seem high...but maybe the more authentic brands are worth it. As for the "restaurant," they have all of eight seats at a low counter and provide takeout. The gyro and falafal are great. Skip the kibbee (a meatloaf) and the stuffed grape leaves. The baklava is good if a bit dry. The tabouli is a nice cracker topping (esp on the Olive potato chips they have) and bread pie stuffed w/spinach and feta is worth trying (also comes stuffed w/meat). But it's not a cheap eat, especially for the quantity of food...notice there's no prices on the menu! And as for the staff....yes, they are good looking (I'm comfortable enough to admit that) and no doubt part of the place's attraction to my wife and others. And they are exceedingly nice, charming, well dressed and humorous. My Bottom Line: I want to like this place more than I do. But I'm glad it's there. It adds to the cultural texture of the area. If it's convenient, grab a quick sandwich every now and then and peruse the aisles. But I'd put the food and the more restaurant-atmosphere of Tapas in Elmwood up against it.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield, ma
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very good authentic mediterrean food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

I have been going to tangiers for years and years as it right across the street from my office. Usually i call ahead and order takeout. Sometimes i take a seat at the counter. The staff is very friendly, and mostly family i believe. highlights are gyros, very greek and yummy. Also world class felafels, regular or they have a hot sauce on it. Great fast, healthy food. also they have tasty desserts, like baklava, and of course hummus, all home made. only problem is they are on the pricey side when compared to toher lunch places in the neighborhood.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Falafels!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

I almost gave up on trying to find a good falafel in Connecticut since moving from New York this summer. Luckily I found Tangiers! Not only are the falafels very tasty, but they are also super fresh and cooked to perfection! I'm so glad I won't have to travel back to New York every time I want to get a good falafel. Thanks guys and keep up the good work!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tangiers International also viewed

West Hartford, CT
 
West Hartford, CT
 

Been to Tangiers International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tangiers International, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.