We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish it was better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Elbow Room

The Elbow Room
986 Farmington Ave, West Hartford, CT 06107-2102
860-236-6195
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 156 Restaurants in West Hartford
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Eclectic, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“I wish it was better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We have frequented the elbow room often due to the nice front window and at other times satellite football. My observations:
Needs a freshening up
Service very spotty. Last two times would have ordered desert but waitress flirting at bar and it was 15 min. We were one of two tables on a sunday.
When i hear complaints to owner he always says that he did not know

I like the food but my friends think much better at max, bricco, max burger etc
Too bad Going less and less i think

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    27
    27
    11
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CT
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“What a dump!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Met friends for drinks and we walked out before ordering. Nasty people in the restaurant -- and the bar is a dump.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new haven, connecticut
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Due to the other great eateries in the area this place is just average. Service is good and the staff is friendly. Food didn't move me either way. I wasn't disappointed but I certainly didn't feel the need to make a return visit. Night time gets live since SideBar (directly next to The Elbow Room and connected) turns into party central. Normally a pretty good d.j. is playing there. Normally Top Floor Entertainment. The dance area at SideBar is HORRIBLE. No ventilation and hot as hell in the basement level. Security was cool but needs to enforce spacing issues like a lot of other clubs do. You can hardly move anywhere in that place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, CT
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“This is such a great place to go with friends for lunch or brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've been to the Elbow Room three times in the recent past, and have never been disappointed. The staff is very helpful and attentive. The food, salads, sandwiches, omlets have all been good and well prepared. The atmosphere is nice and they don't rush you. I would go there again when I'm in the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Elbow Room is a disgrace now!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I really used to like this restaurant so we went 2x this past month but this last time was just crap!!! Firstv we ordered 2 specials and when they came both were different dishes and were not as stated in the menu. Then mine has numerous hairs in it. We also asked for more dinner rolls before this all happened and they never came. The waiter was polite but the owner was standing 7 feet from us atdoor by hostess stand and never once came over to apologize. I guess he just doesn't care anymore seeing as his restaurant was empty and all the others in West Htfd. were full! We really like the food here but we keep giving this place a chance and they keep messing up and blatantly do not care!!!!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Elbow Room also viewed

 
West Hartford, CT
 

Been to The Elbow Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elbow Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.