We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pizza in West Hartford” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joey's Pizza Pie

Joey's Pizza Pie
353 Park Rd, West Hartford, CT 06119-1918
860-523-5639
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 156 Restaurants in West Hartford
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Broad Brook, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best pizza in West Hartford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Really good Pizza's and the prices are decent too! They also make a meatball salad that's outta this world. Small restaurant but worth the wait!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Walpole, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yummy modern Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Great pizza, superb eggplant fries, huge salads and pretty reasonable price. We've been there a few times and have never been disappointed. Try their meatball salad. It is excellent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Probably the best grinder I have ever had! Wife had a burger and friend had a pizza. They were all very good and the portions are so huge we had leftovers the next day. The sweet potato wedges are wonderful. The service was also good and the waiter was very helpful. One of my new favorite places to go.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a poor experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Food was OK, but service and management was lousy. Three people ordered three full dinner meals. Plus we wanted a half grinder. "Nope," they said. "We only sell full grinders at dinner." But you have all the ingredients sitting right there? "Yes." And you won't make it, even though we're ordering all this other food? "No."

Tried to get us to order a full grinder. "It's only $1.50 more, and it's double the size." So, we said, you're telling us that you actually make a better margin on the half grinder? "Yes," said the manager. Then sell us one, we said. It's extra money for you. "No," she replied. "Those are the rules."

I've got a rule, too. Any restaurant too stupid to sell me more food, at a higher margin, while really ticking me off to boot, is a restaurant I'm not planning to go back to soon. There are a lot of good pizza places where they don't insult you. I don't need a big order of aggravation to go along with the check I'm paying.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 177 cities Reviews in 177 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Modern, updated, pizza and pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This is a family favorite for both dine in and take out. The dining area is a bit tight as is the always full parking lot. However, the food which updates italian classics is great. Family favorites invariably includes thin crust pizzas (design your own or try one of theirs like ny egg plant, or clams casino), pasta, and grinders. We'd looked for a home style italian restaurant in west hartford for some time and finally found a modern version.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joey's Pizza Pie also viewed

 
West Hartford, CT
West Hartford, CT
 

Been to Joey's Pizza Pie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joey's Pizza Pie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.