We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place has potential.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tadlo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tadlo Lodge to your Saves list
Tadlo Lodge
Ban Tanglea, No.20 Rd, Lao Ngam District, Ban Laongam, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Peyia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
383 reviews 383 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“This place has potential.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Ok, I like my 5 star hotels and this is not my kind of a hotel/lodge. This place is located on a river and the surroundings are just amazing. That's it. The rooms are big the bathroom is very spacious but the place is basic and not clean. The staff have no idea how to run a hotel/lodge. At night it was freezing ant the one blanket does not do. During breakfast when I wanted more coffee it was not appreciated by the staff as they where also having their breakfast and I was disturbing them. Also during breakfast a couple came and they sat at a table but the staff asked them to move as that table was not set. All I can say ----- set it for your customers. Wake up.

Room Tip: The rooms are all the same but if you come during December, January and early February make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    24
    21
    7
    1
See reviews for
4
40
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have just been to this lodge. We did not sleep. We are the 27th December and it gets really cold at night. The lodge is made for then summer as part of it is opened. There is a net for mosquito though. There was only a thin Blanket. It was like sleeping outside in London, as cold as that.....except that we did not have the right clothes on. I ended up putting a jeans on and a jumper and that was still not enough. I gave a really bad rating because of that but the rest was ok to be honest. Was never any toilet paper in toilets though or not enough, had to ask for communal ones and for ours. Shower is together with toilet, no evacuation, just stones. The room had no drawers or anythingelse, no hairdryer, no safe. The view was fantastic on the falls. The food quality was really good and the dinner area in front of the river is great but really cold in the evenings. There was no mosquitos, things were clean. The elephant ride was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgdorf, Switzerland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed in a double room which was really very basic and clean but too expensive (45 $). The surrounding is beautiful and the waterfall is very nice. The wooden platform on the river and small bridges had broken logs, quite dangerous. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pakse, Laos
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My parents stayed here a short while ago. The lodge has a very nice location, close to the waterfalls (although, waterfalls make noise...). The manager is a friendly guy and after I told him that the price was too high considering the rooms, he made a phonecall to his boss to ask for a discount. Only a very small discount was possible (in low-season, with very few guests) but of course you can't blame the manager for that.

The rooms are not very well equiped and cleaning could be better. The staff in the lodge is not bad but playing with you telephone when people ask something (in Lao) is not very polite, also not in Laos. It was very wet in the room (rainy season and close to the waterfalls, probably that's better in dry-season).


The restaurant is very nice and the food is good and not expensive (a bit more than in some other places but not too expensive). The staff there is nice (but slow and most of the times watching TV, like almost everywhere in Laos).

I think the price is too high if you see the rooms. With some investment and some improvements this place has the potential to become very good. But that's the case for many places in Laos.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
282 helpful votes 282 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I just reviewed this hotel on the other "Tad Lo Lodge" page on tripadvisor, only to realize that there was this page for the hotel, which has many more reviews. Both of the "Tad Lo Lodges" on tripadvisor for this region are the same hotel. In case you do not read what I posted on the other lodge, this is a great place. Really gorgeous. Excellent breakfast, included in price. Perfect location. More expensive than other places around, but it is fantastic. Rooms—and even the bathroom!—feel like luxury.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in Jan., 2013. The setting is wonderful. The rooms are very basic but clean. My primary complaint was the staff who spoke virtually only Lao and was more interested in watching TV in a back room or dozing at the desk than in staffing a hotel. Breakfast was included and was good. The restaurants in town are basic but very worthwhile and very inexpensive. There are several communities within a very short walking distance. The local people could not be nicer. The only begging we encountered was from children who wanted pens.When we came home to the US we sent a large pen shipment. There are 3 resident elephants who seem to be well cared for by the mahouts. They are in a small enclosure during the day but are bathed several times daily, are taken on long walks and at night are together in a forest area. This would be a marvelous place to stay if the hotel would only upgrade.Even with its faults I would still recommend a few days here.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This bungalow hotel has a spectacular location. A river runs next to it, waterfalls nearby, sometimes more water, sometimes less, they can regulate it. You may swim or bathe there, or just walk along the water.
It's a pleasure watching the elephants, you may ride on them if you like.
The rooms are nice, but should be renovated now and then. There were some things broken in the bathroom, but not repaired.
You have to call the staff, they prefer watching TV.

Dinner was really good!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tadlo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tadlo Lodge

Address: Ban Tanglea, No.20 Rd, Lao Ngam District, Ban Laongam, Laos
Location: Laos > Salavan Province > Ban Laongam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Ban Laongam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tadlo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tadlo Hotel Pakse

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tadlo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.