We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese buffet around” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial China Buffet

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Imperial China Buffet
615 Straits Tpke, Watertown, CT 06795-3322
860-274-9888
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 43 restaurants in Watertown
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best Chinese buffet around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is by far the best chinese buffet. Many items to choose from for all palates. Tasty food without being overly salty or over cooked. The sushi is fresh and has a good selection of items. Best prices comparatively. You always see someone you know there!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

45% Recommend
    1
    4
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Ct
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Best China buffet in Connecticut”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We were just looking for a fast lunch after servicing the car in a nearby dealership. What a surprise!
The abundance of choices for incredibly low price ( eat as much as you can for less than $10 per person, including green tea.) Soups, sushi bar, multiple choices of appetizers and main dishes plus fruits and sweets. The owners warn you not to take more on your plate than you can actually eat. So difficult to resist. My only disappointment was with dishes not being warm enough. The presentation is great but temperature, under trays, too low so, once you reach your table the food seems to be lukewarm. Absolutely the best Chinese buffet around!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Not what it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

This buffet was arguably the best Chinese buffet in the state. I've been coming here for at least 10 years on so many occasions I could not keep track.

My last 2 or 3 visits have been very disappointing. While the spread of food is still the same. They did add a Hibachi grill which was nice, but the food in general did not sit well afterwards.

I don't really know what happened but the quality of food has gone downhill. After getting sick this last time going, it's probably time to stop going.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hitting the Hibachi is strongly recommended.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We used to go there a lot for years and then we kind of over did it and needed a break. Once they brought the hibachi grill in, we now go every week. Food is nice and fresh off the grill. The shrimp and scallops are cooked perfectly. If I have decide to sample any of the rest of the buffet, since I like mostly everything, I'll follow the kitchen servers as they fill up the trays with new stuff. You watch where the new stuff goes and scoop from there. Staff is friendly, and the food is decent. Nice deal for the price.

Unfortunately, people post a few negative remarks like… “Typical greasy lameo buffet”… Blah blah…If you don’t like a big variety, you probably should reconsider the types of restaurants you’re attending. As with most Chinese buffets, the more versatile your palate is, the more options you have at the freshest food. Due to the nature of buffets, it’s too costly to throw food out so just eat the freshest looking stuff. Yes, occasionally they’ll over grease the fried stuff but you’ve got to know what to look for. Take a couple of pieces then go right back for the ones that you like.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecicut
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wow , one of the best in the state”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Place is great. Food is fresh and they even have a hibachi bar now where you can pick what you want and they cook it right in front of you. All this is included in the price of food. The one thing i don't like is soft drinks are not included in the price of buffet. Great food ,reasonably priced.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Imperial China Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Imperial China Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial China Buffet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.