We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Waterford

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn Waterford to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Waterford
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Waterford Parkway North, Waterford, CT 06385   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Waterford
Fall River, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good Hotel for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

My Husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. When we first arrived we were checked in by a very nice man with his cute dog.

When we entered the room we were a little overwhelmed by a musty odor in the room. We took a trip to the local Walmart right down the street and bought some air-freshener and one of those Renuzit things that you open and releases the smell. That seemed to do the trick and fix the smell problem. I think was because it was like 100 + degrees outside, it was very hot.

We stayed in a non-smoking Queen room on the first floor. The room was nice and very clean. It had a kitchen with a fridge, microwave, sink, cabinets, and a stove-top.

Overall this was a good hotel but is very basic and you definitely get what you pay for. The bed was very uncomfortable with just a thin small mattress pad and sheet, no extra padding like other hotels. Our room did not have a hair dryer and they had complimentary hand soap and body wash.

The only cons I had were that the ac did not keep the room as cool as we would have liked it and next time we would stay on the second floor because the people upstairs were walking like they had lead feet and we could hear all the banging, it was annoying at times.

It was located in a very nice area, not far from Mohegan, which is where my Husband and I like to go to when in CT and it is close to Shopping and restaurants.

We would stay at this hotel again for the weekend. For us it's just a place to sleep and shower while we explore CT and do what we want to do.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    23
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
16
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mill, SC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We were visiting family in Connecticut from South Carolina. We arrived very late and David the manager was more than willing to do anything to help us settle in. The next morning, the desk attendant was completely opposite being very rude and not willing to be helpful. We asked to check out after one day for that reason alone. We had to pay three nights in advance and recieved a full refund for the two nights that we would not be staying there. If I ever had to stay again, I would in a second as long as the desk attendant was not there.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, CT
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Just off I-95, but set back from highway so we were unable to hear any traffic related noise. The place was spotless, and the staff could not have been nicer including the night manager and his tiny dog, and the morning crew. They treated us like they knew us as family, and could not have been nicer.

Though we live about 45 minutes away, we were at an event at the Mohegan Sun Casino on Friday night of the Independence Day Weekend, and were traveling the next day to Block Island, so this spot was perfect for us/ In the morning we took advantage of their continental breakfast that was basic, but high quality, including coffee, tea, hot chocolate, juice, donuts, pastry and fruit.

We wished we had more time to view the grounds, as the pool looked great, flowers around were a nice touch, and we were generally pleased with everything, and hope we have the need to return one day soon. The best thing was the price was great for a last minute idea to save us time from returning home after the event, and then drive right back through the area in the morning, saving us much more than the two hour round trip we eliminated. It's a great location for visiting many Connecticut shoreline tourist attractions, so we may just be back some time soon.

Room Tip: We're active Seniors, so take advantage of those rates if applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

Stayed for one night and was not disappointed in any way. The room took quite a while to warm up, but it did before bedtime. It was pristine clean and in great condition. Kitchenette in room. Linens sufficient. Bed comfortable enough. Coffee and pastry in the morning. Few travelers there and no noise from other rooms, but you need to be able to sleep through traffic noise from the highway right in front or use earplugs like I did. I would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Lobby was clean. Our room was very good. The room was clean including the bathroom. Mattresses were firm. The pool was in great condition which is not usually the case with no-frills hotels. Convenient central location to many CT beaches, Mystic, and casinors.

Negatives: The noise from Route 95 when the window is open. But with air conditioner or fan on, we couldn't hear it. And Continental Breakfast is weekends only.

This is a basic, no frills hotel but a great value.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milanville, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

I had read the reviews on this site and others and was prepared for a stay with a few let downs... but i was pleasantly surprised. We had the pool to ourselves for the most part which my daughter loved. It was very quite ( we stayed thurs-sat) and clean. The staff was friendly, and we didn't even notice the other guests there. I agree that if you are looking for all the bells and whistles, look somewhere else. But if you are looking for a cheap place with or without kids definitly consider this place.....

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

We just stayed here for one night during this memorial day weekend with our dog. I will give you the pros first.

The pros: very dog friendly, lots of parking, nice and helpful front desk, laundry room, refrigerator in room, good shower and good location.

The cons: VERY basic (though the price reflects this, so I have no complaints), nasty vending machine (though there is a 24-hour walmart super center right up the road. I dragged myself there at 10 at night, though I hate walmart because It's so big that It felt like it was going to swallow me up!), beds are really hard and old and it's a little spooky at night.

Bottom line: if you are expecting it to be beverly hills hotel (at a price that's not even one-third of it), then go somewhere else and spend the money, but if you are expecting a halfway decent place to lay your head (and maybe your dog's head, too), then it serves it's purpose.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rodeway Inn Waterford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Waterford

Address: 211 Waterford Parkway North, Waterford, CT 06385
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Waterford
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Waterford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Waterford 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Otel so you can book your Rodeway Inn Waterford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Waterford Hotel Waterford
Waterford Rodeway Inn
Lamplighter Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Waterford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.