We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for our needs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 Grand Street, Waterbury, CT 06702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Waterbury
CT
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good location for our needs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My fiance and I stayed at this property recently for a wedding. It was where the bride and groom had blocked off rooms and based on the other choices in the area I am glad they did.

The hotel looks like it was recently renovated to match the Courtyard look and feel that travelers are accustomed to. The lobby area and the bar/cafe area are well maintained and offer plenty of seating.

The room itself was clean and had a renovated feel to it. I also appreciated the front desk allowing us to check in early due to time constraints.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone in the area who needs a room and is looking for amenities like secured off street parking, wifi and a cafe/bar.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Bavallone,

Thank you for being excited about our hotel. We hope you had a wonderful time at the wedding. We appreciate the remarks on our clean renovated hotel. We are proud to to have completed this renovation and your feedback ensures our efforts have paid off!

Warm Regards,
Tiffany Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    69
    49
    16
    10
See reviews for
49
34
13
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilbraham
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed here for work, rooms were booked through a Platinum membership with Marriott. The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly enough however, overall not a pleasant stay. We were out most of our 2nd day - until 3:30 pm, came back tired and wanting to relax and get cleaned-up before the early evening work. What do we find - the room had not been serviced. Went to speak to the front desk and told that they clean the rooms that have been checked out from first before those guest continuing their stays - what this says to me is "hey we have your money so we will inconvenience you and what are you going to do about it” – since I was staying for work I had no choice. I was told that they would send someone right up but it took 30 minutes before service was provided. I place no blame on the housekeeping staff but I do blame the management for how they treat guest remaining in their rooms. I guess Platinum membership doesn’t have its benefits at Courtyard.

Courtyard doesn’t provide breakfast – at least this one doesn’t. I have stayed at many different levels of hotels, motels, and B&B’s over the years and only the cheapest management teams do not provide something for breakfast. This Courtyard’s answer – we now have a full service restaurant. One of our work companions did eat there one evening, we joined her for drinks. The wait staff are not well trained, we had to ask twice for items, never asked if we needed anything else/checked to make sure we had everything we needed. For the one breakfast that we ate there the “full service” became a walk up to counter for service, the line was long, the service slow, the cash register didn’t work and the food was mediocre at best.

By the way – the elevators at this hotel are slow – so if you are in a rush I would say take the stairs but I tried that once and the door on the lobby floor didn’t open up to the lobby floor only to the outside.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Tony R,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I want you to know as a guest and a Platinum member, having a great hotel experience is very important to us. Please except my apologies on the delay and inconvenience of having your guest room serviced at 3pm. On sold out day we typically have our housekeeper start with guestrooms that are departing to accommodate early arrival request we have groups, weddings etc. We typically have our housekeepers servicing rooms until as late as 6pm.
All Courtyard brand do not offer complimentary breakfast, but we do have great breakfast packages available. I hope that in the future you can give us another try on ensuring you have a flawless stay.

Warm Regards,
Tiffany Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Waterbury hotels

Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Recent trip to Waterbury for a long weekend. This location was great. Close to the sites we needed and about 30 minutes from tourist sites in Hartford. Our location was close to local area culture, churches, Walgreens and great restaurants too. Our rate was very affordable and free parking.

Our room was a spacious king room. Coffee and wi-fi free. Refrigerator upon request for medical needs only. NO MICROWAVE....
There is an exercise room, free PC in the lobby for printing boarding passes etc, indoor pool and a nice restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for the accurate and detailed review of our hotel. I am glad that our Central location made it convenient for you to enjoy your stay in Connecticut!

Warm Regards,
Tiffany Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is a nice, very large, urban style Courtyard.
The desk staff were very helpful and engaging.
Overall the hotel is clean and in good shape. It has the new lobby style with the open areas and bright colors.
The room was large and clean.
The breakfast doesn't follow the exact Courtyard menu, and was a bit slow. The offerings were solid and good.
The workout room is pretty normal for a Courtyard (about the size of a guest room). That means that it was pretty small for a hotel this big. It did have a pulley machine and a rack of dumbells. There was enough room to work out.
Because the hotel is central, there is a lot available with a very short walk.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for your feed back. I am delighted to hear you found your guest room very clean and the staff extremely friendly. We will make improvements to the speed of service at breakfast based on your feed back.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Tiffany Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

On May 9th, our church held a fundraising event at the Courtyard by Marriott in Waterbury.
Everything was perfect. ALL OF THE STAFF were friendly, helpful and professional. The food was excellent, service was great.
We have had other events here in the past, and will definitely have events here again in the future!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for the awesome review. We love having your group at the hotel and we look forward to hosting you again!

Warm Regards,
Tiffany Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands , England
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Stayed here on 3 separate occasions in between legs of a road trip. Mainly business people using it. Found the reception staff to be excellent, friendly and helpful. Food and drink is limited and unattractive. Rooms are fairly spacious. Not 5*, but clean if a little dated. Room rates good.
Bar is dead and very expensive. free internet PC s to use in lobby , free wifi in hotel. Road noise virtually nil. Pick up and drop off area at rear, and free high rise car park at the back.

Tips : Don't eat breakfast here. Come out of the front, turn left, walk 100 yards and cross over and eat at Dotties Diner. Good Breakfast, friendly banter , music etc. Break from the hotel eating area which is a bit like a canteen.

Evenings (on foot) : Forget the Bar. Flat and Boring. Weekdays I would definitely recommend the Shamrock Bar and Grill. Again, turn left at front, cross 2 roads and this is at the bottom of Field Street on the left. Looks a little shady, but inside its great. Good Food, Good Beer, lots of seating areas for individuals and groups and about 20TVs with various things on. Pulled Pork Sandwich especially recommended. May get a little noisy at weekends as they have bands on.

Room Tip: No preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your review on our hotel. We hope you can give our new Bistro a try. We offer casual, flexible seating; easier access to food and higher quality, healthier menu options for breakfast; and light evening fare, including snacks, cocktails, wine and beer so guests can unwind. Coffee lovers can also enjoy freshly brewed Starbucks coffee.

We hope to see you back at our Courtyard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed for 1 Saturday night. The hotel is very nicely done in typical and expected Courtyard style. The rooms are spacious and comfortable.

However, they would appear to have an issue with staffing levels and training. When we checked in, at about 3:30 PM on a Saturday, there was just 1 person at the front desk to handle all customers. This was woefully inadequate, as there were around 8-10 parties on the line. The 1 clerk (I did not catch his name) was doing an excellent job, but there should have been at least 2, and possibly 3 people at the desk at check in time when I understand the hotel was fully booked.

Sunday morning we had to leave early, so we came down early for breakfast. The staff there was a disaster. 2 of our party had gotten down shortly after 7 AM when the bistro opened. When I came down at 7:25 they still had not gotten their food, in spite of being told more than once that they would have it in a minute. The young lady behind the counter had no idea what was going on. At one point someone came out from the back, and it seems this young lady had told him to cancel the order. No one told her to cancel, and if they had, why wasn't she giving money back? Finally the food came. But even what I ordered, oatmeal and toast, took way too long. As I said previously, this hotel has an issue with staffing levels and training, something they need to work on.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for your review on May 19th . We deeply regret the experience you had in the Bistro and front Desk area and offer our sincere apology. After receiving your review, we gave the Bistro team some feedback and will require them to take additional training in verbal and non-verbal communication skills. We will defiently looking in to our staffing levels as well.
Please contact myself or another member of our management team directly so that we can work with you to determine an appropriate resolution to this issue. You can reach me at (203) 596-1000 extension 486.

Wam Regards,
Tiffany Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown

Address: 63 Grand Street, Waterbury, CT 06702
Location: United States > Connecticut > Waterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Waterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come check out the Newly Renovated Cuortyrd in Waterbury. The new state-of-the-art lobby at the Courtyard by Marriott in Waterbury Downtown provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. This Waterbury hotel features our new lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard™. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.™Which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. This Courtyard by Marriott is also conveniently located in walking distance from the Palace Theater. We offer a well equipped fitness center, indoor pool and whirlpool. A 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing service is also available. Metro North train access is nearby. Your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott in Waterbury Downtown is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than ever before! Our unique Courtyard by Marriott features over 10,000 square feet of newly renovated function space, allowing us to create the perfect atmosphere to compliment your event. Whether you're organizing a business meeting or planning a special occasion for friends and family, no hotel makes it easier or more convenient to get things done on your terms than the Courtyard by Marriott. With flexible meeting spaces, fresh and innovating catering, and state-of-the-art audio-visual services, you can count on having all of the choices and options to make the most of your event. You can also count on our dedicated staff of hospitality professionals to take care of the details from start to finish ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Waterbury Downtown Hotel Waterbury
Courtyard Waterbury Downtown
Waterbury Marriott
Waterbury Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.