We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New England Fall foliage trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   63 Grand Street, Waterbury, CT 06702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Waterbury
Dudley, ga
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“New England Fall foliage trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was with a group of 43 who were traveling to the New England area for a Fall foliage trip. The Hotel was in the Downtown area and being such is not within walking distance of a lot of eateries; however, it is just a short driving distance to food places. Their restaurant served a fantastic buffet breakfast complete with omelet chef. The room was very nice and comfortable. The staff that we were in contact was very courteous. Overall nice place to visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear tomenglishDudley_ga,
thank you for sharing your experience in Waterbury dueing your foliage tour. We are pleased that overall you find us a nice place to visit. Do come back agian and check our our restaurant for dinner!

Best Regards,
Tiffany Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    69
    49
    16
    10
See reviews for
49
34
13
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

I am staying in this hotel for business and was in house during Hurricane Sandy. The staff here could not have been more helpful or welcoming! Courtyard is the "business" product for Marriot and it works for that purpose but the staff really delivered during this emergency. On the practical side, the hotel is very convenient to downtown Waterbury. The hotel is comfortable, clean and safe. The staff is great!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear EvangelineJE ,
We appreciate the feedback on your stay. We are glad you had a wonderful experience with us and were well taken care of by our staff. We hope to have you visit with us again.

Best Regards,
Tiffany Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I was extremely impressed with this hotel... for the most part. The value of the rooms was fantastic, the hotel itself was beautiful. The only thing that kind of ruined it for me, on my last night, a Saturday night, the auditor was very rude. We asked him if we could have some extra pillows and blankets for our room. He seemed to be telling us anything he could to avoid having to do this. After asking him at least three times, we just gave up and went to our room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear John F,
Thank you for commenting on our awesome hotel! We hope you get to visit us again in the near future. I am saddened to hear your feedback on our team member. Our motto is our guests are #1. Please accept my sincerest apologies and know that we will continue to work with our team to provide customer service excellence.

Best Regards,
Tiffany Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a very short stay at this hotel. Our room was very nice and I wish I could have enjoyed it a little longer. Nice set up and furnishings, very comfortable bed. How to access the wi-fi was not well spelled out and thus a little confusing. The bathroom toiletries are very small and don't really provide enough shampoo for two people. But the bathroom is large and comfortable, double closets, nice towels. I was able to grab a coffee to go in the morning from the lobby.

We also had dinner in the restaurant. I have to admit it was not our first choice but we were in very casual clothes and it was late so we felt limited. The service from Anthony was very good. He tried very hard. The downside is it was banquet food like you have at a conference. We were rather hungry and there were bread plates on the table but nothing was produced to put on them. The wine is rather pricy at $8.50 a glass for an average white. It took quite a meal for the main courses. The food was fine just very average. The desserts were the best part and the best deal!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Handpickd,
Thank you for your reveiw on your recent stay. We are pleased to find your stay was very comfortable. We also appreciate the feedback on your dining experience. We will be sure to share this with our team ad continue to make improvements based on your suggestions.

Best Regards,
Tiffany Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The staff at this hotel were awesome!The room was very clean and had a very comfortable bed too. The decor was lovely.The food in the restaurant was also very good as was the serviceThey had coffee and tea in the lobby,also cookies and popcorn in the afternoon which was a nice little treat. would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear irishrosie1147,
Thank you for an excellent review on your stay with us in the Waterbury. I will share your feedback with our team. It is our pleasure to know we succeeded in making your stay memorable. We hope to see you back soon.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Just stayed over the weekend & only after reg place was full & hubby was tired so we went here,the place looks nice & rooms are nice the sheets are awful not good at all & we had probs w our toilet & taking a shower was bit painful & there TV I was just trying to get it on a channel & couldn't find my way out of some sales stuff & accidentally ordered some $20.00 music something we didn't want & not sure if they took that off the bill the gal said she'd have to speak w a supervisor & we had go so don't know yet but Press "Number 3" will take you to Reg TV stations wish was just told & save us some aggravation & the pools not heated & was kinda cloudy the hot tub has bad jet that shot out water every few mins all over not pleasant but was fair & they only give free coffee not food like our reg place & other place we can smoke, having to go outside was a pain esp when I'm disabled & think I'd pass on this place & we will stay at our reg place rather than here oh & we needed clean towels & they took ours & were told we had wait till after 7pm the Next day wth really so we had share the one towel we had our reg place we'd get clean ones right away & w all the ppl they have working there one would think someone could find us a towel but Nope we missed our reg place more & more so I'd Not wanna stay again I'm sorry & froze getting out of shower NO heaters in them & someone took heat lamp out & put a reg bulb in.

Room Tip: we had an end hall room the view was awful 223 or 233 on 2nd floor,it was a roof view I'd have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear LilBear_12,
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to review your stay at the hotel. I am saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Marriott International is proud to be the leader when it comes to implementing one of the most comprehensive smoke-free hotel policies in the industry.

Since the launch of our smoke-free initiative in September 2006, more than 2,400 properties in the United States and Canada implemented the policy, reinforcing our commitment to making our hotels more environmentally friendly, while accommodating the preferences of our guests. We do understand your concern as a smoker.

We hope in the future you are able to return to us so we can correct the mishaps you experienced during your stay. If you are ever in the area again please give me a call and I will personally see to it that you are able to experience the wonderful amenities and aspects of our hotel that many of our guests have grown to love.

Best Regards,
Tiffany Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

I am a marriott member , this is a great hotel, good service, love it here. Only complaint was my room service the potatoes were bad and i got sick. Other than that im a frequent guest here. This hotel is located in the downtown area, the rooms are very clean . I highly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard-Waterbury, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Jcarter82082,

Thank you for sharing that this is a great hotel with great service and that you love visiting us. Please visit us again and definetly stop by the restaurant to give us another try. We hope to see you in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown

Address: 63 Grand Street, Waterbury, CT 06702
Location: United States > Connecticut > Waterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Waterbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come check out the Newly Renovated Cuortyrd in Waterbury. The new state-of-the-art lobby at the Courtyard by Marriott in Waterbury Downtown provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. This Waterbury hotel features our new lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard™. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.™Which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. This Courtyard by Marriott is also conveniently located in walking distance from the Palace Theater. We offer a well equipped fitness center, indoor pool and whirlpool. A 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing service is also available. Metro North train access is nearby. Your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott in Waterbury Downtown is sure to be more comfortable, more productive and more enjoyable than ever before! Our unique Courtyard by Marriott features over 10,000 square feet of newly renovated function space, allowing us to create the perfect atmosphere to compliment your event. Whether you're organizing a business meeting or planning a special occasion for friends and family, no hotel makes it easier or more convenient to get things done on your terms than the Courtyard by Marriott. With flexible meeting spaces, fresh and innovating catering, and state-of-the-art audio-visual services, you can count on having all of the choices and options to make the most of your event. You can also count on our dedicated staff of hospitality professionals to take care of the details from start to finish ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Waterbury Downtown Hotel Waterbury
Courtyard Waterbury Downtown
Waterbury Marriott
Waterbury Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Waterbury Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.