We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They were open during snowmageddon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spartan Pizza & Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Spartan Pizza & Restaurant
970 Chase Pkwy, Waterbury, CT 06708
(203) 573-1431
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 288 Restaurants in Waterbury
Cuisines: Pizza, Soups
Restaurant details
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“They were open during snowmageddon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

There was a foot of snow and ice dropping and they were actually open - the rest of the state seemed to be closed. We had pizza and chicken ceased salad. Both were very good. The house red wine was good. The bar area was cute. The food was quick and the price was reasonable. I would go here again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Dependable food at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We have visited Spartan's on several occasions, so I do feel that I am in a position to say that it delivers consistently great food at very modest prices.

To call it a glorified pizza joint would be a disservice. There is pizza along with the predictable menu (fried calamari, fried mozzarella, etc.) and usually about a half dozen very ambitious (and well priced) specials.

Service is friendly and quick (despite the full house).

Spartans has been our go-to place for an informal dinner before going to the theater in nearby Oakville. You can find more upscale food in a fancier atmosphere with commensurate prices, but why? In tough times, a place that offers quality food in abundant portions at reasonable prices is very much appreciated.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“great food for a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The service was excellent, the food was great, and it was priced just right. It was also located close to our hotel and was most convenient

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Don't let the outside of this establishment deter you from going in. Staff very friendly, place, very clean and the best spinach pie (spanikopata) I have ever eaten, anywhere! Dining area separate from the bar area. We were there relatively early but the place filled up in a hurry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“best meatball sub I've ever eaten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inn in Waterbury and had Subs and a Salad delivered. They were delicious and so big we had lunch the next day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spartan Pizza & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Spartan Pizza & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spartan Pizza & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.