We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb hidden treasure!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lisboa Restaurant

Lisboa Restaurant
19 Lafayette Street, Waterbury, CT
(203) 754-0789
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 289 Restaurants in Waterbury
Cuisines: Portuguese
Restaurant details
Connecticut
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“superb hidden treasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

What a terrific meal we had last night, in this hidden treasure in an industrial area of Waterbury, Connecticut, not far from Route 8. Put the address in your GPS and DON'T be put off by the location, or the look of this place from the outside. Once inside, you'll be treated by extremely competent and friendly service and terrific food (all four of us last night ordered seafood). You're in for a treat!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Dissappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Went on a recommendation of a friend and it was a real disappointment. Service wasn't good, had to ask for everything and we felt ignored. There was really nothing on the menu for me to order, so I had a dinner salad and went home for dinner after leaving there. My husbands dinner was a stew-y sort of thing that wasn't flavorful, but was expensive. We waited 20 minutes at a completely empty table, for a cheque. Finally, we went to the bar and asked for our bill, paid and got out of there. We will not be going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect, Connecticut
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Didn't Meet Our Expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My wife, daughters and I were looking forward to a new dining experience based on rave reviews from two sets of friends. I’m sorry to say we were somewhat disappointed.

The atmosphere is quaint and cozy and the service was good, but other than the appetizer the food was mediocre.

We all started with the grilled quail – it was superb. The quail was nicely grilled, moist with a wonderful sauce offering a hint of heat.

The entrées just didn’t meet our expectations. The girls had different versions of steak, ordered medium rare, served in clay pots. They were served medium well. I ordered the paella. The rice was very “moist” and under cooked, but the fish was overcooked,

Perhaps we were there on an off night but with the variety of restaurants in the area we won’t be going back soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brings back memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Excellent food and service, truly like home... Don't go expecting a quick meal but expect quality and that can't be rushed ... Enjoy

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
1 review
“A Great Place to Enjoy Friends and Wonderful Meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were looking for a place to meet between Goshen and Meriden and found this hidden gem! Quaint atmosphere. The building is unremarkable but they made up for that with great service, smiling staff and delicious meals! Meals cook to order and was able to accommodate my Gluten-Free diet. None of us had a history of Portugese Food and we enjoyed all our meals. Service was excellent! If you are looking for a quick meal this is not the place. Each meal is prepared at time of order so the courses come out slowly but we were good with the pace because we were actually able to enjoy each other's company with great conversation.- Just what we were looking for - We will return!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lisboa Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lisboa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lisboa Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.