We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History of the Clock” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Timexpo Museum

Timexpo Museum
175 Union St., Waterbury, CT 06706
203-755-TIME
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 7 Attractions in Waterbury
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Traces the history of clocks and watches from the 1850s to the latest technology. Presented by the Timex company.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“History of the Clock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This museum is nicely laided out with several interactive displays and has a great history of the Waterbury Clock Company and Timex, awesome museum

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
123 attraction reviews
Reviews in 177 cities Reviews in 177 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“OK, somewhat eclectic museum focused on clocks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We enjoyed our visit. There were a few activities for younger children. We enjoyed the history of clock and watch making in Waterbury. There's a giant statue of an Easter Island megalith outside the museum. It gets connected to the museum on a second floor exhibit on exploration. The connection is a bit loose but was an interesting detour. The watch shop on the first floor of the museum has some good bargains. We're glad we stopped by for a visit.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Did not peak my interest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and his brother enjoy history, and the museum was definitely enjoyed by both of them. As for me and the others, it was ok. It was nicely laid out and had several interactive displays.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Love this museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This museum is right off of the highway and has a great exhibit on the history of Waterbury Clock Company and Timex. The Executive Director is especially pleasant and always very helpful. Love this museum!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“We like it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The store is great. Some great deals. The museum it self is great for rainy afternoon. VERY interesting. You will not be disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Timexpo Museum also viewed

 

Been to Timexpo Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timexpo Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.