We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Premier league” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mayflower Grace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Mayflower Grace to your Saves list
The Mayflower Grace
118 Woodbury Rd, Washington, CT 06793 (Formerly Mayflower Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Premier league”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2007

As a frequent visitor to New York decided to take a break from the city for some peace and tranquility in the New England countryside. I had heard about the Mayflower from friends that had recommended so decided to see it for myself. On arrival was met in the carpark by a competent porter who showed me to reception. Was then shown to my room by Wade who was exceptionally helpful and my luggage arrived immediately after.
Food in the restaurant was very good with a well balanced wine list to match. Breakfast was great, highly recommend the waffles.
My only regret is that we stayed only 1 night. This hotel is one of the best country house hotels that I have stayed in along with Chewton Glen in the UK.
Will definately return.

  • Liked — Beds
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room overlooking Shakespeare Garden
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    25
    27
    6
    6
See reviews for
14
101
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2006

My huband and I are frequent travelers and usually stay at upscale (luxury) hotels and resorts. We stayed at the Mayflower Inn for two nights in the middle of the week in September. We decided to stay at the Inn because we wanted to visit a quiet, romantic Inn on the East Coast. We loved every minute of our stay. The Mayflower Inn was absolutely beautiful and it far exceeded our expectations. The staff were very well trained and extremely attentive. Even though the Mayflower Inn is small, the service was as good (if not better) than any larger luxury hotel we have been to in recent years. All of the staff members we met seemed genuinely happy to be there, and they were always happy to help with anything we needed. The food at the Inn was very fresh and generally fantastic. We were pleasantly surprised about the wide variety of food given the size of the hotel. In fact, the chef was happy to make us anything we wanted even if it was not on the menu. The decor of our room (room 33) was clean and beautiful with one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The bathroom was beautiful as well, with marble floors and dark wood panels. The grounds of the Inn are well-kept and beautiful (especially the Shakespeare Garden). There is a nature preserve next to the Inn for people who enjoy hiking or walking. The Mayflower Inn is a wonderful place to go for a few days if you need some peace and quiet. There is not much to do, so for people who are looking for a hotel with lots of activities, this is not the place for you. Note: we stayed at the Mayflower Inn during the middle of the week -- it may be slightly more hectic during the weekends.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2006

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of an elegant weekend at the Mayflower Inn. We stayed in the Allerton Building- a newly constructed guest house located near the new spa. The room was outstanding with wonderful period furniture, including a very comfortable four poster bed. Facilities and related services were excellent. The property is run like a top tier resort, with the warmth and comfort of the small country in to which it traces its' roots. We had the luck of being on property during the first weekend that the new spa facility was open to weekend guests (for a fee that is not refunded despite multiple bookings- we found this to be inappropriate and uncharacteristically crass). The facility is beautiful- as well executed as you can read in published reviews. While the staff was clearly still getting their bearings, they managed to provide welcome and customized service and will surely work though the kinks to become a world class facility. Overall, we found this to be the finest of many properties we have visited within 1.5 hours of NYC and would highly recommend the property to anyone seeking a relaxing, away from it all weekend escape.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2006

The Mayflower is a great spot. Everything is done in a tasteful and deluxe way. The rooms are spotless and the food is terrific. Facilities are more than adequate for a relaxing few days. Did not have a chance to try the spa, which looked awesome. Highly recommended for couples looking for tranquility.

  • Liked — Deluxe in every way
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2006

Just returned from a winter weekend stay at the Mayflower Inn. The inn and grounds are beautiful! The rooms have the best of everything. We stayed in room #17 which has a beautiful sitting room w/fireplace. The common rooms have fantastic fireplaces. The staff are warm, welcoming, and accomodate every need. You will love every moment! Can't wait to return in warm weather to enjoy the gardens and the new spa.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2005

We were staying at another CT inn and decided to extend our weekend getaway by a day. After seeing the premises, and because the valet was so helpful and pleasant, we decied we'd stay here instead of the place we were at.

The Mayflower is gorgeous. It exudes class - and it has to because it's not cheap.

Beyond courteous when we made the reservation. They upgraded us to an amazing room (#24) which had a balcony view of the Shakespeare garden, fireplace, king canopy bed and a bathroom any royal could love. The shower was the size of a Manhattan apartment.

The inn is well-decorated, with a library and parlor where you can curl up next to the fireplace and read. Dark wood paneling. Beautifully done. Outside is a garden with a Shakespeare theme, a hedge maze for dwarves, a pool, and heated outdoor porch. They're building a huge spa on the hilltop, which opens in October 2005 if I recall correctly.

There are cottages on the premises if you don't want to stay in the main building, and if you can afford the price tag.

In the main building, the bar had lots of character. Very English after-the-fox-hunt feel. I'd have liked to stay there a while.

We ate dinner in the dining room. Great wine list and excellent food.

This place is a perfect romantic getaway. It's very close to New York City - about an hour and a half. We plan on returning in the fall so we can take advantage of the spa (if it's open) and the fireplace weather.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford CT
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2005

My wife and I discovered this gem several years ago and have made it a point to get away to stay here at least once a year. I can't say enough about the inn. From the moment you arrive, you forget you are less than 2 hours from New York City, as you feel you are hidden away in Vermont. The staff is superb, as they cater to your every wish. The rooms are completely delightful, with deep down beds, fine furnishings, luxurious baths and utter quiet. Many rooms are in the main building, handy for stays during the winter, and there are two other buildings, with rooms, on the grounds a short walk from the main one. An outdoor pool is available in the summer, and a fitness center is always open with exercise equipment, sauna, steam room and fitness classes. The spa with its massages is also a great way to relax. The restaurant there is also highly recommended, especially with dinner on the outdoor deck in warm weather. The inn is building a large new section on the upper grounds consisting of an expanded spa and new rooms, which should be open later this year. The inn's location is perfect for antiquing in the area, or simply enjoying the sightseeing in northwestern Connecticut. I would highly recommend the Mayflower as a retreat from the otherwise busy and ordinary world. We have stayed in many other hotels and inns that claim to be "the best." That description, however, truly belongs to the Mayflower. You will certainly remember it and want to come back often.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mayflower Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower Grace

Address: 118 Woodbury Rd, Washington, CT 06793 (Formerly Mayflower Inn)
Location: United States > Connecticut > Washington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mayflower Grace, located less than 2 hours from New York City, evokes the elegance of an English countryside hotel. Set on 28 acres of rolling hills, streams and gardens, each of the 30 guest rooms are individually decorated to offer a unique experience. The restaurant offers a memorable fine dining experience from either the tap or dining room menus, and the inn's expansive wine list features many fine selections from the Mayflower wine cellar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith and Odigeo so you can book your The Mayflower Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Washington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mayflower Grace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.