We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holly Grove-Brilliant Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holly Grove Bed & Breakfast

Holly Grove Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Holly Grove Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Holly Grove Bed & Breakfast
Gap Of Dunloe, Beaufort, Killarney, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Beaufort B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Holly Grove-Brilliant Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here, Peggy was amazing really nice and very helpful! The breakfast was great and the room was big and really nice and secluded and quiet! We even got a lift to the local bar and she washed my boyfriends shirt in time for the wedding. Great value and I would definitely stay here again. I enjoyed my stay ere and will recommend it to my friends and family.

Room Tip: Our room down the steps was lovely and private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We really enjoyed our stayat Holly Grove. Peggy was a wonderful host and she was willing to do some laundry for us which was very helpful near the end of a three week tour. The Breakfast was very good. The rooms were comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Peggy Coffey our hostess was so kind to us. She offered to do our laundry which was so welcome on the last week of a three week trip. I had injured myself on the first day of our trip so her ground floor rooms were very welcome. My husband loved having WiFi available. The location was great for a wonderful drive through the Ring of Kerry, spectacular views. Our rooms were large, clean and very well appointed. And, of course, Peggy served a large Irish breakfast which was enough to last us through the middle of the afternoon.

Room Tip: Ask for an en suite room, one room has the bath across the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The location was nice, however the room itself left alot to be desired. The family room we stayed in, had a strong smell of mold. Perhaps because it is a family room it doesn't get used all that often, aired out etc. The sheets had old stains on them aswell. On top of that, we booked the room on their website with our credit card (which says they except credit cards) the day before we left...the women asked to be paid in cash. She did give us enough time so we could find an ATM if we needed, but this was totally unexpected. I understand that many B&B's in Ireland do cash only (which is understandable) but it would be nice to know ahead of time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Pretty little cottage. Very homely. Very clean and beds comfy. Quietly and peaceful. Wonderful breakfast. It is a little way out of town and a little hard to find

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We spent 3 nights here in mid-May and found this to be an excellent location for hiking and climbing in this beautiful area. The draw was Carrantuohil, the Irish high point. We climbed from the west side, parking for which is about 20 minutes from this B&B at Hydro Road. The lodging was very clean and all furnishings in excellent condition. Peggy was helpful with information about walking the Gap of Dunloe and nearby eating possibilities. She produced a hearty "fry" each morning of the traditional Irish breakfast. A bonus were the delicious home-made scones she serves! It was cool during our stay so the electric blankets got the beds warm before bedtime. The beds were firm and comfortable, with extra blankets in the wardrobe. Water pressure was great with plenty of hot water and towels of various sizes. Peggy also provided a sack lunch for our hikes which was handy as the Lidl store is near Killarney, maybe 10 Km away. Back in the room and exhausted it was nice to have a reasonably sized flat-panel TV with several channels available. The wifi was handy for checking the weather forecast and sending photos home. The grounds are perfectly manicured and a pleasure to view from the breakfast room. A very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We were in room #1 which had a single and a double bed, windows with a far view over the valley to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

This is a beautiful part of Ireland, and the house carries the glory! Absolutely beautiful garden, freshly baked scones and tea on arrival.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holly Grove Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Grove Bed & Breakfast

Address: Gap Of Dunloe, Beaufort, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Beaufort
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Beaufort
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Holly Grove Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holly Grove Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.