We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular venue for a wedding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dunloe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Dunloe to your Saves list
The Dunloe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beaufort, Beaufort, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly Hotel Dunloe Castle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaufort
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spectacular venue for a wedding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

We had out wedding in the Dunloe Castle in July 2010. There aren't enough words to describe how amazing the staff were. A lot of our guests travelled from England and they are still commenting on how beautiful the hotel was.

All our guests commented on how good the food was and how attentive the staff were. We had a lot of children at our wedding and they loved the playground and the pool. Also parents were delighted with the babysitting service.

The rooms were gorgeous and the views spectacular. I can't say enough thank you's to Jason Clifford and all the staff at the Dunloe Castle.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    56
    17
    17
    6
See reviews for
143
147
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

My wife and i and our three children stayed at the Dunloe Castle Hotel near Killarney, Co. Kerry last August. Throughout our time there we experienced a tremendously consistent five star service from the friendly and courteous staff. We were all made to feel so welcome at all times, it was nice. Our bedroom was luxurious and comfortable and we enjoyed a great view from our balcony straight up the Gap of Dunloe. The food was excellent and we loved to go to the warm and inviting bar in the evening for a pre-dinner drink. Afterwards we would take a walk through the hotel garden which just has to be experienced, it's completely enchanting ! Our kids had an absolute ball, between the swimming pool, the playground, the horse riding, and the movie nights etc..etc.... They made friends with some of the other children there too and were very sad when it was time for us to leave. I can't recommend this wonderful hotel highly enough. We look forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

The service in Dunloe Castle was amazing. The staff went above and beyond to cater for your every need. The reception staff walked you to your room on arrival which I thought was a great personal touch.
The room was a great size and the view from the balcony was fantastic. There were big windows in the room which meant it was nice and bright. The super king was very comfy although it was two singles pushed together. We mentioned this on our comment card and the hotel manager sent a letter a week later after our stay to thank us for our comments and for taking the time to fill the card out. I thought this was very personal and was very much appreciated.
The location of the hotel is perfect. You look out onto the Gap Of Dunloe and the rolling countryside. Its about 5mins outside the town which is great because you don't have the hassle of traffic. It is very close to all amenities and offers a bus in and out of Killarney.
I love the grounds of the hotel and the horses on site were beautiful. The staff are the core of the hotel and the food, although a bit expensive is very nice.
If you are a non drinker like myself non-alcoholic beverages can be expensive.
Fabulous hotel and we will definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

We recently stayed in Dunloe Castle for a 2 night break the august bankholiday weekend and I must say I couldnt fault a thing. Its still a very traditional hotel however I feel that thats the charm of it. Many of the hotel staff have been there for 20 years plus with the porters working there for nearly fifty years!! Every staff member I met were fantastic and extremely helpful without being too pushy. We travelled with 2 small children and they accomadated our every wish included pureed veg delivered to our room free of charge. They even organised ice cream (better than hagen daz!!) to be delivered to our room free of charge as my daughter made a wish for ice cream at the fountain and she was overheard by the porter!!!! While yes I have been in fancier 5 stars and even a seven star I must admit this is our favorite hotel. The views are out of this world and the facilities are second to know. The complimentary horse riding when down very well with my 3 year old who availed of it twice a day. In addition they have a fantastic park full of swings, slides and a whole array of other out door activities for little ones. The grounds are fantastic for taking a stroll and even have a lovely little old castle!! The only fault I would say is that it is a split level hotel whihc means a lift may not always be available. For us we had to go up 3 flights of stairs to get to our room which is easy with a big buggy!!! Also while we loved the location of this hotel it might not suit everyone as it is about 13 mins by car to killarney centre.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

My wife and I had a lovely night stay here. Really enjoyed the 25M pool. Evening meal was fabulous. The grounds are great with gorgeous Palomino Horses and you really feel you are away from the drudgery of everyday. We got upgraded to superior room as we were celebrating a birthday and this had spectacular views of the Gap of Dunloe. Minor quibbles are lack of WIFI or internet in rooms and no Tea/Coffee making facilities.
Different feel to its also excellent sister hotel The Europe which we have also stayed in previously.
We will be back

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Myself and my husband along with our 10 month old baby and my two sisters took a day trip to Killarney yesterday Sunday 18th July 2010. As it was a bad summers day we decided to visit a nice 5* hotel and have something nice to eat. On arriving we were greeted by the lovely water feature but that was about it, no friendly face on reception, not much staff around either, it seemed a bit eery to be honest, there was just one other couple there with their baby. We went into the bar, empty, finally a lovely girl greeted us and we asked about getting something to eat, she brought us to a table by the window in the dining room and brought us some menus. Now for a 5* hotel the decor was something like "The shining" flower power every where and very dated. The ladies restroom could do with a total revamp.
Anyway whilst browsing through our grotty out of date menus the prices were 5* alright, in hindsight we should have upped and left but we decided to eat in the hotel. BAD IDEA, mushroom soup was lukewarm, open sandwich on their own baked brown bread with chicken and mayonaise was not nice, it was horrible dry bread with plain chicken and blobs of mayo on with a not so fresh salad, a fly flew out from the curtains on to my husbands food and he couldn't finish it. Both my sisters opted for the not so homemade burgers, the burger didn't match up to expectations either of a "homemade" burger, it was more like processed salted watery piece of cheap meat.
I have never been so disappointed with a 5* hotel, it just brings me to say I would not consider Dunloe a 5* Hotel we have stayed in far more superior 4* hotels. We will not be returning to Dunloe again when in Kerry and would not recommend it as a 5* hotel to visit.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

I read all the reviews and while I agree with some of the lesser comments (no tea facilities in room was a let down) most of the other points they made we didn't experience. There were fifteen of us, from 76 down to 2, and we all had a lovely time. Was it expensive? Yes, but the views and the amenities and the memories we made were worth it. The staff were lovely, the food was fine, and we NEVER felt rushed (and being American maybe our expectations are different) but the staff was very attentive.
The only down side was that our room was quite far from the lobby, and a 76 it was a hike for my mom - but hey, that's why you have teenage grandchildren to run back to the room for you!

The horse backriding was fun for the kids, the fishing was fantastic for the teenagers, the playground was tons of fun for everyone, and the location is unbeatable. Highly recommend for a family reunion, a wedding, or any special event. It was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dunloe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunloe

Address: Beaufort, Beaufort, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly Hotel Dunloe Castle)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dunloe 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunloe is a beautiful 5* hotel, overlooking the famous Gap of Dunloe, set on its own 64 acre estate leading to the ruins of the 12th century castle and River Laune. The dog-friendly The Dunloe is one of the finest luxury hotels Ireland has, boasting magnificent 5 star hotel accommodation in Kerry, only 5 miles from Killarney town. Enjoy a range of complimentary onsite leisure activities including swimming, sauna, steam room, fitness room, fishing, horse riding, and indoor tennis. A kids club and movie night programme runs for children throughout the summer months. Golf, tours, walks can also be arranged locally ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Dunloe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunloe Castle Hotel
Hotel Dunloe Castle
Dunloe Castle Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dunloe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.