We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise does exist and its hidden in Killarney” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dunloe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Dunloe to your Saves list
The Dunloe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beaufort, Beaufort, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly Hotel Dunloe Castle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaufort
London
1 review
“Paradise does exist and its hidden in Killarney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

Some hotels in Dubai characterise themselves as the world's only "7-star" properties. Well if thats the case then the 5 star Hotel Dunloe Castle needs re classifying. From the moment you drive along the tree-lined avenue against the magnificent backdrop of the famous Gap of Dunloe, into 70 acres of roaming beautiful grounds, you will know you have arrived in paradise.
We stayed there with 200 guests for our wedding who came from the UK, Ireland and America and each and every one of them have commented that the hotel combined with its warm and friendly staff made it the best wedding they have been to.
We cant speak highly enough of the whole experience, our wedding was so so fantastic and the venue and staff were a major contributer to that.
Much love John and Caroline

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    55
    17
    16
    6
See reviews for
136
144
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kenmare
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

Have you ever been to the "Gap of Dunloe". Well, I have seen it so many times that I almost forgot how beautiful it is. Last week I was given a tour at "Dunloe Castel" and entering one of the hotel rooms it just hit me. This view is stunning! Panoramic windows seem to place you into the middle of this fantastic landscape.
Everything is 5***** at this hotel but the new pool is even 7*****! I must stay here next time!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

My husband and I had a great time at this hotel and I would definitely go back. Our room was very spacious and had all the comforts expected of a 5 star hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel had a really nice reception area with further seated areas where you could relax with a great pint of Guinness on big comfy chairs in front of a fire. The heated indoor swimming pool was really nice and the views were great through the large glass windows. The hotel grounds are really nice and there are great views of the Gap of Dunloe. You can also have a complimentary horse trek around the grounds of the hotel. It was a very relaxing stay and even though it was in the middle of summer the hotel never felt crowded.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

From the time we drove up the tree lined avenue leading to the reception we knew we had arrived somewhere special. The staff at reception were very friendly and we had a room with a view of the famous Gap of Dunloe. We quickly settled into the peaceful surroundings with a tour of the beautiful gardens with their award winning collection of rare flowers and walked around the woodland trail and past the ruins of the castle from which the hotel borrows its name.

The hotel is as stunning in the inside as it is outside, with all the comforts we hoped for. After an hour spent in the pool and gym we enjoyed a delicous meal in the restaraunt followed by a quiet drink in the bar.

On our second day we visited the beautiful Lakes of Killarney and then the Gap of Dunloe which is at your door!

I think its a great base if you want to explore Kerry. We found the hotel very relaxing and welcoming and would recommend it to anyone. We are definintely going to go back again for a longer stay and maybe do some fishing on the River Laune which
flows through the grounds of the hotel.

  • Liked — the friendly staff and the beautiful grounds
  • Disliked — Not having enought time to explore more of County Kerry
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

What a fabulous stay we had at Dunloe Castle. I knew this was a wonderful hotel from the website and all the comments here on trip advisor, but I am pleased to say that the entire experience is so much better in person! This place is a hidden Gem! Their is horseriding around the grounds on their own horses and two huge indoor Tennis Courts with a Pitch & Putt area for the men. For the rainy days they have a 25meter indoor pool.

Service was amazing, the food in the Restaurants of the highest quality, even the tea we had each afternoon in the Garden Cafe was delightful. The atmosphere inside the Hotel and the surrounding grounds are simply magnificent. If i was getting married again i would certainly get married here, its so romantic, anybody getting engaged go here! She will definatly say Yes.

We had the suite overlooking the famous Gap Of Dunloe, this room was huge with a big lounge area,Kitchen, our bathroom had a steam room and Jacuzzi which i really enjoyed after our walk each day.

I hope we have the opportunity to go to Dunloe again and have the pleasure of spending a few days at this unbelievable hotel again.

  • Liked — It was extremely Clean
  • Disliked — Leaving It
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

We had our wedding reception at the Dunloe Castle in late September, 2008. We could not have asked for more from the hotel in terms of assistance, service and quality.

The reception area for the pre dinner drinks is ideal, you have a large area with very comfortable seating and a piano player inside and a large balcony outside with exceptional views of the Gap of Dunloe.

The banquet room is ideal because it is set back from the rest of the hotel so there is little temptation for your guests to wander. There is a large balcony, off the banquet room, over looking the beautiful garden for those who want some fresh air or a smoke.

We had 170 guests and the room catered very well for this number. We would imagine it would cater for other numbers in that region equally well.

We had access to the room in the days prior to the reception to view the set up, which was excellent. The room looks fabulous when fully laid out. There is space to move between tables and no feeling of being confined. There is great space for the band and a good size dance floor.

The meal was exceptional, we chose lamb and sole with tiger prawns as our main course. All of our guests commented on how wonderful the food was. The service during the meal is 5 star. We had our speeches between courses, which, we felt worked well and the staff really facilitated us in this.

The honeymoon suite is spectacular. Huge suite with a luxurious lounge and oppulent bedroom. The coups de gras is the huge bathroom with steamroom, jacuzzi and beautiful fittings all through. We stayed a second night to make the most of it.

All of our guests were extremely happy with their accommodation. Most had views of the Gap of Dunloe, all had sumptuous comfort. The hotel upgraded many from regular rooms to suites.

The breakfast room on the following morning has exquisite views of the Gap of Dunloe and the gardens of the hotel.

All in all, we were thrilled with everything the hotel did. The location is stunning and the staff and service is exceptional. The food and accommodation are 5 star. We would highly recommend it for your big day

Ciara and Terence

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2008

I was staying in this hotel as I was attending a wedding there. we booked a superior suite as there was three of us. The superior suite of this "five star" hotel consisted of two single beds. We went back to the reception with all our luggage to ask why there was only two single beds when she had just checked in three people given us three keys, there was a mistake apparently. The receptionist made no apology and sent us off again to a different room this superior suite was the same set up two single beds but with a camp bed assembled this time. I certainly wasnt expecting to have to sleep in a camp bed while staying in the superior suite of a five star hotel especially when it had fully been explained when booking that there was to be three adults staying. The views are amazing but I really think the accomodation was poor I cannot see how this is a five star hotel, I see a fellow reviewer refered to this hotel as resembling Butlins I would have to agree.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dunloe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunloe

Address: Beaufort, Beaufort, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly Hotel Dunloe Castle)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dunloe 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunloe is a beautiful 5* hotel, overlooking the famous Gap of Dunloe, set on its own 64 acre estate leading to the ruins of the 12th century castle and River Laune. The dog-friendly The Dunloe is one of the finest luxury hotels Ireland has, boasting magnificent 5 star hotel accommodation in Kerry, only 5 miles from Killarney town. Enjoy a range of complimentary onsite leisure activities including swimming, sauna, steam room, fitness room, fishing, horse riding, and indoor tennis. A kids club and movie night programme runs for children throughout the summer months. Golf, tours, walks can also be arranged locally ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Dunloe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunloe Castle Hotel
Hotel Dunloe Castle
Dunloe Castle Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dunloe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.