We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dunloe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Dunloe to your Saves list
The Dunloe
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beaufort, Beaufort, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly Hotel Dunloe Castle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaufort
Williamstown, WV
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Spent 6 glorious nights at the Dunloe! The grounds are beautiful, with it's own castle, and the view of the Gap of Dunloe and the surrounding country-side was breath-taking. Also, the service and food was outstanding. May never get back to Ireland but will always have great memories of our stay at the Dunloe!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Gap of Dunloe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    56
    17
    17
    6
See reviews for
143
147
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
irland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

let me start by saying that it is one of the finest locations for a wedding,and to Simon and your team your delivery of service is superb.I stayed in the hotel 15years ago and was impressed then but on my return to a friends wedding on the 11th of july i was blown away at the great attention to detail after the renovations.
Rooms were of a very high standard and housekeeping faultless.Food at the reception and throughout our 3 night stay was as good as it gets.
helping us with our golf arrangements for thursday at Kilarney golf&fishing club was painless and i look forward to returning for a short stay again soon.
I can honestly say that the 5 stars are well deserved and to liam at front desk your ability in dealing with our requests is a credit to you and the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Attended a wedding in this hotel recently and steyed overnight.
It was a wonderful experience, the hotel is worthy of it's 5 stars.
The service and the food were excellent. The setting is stunning with amazing views of the surrounding countryside.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

It gives me and my husband great pleasure in writing a review about The Dunloe.

Its every girls dream to get married in the most magical setting and have the vision become a reality.. The Dunloe ensures that this does happen!

On our first arrival to The Dunloe we were warmly greeted by The Dunloe staff, upon meeting the Manager, Jason Clifford we just knew we were in safe hands. Jason is a very personable and professional person who is highly skilled with wedding planning. What sets Jason apart from every other venue is that he genuinely gets excited about a wedding at The Dunloe and wants nothing less than the best for your big day. Jason's deputy and his staff are an absolute credit to his leadership skills, we knew how great the staff are from our trips to The Dunloe but to hear our guests comment how well mannered and friendly the staff were on the day was brilliant.

The Dunloe itself is a magical spot nestled in a countryside location with the most magnificent views of the Gap of Dunloe. The grounds are wonderful, the blossoming garden and woodland leads to the ruins of the Dunloe castle with breathtaking views of the River Laune...a photographers dream working environment.

The morning of our wedding my husband and I received a text from The Dunloe wishing us the best for the day but telling us to enjoy our day and relax knowing they would look after everything. In all honesty I'm sure every wedding party has a couple of nerves...you need only dismiss them when holding your wedding at The Dunloe. The text was as it read, we enjoyed our day whilst our guests were wined and dined with gourmet food and what amazed us the most was that Jason, and his team spent the day greeting and mingling with our guests to make sure they were ok...all day and all night. I have been to a lot of weddings in the Kerry area and never witnessed such care and attention. Almost two weeks on and our guests are still talking about the wedding and thanking us for such a fantastic day-the setting, the service, and the food!!

Ladies and Gents if your looking for your dreams to come true and have everlasting memories of your wedding day go see The Dunloe, we promise you won't be disappointed.

To all at The Dunloe, Jason, Duncan, Oliver, Simon and all others in the team, we thank you from the bottom of our hearts. We won't be strangers!!

Mr&Mrs Evans - 5th July 2014 xx

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonmel, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The service was impeccable, food outstanding and the views are amazing.
Jason & staff were great. If we had our time again we would choose the Dunloe every time.
Amazing

Majella & Gerry
21st June 2014

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

A large group of us stayed recently whilst attending a family wedding.The hotel is truly 5 star +.
It is set in a beautiful setting with stunning views of the countryside. There is a multiplicity of outdoor activities within the hotels perimeter , ie horse riding, interesting nature trails, play areas for children and tranquil seating. The hotel itself is a combination of homely atmosphere with very spacious common areas and luxurious and equally spacious bedrooms.The food and presentation of same is what you'd expect from a bespoke high-end restaurant . It's remarkable that the quality is so high and consistent.Final comments are reserved for the staff who make this product offering so successful. Jason Cifford and his team stand out for special mention

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We returned from the Dunloe last Friday after a 5 night break. This was our 4th stay in the hotel and we hope to return in August. This hotel has everything for Kids especially the kids club. Special mention to Jason Clifford who runs a magnificent show.oOW

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dunloe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunloe

Address: Beaufort, Beaufort, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly Hotel Dunloe Castle)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney > Beaufort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaufort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dunloe 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunloe is a beautiful 5* hotel, overlooking the famous Gap of Dunloe, set on its own 64 acre estate leading to the ruins of the 12th century castle and River Laune. The dog-friendly The Dunloe is one of the finest luxury hotels Ireland has, boasting magnificent 5 star hotel accommodation in Kerry, only 5 miles from Killarney town. Enjoy a range of complimentary onsite leisure activities including swimming, sauna, steam room, fitness room, fishing, horse riding, and indoor tennis. A kids club and movie night programme runs for children throughout the summer months. Golf, tours, walks can also be arranged locally ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Dunloe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunloe Castle Hotel
Hotel Dunloe Castle
Dunloe Castle Killarney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dunloe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.