We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistant neighborhood restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Michael's Trattoria

Michael's Trattoria
344 Center St, Wallingford, CT 06492-4205
+1 203-269-5303
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 150 Restaurants in Wallingford
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cheshire, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Consistant neighborhood restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Have been here on many occasions and find the food consistanly good. Restaurant is in a few little rooms instead of one large room . This makes it much more intimate

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    22
    6
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“What's all the fuss about? and, its noisy!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Its really just average. The pasta dish my colleague had seemed alright but my salmon dish (that was suppose to be lighter fare) was swimming in butter. So much butter that it was not edible. The service was great and the wine list was comprehensive but the food was just "so so". Also, if its a quiet dinner you want, this is not the place for you. The bar gets a big play and its very noisy. Some of the bar noise does spill into the dining room, but the acoustics in the dinning room is very bad all by it self. Very difficult to have a quiet private conversation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Just OK”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Have been here a few times and each time I leave asking "why did I come back?" It's simply not that good. Food is fair at best. Service is good, people friendly. I guess I just keep wishing it would improve. They need higher quality products for use in the recipes. Time for me to give up. Once again I left disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Shocked at poor reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We were trying to find a place for dinner before a show at the Oakdale and happened upon this place. I was pretty impressed at the service and food we had for dinner. Honestly the only negative was the below average old fashioned drink I was poured. The service was actually fantastic, super attentive and friendly. We had the hot seafood sampler, salads, penne w/vodka, and chicken and artichokes. All the food was very very good, we enjoyed everything. I was certainly return for dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a lovely little spot for a wonderful Italian meal! We really enjoyed the chicken piccatta and eggplant parm. Service was excellent!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael's Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Michael's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael's Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.