We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last-minute reservation, great hotel stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 Miles Drive, Wallingford, CT 06492   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wallingford
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Last-minute reservation, great hotel stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I booked into the Homewood Suites in Wallingford on short notice after a freak storm knocked out the power in my hometown of Cromwell, just up the road. Having a full-size fridge, and kitchen space to be able to save (and use!) what was in my fridge at home was SO helpful! The front desk staff were wonderful; handled my short-notice reservation and arrival quickly and easily, and were friendly and helpful. I'd definitely recommend the hotel to others. The pool and hot tub were a nice added convenience! (Note: they turn off the heat in the hot tub early, before the posted closing time-- if you want a *hot* hot tub, get there more than an hour before the pool closes!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieJ827, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
We are happy that you found our hotel to be your safe harbor during the storm. Our large suites with kitchen and living space do provide the comforts of home while away. It's just good to be able to spread out. Not sure about the hot tub though - we never turn the heat off to it - so something must have been up during that time. It is running fine now though. We also use a saline solution in our pool and hot tub that is safer for the environment than chlorine based products. We have found the saline to also be safer for our pool chemical handlers and our guests. Hopefully this winter will be over soon - spring is just around the corner! Safe Travels! Debbie Johnson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    55
    18
    11
    7
See reviews for
98
46
13
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I came to homewood after staying at a marriott next door for. Days. Work returned me to the area for an additional 30 days afterwards. I chose homewood b/c it offered a kitchen.

Apprx. 1 wk into the stay, the area was hit with the CHARLOTTE blizzard!!! Though service is great, the handling of this event truly demonstrated the capability & preparedness of the staff. It was obvious managerial personnel stepped up to cover for employees unable to be present due the storm. Not only were they able to run a smooth operation but provided meals even on unscheduled wkendays in recognition of guests' inability to leave the premises.

As a frequent biz traveler, the Marriott properties are my first choice; however, after this experience, Hilton properties, especially Homewood, now also becomes a first line choice.

Thank you for making me feel at home.

PS: my stay goes until 02/26/2013.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieJ827, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. This storm has been most challenging and my awesome staff has risen to the occassion. I am especially proud of them for being able to keep the hotel running while feeding guests three meals a day during the brunt of the storm! Your kind words are a comfort to us during this historic storm adn the overwhelming amount of snow. Be Safe and let us know if we can assist with anything at all during your stay. Debbie Johnson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmerton usa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have been staying at this Hilton hotel for over four years. We always rebook as the services and hotel conditions are always great! The weekday night light dinners are very good. Nice to not have to go out after a long days travel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieJ827, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for the feedback. We have many people who come back time and again - we are their home away from home. It is great to hear that you feel that way about our hotel. We try to ensure that all geusts are comfortable while with us. We also try to take care of everything for you so you can enjoy your time in Wallingford. Thanks again and Safe Travels! Debbie Johnson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was the perfect hotel for a nice date night with a significant other. My husband and I wanted a small break for the night, but still be close enough to home and not spend to much money. This hotel definitely met our expectations and I would consider going again. The front staff was very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieJ827, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for the feedback - so glad you found us to be the perfect at home getaway! We love to share our hotel with the people of our hometown - I hope you were able to enjoy some of our amenities too - like the hot tub and breakfast. Thanks again for the feedback - Safe Travels! Debbie Johnson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The room smelled like dirty laundry and they got rid of the in room movie feature that we really liked. The breakfast food was cold, mainly the potatoes. If we were to stay there again, we wouldn't expect too much. We were going to bring our small dog, but they wanted to charge 100.00!!! Pretty steep price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieJ827, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We charge a pet fee because a room that has had a pet ii it requires a lengthier deep clean than a regular room. We are sorry that you were less than happy with our food and serivce. We take great pride in being clean and friendly. I would suggest that the next time you have a question regarding a pet fee or any other kind of concern, that you direct those questions to the General Manager or the Manager on Duty. We strive for excellence and need to know when we do not meet those expectations so that we can correct things as soon as possible so that all are happy. Safe Travels! - Debbie Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed three months at this hotel. Everyone from the front staff to house keeping staff made are stay wonderful , It is a Beautifully decorated hotel. You can tell alot of pride goes into running it. Met alot of nice people and ate at alot of Great food. Very clean , Made us both feel at home. Kudo's to your whole staff!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieJ827, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We enjoyed getting to know you and your husband while you were here. We do take great pride in being clean and friendly and your home away from home. Safe Travels! - Debbie Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Only stayed one night but hey upgraded me to a two bedroom suite, even though I was a single. Food that evening was meatloaf and mashed potatoes, comfort food that was very good. Bed was super comfortable and I had a very good nights sleep. Will consider staying there next time business takes me thru Wallingford, CT.

Room Tip: Try for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DebbieJ827, General Manager at Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We take great pride in our friendly staff and our cleanliness. So many of our Business Guests enjoy the advantage of being able to come back after a long day and grab some comfort food along with a glass of beer or wine and then head upstairs to finish their day. It adds value to their stay and helps them to focus on what they are here for - work. Thanks again for the feedback - Safe Travels! Debbie Johnson, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden

Address: 90 Miles Drive, Wallingford, CT 06492
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Wallingford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wallingford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly-renovated Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden offers a convenient location, between New Haven and Harford at Exit 15 off I-91, and spacious pet-friendly suites to make it one of the top hotels in Wallingford, CT. This great location nearby Route 68 and CT-15 allows for easy access to greater Wallingford and Meriden’s top destinations including Lake Compounce, Dinosaur State Park, world-class museums in New Haven, and the University of Yale campus. Business travelers will also appreciate the close proximity to the offices of 3M, Anthem Blue Cross-Blue Shield, McKessen, and Verizon Wireless. This newly renovated Wallingford hotel offers convenient amenities including an indoor pool, 24-hour fitness center, and a complimentary full hot breakfast buffet. The renovated, pet-friendly guest rooms are highlighted by modern amenities including fully-equipped kitchens, free WiFi, and flat-screen TVs with premium cable. Choose the Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden and enjoy the perfect combination of an ideal location and amenities that make this one of the best hotels in Wallingford, CT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden Hotel Wallingford
Homewood Wallingford
Wallingford Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.