We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to realx with a glass of wine on a nice day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Hills Vineyard

Paradise Hills Vineyard
15 Wind Swept Hill Rd, Wallingford, CT 06492
+1 203-284-0123
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Paradise! Tuscan style tasting room, with its hand crafted copper bar, decorative chandeliers, and mahogany tables provide a romantic setting, to relax and enjoy the countryside with a fine glass of wine. For groups of 8 or more guests a reservation in advance is required. No Reservations can be taken for Saturday and Sunday's. Please remember to bring your photo ID showing proof of age. We do not host weddings, birthday parties, baby showers during normal business hours. Special Events or meetings can be held Monday through Wednesday. Reservation must be made, please call for more information. Wine Tastings are $10.00 Per person
Milford, CT
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to realx with a glass of wine on a nice day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This has become a favorite winery of ours. Pack a nice picnic basket, and after tasting their wines purchase your favorite and sit outside, relax and enjoy. The staff is very friendly. We have gone there both in the winter and spring and have not had a bad experience yet. The owners are great to talk with and we enjoyed hearing all about their trip to Italain and picked up tips for when we make our trip to Italian.

This is a great place with a relaxation atmosphere -either when sitting outside in the Spring or in the Winter by the fire.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    11
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“better than Texas wines.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I know that title will get me in trouble, but I must be honest. Just went there for the first time this past Friday. The inside room is nice, and too small for the amount of people there, or that want to be there. This is not a criticism, but the stating the obvious. I am sure when the weather is better, being outside is delightful. They had very pleasant and knowledgeable employees working the wine counter. The prices were okay. Bring your own food, I like this, but they do have wine glasses you can use.
There was a singer, excellent. I have many friends that go there often, and keep going back. They all seem to enjoy this location and wine to the other place in the same town. I will return on my next trip back to CT from our extended visit to TX.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Going down hill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

When this first opened it was a great place to go. It doesn't have the views of Gouveia, but it was much smaller and intimate which was a nice change. The owner and his completely rudeness has ruined my last 2 experiences there. Will not be returning. The wine is good, however I don't feel it's as good as its competition and they run out of their wines very quickly.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great wine, pleasant atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I really enjoy going to Paradise Hills. It is great to go there with some friends and relax, the atmosphere is comfortable indoors and out. The wine is complex and well crafted. I enjoy any of their wines, especially to take a bottle and drink it outside with a picnic but my favorite wine is President's Choice. This complex red wine will keep you opening the bottle to drink more and likely get another once you're through.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Family Vineyard in our Backyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

A must visit when wine tasting in CT. Great atmosphere, beautiful decor, pleasant staff. Great to just relax with friends indoors or outdoors, off the beaten path. A great hidden gem in a quiet Ct neighborhood.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradise Hills Vineyard also viewed

 

Been to Paradise Hills Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Hills Vineyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.