We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Maldives

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Residence Maldives to your Saves list
The Residence Maldives
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Falhumaafushi 2088   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD OFFER 40% OFF
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falhumaafushi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The excellent vacation ever!!!! We had wonderful holidays, the hotel was very nice , our villa facing the sunset was very spacious , elegantly furbished. We loved the butler , very attentive to our needs. Great food and very nice and friendly service.

Room Tip: Sunset view villas are really nice!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at The Residence Maldives, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Cher CoCo_Parisien,

Thank you very much for the great feedback you have posted on Trip-Advisor!

We were all delighted to have you with us and your feedback has been shared with the whole team. Thank you as well for your comment about our Butler and the restaurant

The Residence Maldives and our Atoll are places that have a lot to offer and we are very proud that you truly enjoyed your stay!

All of us are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Residence Maldives in the near future.

With Warm Regards,

Thomas Barguil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    26
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
41
158
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I have dived almost everywhere in the world and believe me the dive spots here are simply the best!!!!
The sealife is in abudance and the corals are in fantastic condition. I was told that most of the dive sites here are still virgins.
On one of the dives i saw everything....The white tip sharks, mantra rays, eagle rays, huge yellow fin tuna, turtles, eels etc etc.
At one point i did not know which direction to look and where to follow.....
Man and this was not just it....on the way back on the boat we were being followed by a school of "SPINNER DOLPHINS". WOW! it just could not have got any better.

Apart from the diving, the dining experience is excellent in the resort. I had a great time hogging on all the goodies they make here in the restaurant.
The wait staff as mentioned on a lot of other reviews is just excellent!!! I will like to thank Kobid, Hafiz, Kartik, Loli, Shazly, Gagan.....all of them were just excellent. Thank you!
Falhumaa specially is a very very good restaurant. You can take that restaurant out of the Maldives and put it anywhere in europe or America and the restaurant will stand out.
Good value for money wines are available at a very fair price.

Rooms are very confortable and are maintained very well. I did try to make some mess in the room but everytime i came back it was spotless again.

Clarins Spa was very nice. I had only one massage but i was transported to Heaven, as the name rightly said...

Overall, I had an amazing holiday.....The highlight ofcourse was THe DIVE!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at The Residence Maldives, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Travelleroady,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your wonderful experience, it was a pleasure having you as guest of The Residence Maldives.

I am very pleased to read that you have had a wonderful stay with us, and experienced some great dives. I do thank you for your positive feedback on our resort and services.

I reiterate my sincerest thanks for your trust in The Residence Maldives and look forward to welcoming you again in a near future.

With warm regards,

Thomas Barguil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuzhou, China
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Ideally located from the Kodhoo airport with only 10 mnts comfortable speed boat journey. Even though the airport has much to be desired of...

Arrival experience was fantastic and prompt check-in with a delicious welcome drink.

Rooms are very luxurious and spacious, especially enjoyed the pool a lot. Always kept neat and tidy and every evening you treat yourself to small little cookies!

Dining facilities are excellent, especially the wait staff. Always prompt and willing to do whatever it takes to make you happy.

Had some great meals at the Falhumma restaurant, which is highly recommended. The food, the service, the legend....it has all ingredients to make a special evening.

Beach bar is a cool place to unwind and spin on a few delicious cocktails. By the way i loved the music selection playing at the bar.

Buggy transport has been an issue, as a lot of other reviews have stated. But honestly i never saw even one buggy standing idle, they were always on a move. I think the management needs to consider getting a few more to cope up with the number of requests.

Spa by Clarins was amazing, had a great experience and will recommend it highly.

Be aware that the beach on the north side of the island has a lot of rocks and strong current.

Me not being a water sport person, did not use it much....

I had a very nice and a relaxing honeymoon, would highly recommend the resort!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at The Residence Maldives, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Jaanuxi,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your wonderful experience, it was a pleasure having you as guest of The Residence Maldives for your honeymoon.

I am very pleased to read that you have had a wonderful stay with us, and I do thank you for your positive feedback on our resort and services.

I reiterate my sincerest thanks for your trust in The Residence Maldives and look forward to welcoming you again in a near future.

With Warm Regards

Thomas Barguil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moscow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

It was our frst tym in maldives and i think it coudnt have been better. it was truely a magnificent stay, long enough to fully njy and decide that it is a plc to go back to whenver it's possible again and again !!!!
If i talk about the rooms and especially the VILLAS they r just too gud...cnt ask for better , lovely sun beck, coffe maker, mespresso and also loved the spcl feature f i -phone doking station icing on da cake was da service provided by t lovely staf ova thr.....da smiling faces nd the overwhemingggg warmth shown by ech nd every staff member startng frm reception to da persn who cleaned our room... v njyed holding hands and walking on da sandy pathways plus da club car rides made as feel as if v wer actually a celebrity. the best instance to quote was vn da club car driver just jumped out f da car to put da covers on as soon as it statred raining...wch is a very good gesture to witness the guest care.
we fell in luv once agn and is was like a movie and thy made us fell lik da stars. truely amzing gesture and special mention to da reservation dept for arranging our transfers as soon as we landed in male.....n hw can we forget to mention da delicious crab cakes yummmieeee... hope to c ya guys once agn....our stay ws typical residence style..........

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at The Residence Maldives, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Elenadcruse,

I thank you for your very positive feedback about your stay at The Residence Maldives and appreciate you taking the time and posting your observations on "Trip Advisor".

We are very pleased to read that you have had a wonderful stay and have enjoyed our services.

We reiterate our sincerest thanks for your trust in The Residence Maldives and look forward to welcoming you in a not too distant future.

With Warm Regards

Thomas Barguil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Very spacious, comforable room, so I slept very well.
Restaurant food quality is good, especially the Falhuma

During my stay the room snorkeling did not see the fish was very disappointed, another butler phone many times can not get through!
Each waiting for golf car to restaurant is also a long time.
Women staff at the dive center, poor attitude, to see if she should Europeans

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at The Residence Maldives, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear mimi_smile,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Residence Maldives, it was a pleasure having you with us.

I am very pleased to note that you enjoyed your Water Villa, and Cuisine and Services of both our Restaurants.

I was also truly sorry to learn that some issues you have kindly highlighted have affected your impression of our Hotel.

Please rest assured that I have briefed my team and that immediate corrective measures have been taken in order to provide “The Residence” experience which we are renowned for.

I look forward to welcoming you in the near future,

With warm regards,

Thomas Barguil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Our travel agent recommended The Residence as a new hotel located in a virgin part of the Maldives.
We were not disappointed. Fantastic service, attentive, personalized, and genuily warm -
The food was truely amazing, as we were staying for 11 nights, we were proposed to have some dishes which were not even on the menu and were never bored with the selection.
The movie nights with their BBQ under the stars is also a must...At the beach bar, try the mojitos with their selection of tapas!
The Faluma, their gastronomic restaurant is also not to be missed, set directly on the top of the outer reef, almost above the waves.
We had a water pool villa, very spatious and elegantly furnished
As a diver, I was amazed by the variety of diving sites and their beautiful house reef. I went diving 4 times, only wished I could have gone more often...
The Spa - they have Clarins brand - is located on the lagon, with a direct view of the outer reef - energizing together with very relaxing massage.
Thank you to all for making our stay a memorable experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at The Residence Maldives, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I thank you for your positive feedback on our services and appreciate you taking the time and posting your observations on "Trip Advisor".

We are very pleased to read that you have had a wonderful stay. We reiterate our sincerest thanks for your trust in The Residence Maldives and look forward to welcoming you in a not too distant future.


With Warm Regards


Thomas Barguil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at two different resorts in Maldives for our 8-day honeymoon, the residence was supposed to be the 'better' resort of the two, or we thought, being a 5-star resort, we felt our stay at the 4-star resort (komandoo) was a much better overall experience.


Pros
- We had a water pool villa on the south side of the island facing the east. Villa was large and luxurious, nicely laid out. Furnitures were of high quality, very comfy bed. Nespresso Machine in room, and we really enjoyed our morning and afternoon coffee.
- Spa manager was very friendly, and the treatments were excellent, highly recommended.
- Food at the Falhumaa (the fine dining restaurant) was really good. Overall very pleased with the wait staff at all of the restaurants, they were all very professional.
- Housekeeping was great, kept our room spotless! Turn down in the evening was nice, with cookies left on the bedside table.
- Overall, staff are very friendly and always seem cheerful. They would always say hi when they see us.

Cons
- On arrival, nobody picked us up at the Male airport and we were left feeling lost and didn't know where to go. After over an hour of waiting and wandering, staff from the resort finally showed up and took us to the lounge to wait for the domestic flight.
- Minor design flaw in the Villa, water would get in from the front door and the bathroom when it rains heavily. We just put a beach towel under the door to soak up the water, not a big deal.
- There was no water in our villa one afternoon, we came back from kayaking planning to take a shower only to find there was no water. Staff told us it will be half an hour except it was much more like 2+ hours, wasted our afternoon waiting for it to be fixed. We understand sometimes these things happen, but we felt the resort could have informed us better.
- Our biggest problem was the sand machine right in front of our villa. (We were told the machine is to move sand from the sea to the beach.) DO NOT UNDERSTAND why the management think it is acceptable to put a sand machine in front of the guest's villa. We thought we paid for a 5-star honeymoon with a 5-STAR VIEW.
- We were really unhappy with the sand machine in front of the villa and requested for a room change. The resort was full and no other rooms were available. They sent some staff to move the machine, which we really appreciated, but it is still right in front of our villa. We spoke to the front desk manager, and he advised that another villa may become available on the last day of our stay, only to find out that he meant if only there is a cancellation. We felt like he just 'brushed us off' with a pleasing answer as well as offering us a bottle of wine and a basket of fruit. After much discussion, we were offered a water villa instead of a water pool villa on the last day.
- Arrangement of room change was very poor. Twice we called the reception regarding the status of our room change, they told us somebody will come in 10-15 min to help us move, but it never happened. Finally, on the third try, someone showed up, but we already missed the sunset and were very disappointed.
- We ALWAYS have to wait for at least 20-30 minutes after calling for a buggy, probably because a lot of guests were intercepting them in their path. Management should really sort this out. Reception always give us the default answer of wait 10-15 minutes, felt like they didn't really attend to our needs.
- We had dinner at the Dining Room (buffet) the first night, the selection and quality was very disappointing. Needless to say, we never went back and stuck with Falhumaa for the remaining of our stay.
- Breakfast was okay, but nothing to highlight. On one occasion, we asked for scrambled eggs and were told they only have either fried eggs or omelet?!!!! We felt that the tables at the Dining Room are set too closely together, or the fact that there were a lot of guests, so it always feel very noisy and cramp.


We felt that the resort lacked the romantic island feel, and perhaps is more suitable for groups and families. Most parts of the beach are harsh on the feet, so you will need your shoes/flip-flops.

As for the butler service and the breakfast bread basket and welcome fruits other reviewers spoke of, we certainly didn't have/see any. Maybe it was due to the resort being fully occupied while we were there, but it should not be an excuse for a lower standard. The hardware is there, but everything else fail to meet our expectation. We have no intention to return, and would not recommend it, especially for a honeymoon. We love Maldives though, and we plan to visit again for our second year anniversary!


Snorkeling tip: The water villas are located in very shallow water, and with a lot of rocks and dead corals making it very difficult to swim. We didn't see anything near the water villas. House reef is pretty far, you have to swim for about 200m to get to it, but it was worth the effort. At the big drop, we saw a lot of fish and even a shark! Please remember not to step on the coral, and do not pick them up.

Room Tip: Request for villa with unobstructed view! If you want to be close to the Dining Room and the recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas B, General Manager at The Residence Maldives, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Pastalee,

I am very pleased to note that you enjoyed the comfort of our Water Pool Villa, the food and service provided at The Falhumaa, as well as our exclusive Spa by Clarins, and the overall friendliness and cheerfulness of our Team.

I was also truly sorry to learn that some issues you have kindly highlighted have affected your impression of our Hotel.

Please rest assured that I have briefed my team on some of the issues highlighted and that immediate corrective measures have been taken in order to provide “The Residence” experience which we are renowned for.

I look forward to welcoming you in the near future,

With warm regards,

Thomas Barguil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residence Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Maldives

Address: Falhumaafushi 2088
Phone Number:
Location: Maldives > North Huvadhu (Gaafa Alifu) Atoll > Falhumaafushi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falhumaafushi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Maldives 5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Maldives is a world away from reality. This private island resort is anchored in one of the planet’s widest and deepest atolls, its sugary white sands lapped by sapphire blue waters, its pristine reefs the exclusive playground of its privileged guests. All 94 luxury villas lie on the beach or over the water, their traditional Maldivian architecture enhanced by anything from dedicated butlers to private pools. Dining is an international affair overlooking the Indian Ocean, The Spa by Clarins the only one you’ll find in the entire Maldives archipelago ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your The Residence Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Maldives Falhumaafushi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Maldives, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.