We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here for value, couteousness of staff, PHENOMENAL breakfast !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Vernon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Vernon to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Vernon
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   346 Kelly Road, Vernon, CT 06066   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Vernon
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stay here for value, couteousness of staff, PHENOMENAL breakfast !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

I work for a Fortune 500 company and am allowed to stay at hotels FAR BEYOND this price range. The courtesy of the staff, consistent wireless internet connectivity,cleanliness of the room and incredible breakfast presentation has prompted me to seek this facility when traveling in the Hartford,CT vicinity. This location is adjacent to a 5 Star Italian restaurant "Angellina's" and numerous other restaurants. It is conveniently located next to major highways putting a traveler within 15 minutes of Hartford, Glastonbury, Manchester and Vernon Ct.
Upon request; this facility offers refrigerators, microwave-ovens and coffee pots at no additional charge. This location is convenient to a multitude of restaurants and shopping opportunities. A trip to Old Sturbridge Village is only 45 minutes away while Boston is only a 1.5 hour ride.
The personal service ALWAYS extended by the Management and staff has caused me to stay here once a month for (2) years. Consistency is the hallmark of this facility.
I have come to learn that this is a family owned facility. I encourage ALL to realize the difference. I stay in MANY "nice" Holiday Inn facilities. Holiday Inn Express Vernon, CT is EXCEPTIONAL !

Tim Herlihy
Port St Lucie ,FL

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    26
    14
    4
    4
See reviews for
26
12
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murray
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

BEWARE travelers if you are considering booking with the Holiday Inn Express in HARTFORD-VERNON CT located at 346 Kelly Road. This hotel makes NO allowance to refund prepaid reservations if you have a death in the family! I booked this hotel reservation through Delta.com Sept. 09 to visit my stepdaughter. The reservation confirmation at Delta.com states total due now $0.00, hotel billed at time of check-out. Also stated on the Delta.com website under Policy information ‘your credit card is charged the quoted price at the time of check-out’. When I was completing the reservation, I truthfully do not remember choosing a special discount that made this reservation prepaid.
My Dad became ill on November 1st and died November 10th. Needless to say, I could not leave my Mom to make this trip. I called Delta.com who stated they facilitated the reservation but since no money passed through them they have no recourse with the hotel. Delta was very gracious during this difficult time and cancelled my frequent flyer ticket and redeposited my points at NO charge.
I then called the hotel several times to discuss the reservation and the circumstances. And all they could say was ‘we do not give refunds on prepaid reservations’. They didn’t even offer a credit for a future visit. I called the corporate headquarters of Holiday Inn – Intercontinental Hotels Group who offered to contact the Holiday Inn Express on my behalf. After a few days of my initial call to Intercontinental Hotels, I was informed they stand by the Holiday Inn Express’ decision.
I have NEVER been treated so unfairly at such a difficult time in my life and will NEVER stay at a Holiday Inn Express hotel ever again. Please be careful when you make reservations using Delta.com and Holiday Inn Express and choosing ‘prepaid reservations’ you never know when a loved one may die and you end up canceling a reservation and loosing your money!
Loretta Bogaard
Murray, Utah

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Epress in Vernon on our way to Canada. Unfortunately a thunderstorm had hit the area just before we arrived and the power was out. We were able to check in and the door keys still worked. The manager took a flashlight and showed us to our room. We were glad we brought our own flashlight as well. It was an early night since the power did not come on until after midnight. The hotel is easy to get to and there are several places nearby to eat.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machias, Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

We stopped here for the night on the trip back from Florida. This is the second year we have stayed here. Our room was on the second floor and was very clean. There were 2 full beds, MW, Fridge, and free wireless. The one negative (besides the full beds) was that the sink was in the bathroom with the tub and toilet, which limits the number of people using the facilities at once. We had a very quiet night's rest and a great breakfast the next morning. We used the coupon in the travelers guide and saved $21 plus tax off the rate.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

After a long day of touring the fall foliage, we were ready for a comfortable night's sleep and got that at this hotel. Breakfast was more than adequate.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walworth,NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

I am part of a needlework group with members from all over the country and each year we gather in a different locale. Of the 8 retreats we have done this hotel was by far the best. The rooms were clean, the staff was more than pleasant. Our room had two double beds with 4 pillows on each and the cases were labeled with firm or soft. There was a refrig and a microwave in the room, also WiFi that I didn't need. The continental breakfast was better than most, including the usual carbs plus eggs and bacon or sausage during our stay. Juices and coffee were available 24/7 but also milk and yogurt and snacks.

I can't say enough about the staff. After breakfast was cleaned up they gave us access to the breakfast room for our group to gather and stitch. If we were going out they would print out maps for us. At one point the elevator was out of order and one of the gals came back from K-Mart with a case of bottled water and the man at the front desk carried it upstairs for her.

If all the Holiday Inn Express were like this I would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Liked — The accommodating staff
  • Disliked — I really have no complaints.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

This is a well-run facility. The staff was pleasant and the room was clean, well furnished, and quiet. Reasonably priced, the Holiday Inn Express is a great value.

  • Liked — Comfort and cleanliness; pleasant staff
  • Disliked — Room was a little warm for my husband, though I thought it was comfortable.
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Vernon

Address: 346 Kelly Road, Vernon, CT 06066
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Vernon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Vernon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's familiar. But it's better than ever before. Outside, you'll notice a new sign and landscaping. Inside, you'll notice new furniture, remodeled bathrooms, stylish decor, crisp linens, and a selection of soft and firm pillows. It's more than a warm bed, a clean room, and a friendly smile. It's a hotel where you can sit back, relax and be yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Vernon Hotel Vernon
Holiday Inn Vernon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Vernon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.