We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heaven is a place on earth...at the Samonas villas.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samonas Traditional Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Samonas Traditional Villas to your Saves list
Samonas Traditional Villas
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Samonas Apokoronas, Samonas, Apokoronas, Crete 73003, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“heaven is a place on earth...at the Samonas villas.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

My family stayed at four different hotels while traveling the cyclades, none of which came close to the perfection of the Samonas villas. With their mountain top location the villas overlook a breathtaking view of the Greek countryside and create a peaceful getaway. We were welcomed by Konstantinos in a most generous way, he has designed the villas with exquisite taste and everything you need is provided. We hope to return to Samonas someday as we will never forget Konstantions hospitality and the villas utter beauty.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
66
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

As all of the reviews already attest, Samonas is an incredibly unique place. We have traveled a lot but have never come across anything quite like the villas at Samonas. The location is picturesque, and only a short 30 minute drive from the beautiful city of Chania. Samonas is also the name of the small village where the villas rest, perched at an elevation of about 800m. The views from all six of the villas are stunning, and the interiors are also impeccably decorated. Konstantinos, the owner, is a friendly and incredibly professional host. All of your needs will be attended to. When my spouse and I visited, he even invited us to watch the local villagers shear their sheep (we even got in on the action and were later invited to a celebration at the village taverna). It's amazing how friendly the locals are.

There are a number of different activities to do in and around Samonas. Konstantinos will be able to suggest something for everyone. There also bicycles, a full gym, steam room, pool on site and free to use.

We are looking forward to spending some more time at Samonas next year.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

Located in a context between the sea and mountains in a strategic position to visit the province of Chania

The hosting of Kostantinos was exquisite as well as attention to the welfare of the customer at all times: a taste of local produce on arrival, offering a cool drink in the sunny afternoons, a selection of music for your CD available in every apartment.

The structure, treated in detail is included in a village where authentic nature and peace and quiet reign supreme.

Lucia & Sergio

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milford, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

We just returned from our second stay at Samonas. We find it the most relaxing place we've been to in our lives. Konstantinos, the host, goes out of his way to make the stay something special. Nesteled in the hills outside of Chania, the windy road up has spectacular views. Once there, the only sounds you hear are the roosters and the goats. No speeding cars, loud music, nothing like that. Just natural silence. The accomodations are excellent, with pretty much everything you need. And if it isn't in the room, it's in the attached store - just take what you want and pay what you think it's worth! Find THAT somewhere else! It's a nice day trip to Elafonissi, one of the best beaches anywhere. Or take a day trip to see the wonders of Chania. Or just relax and be pampered. We can't wait to go back again, and next time we stay longer! And don't forget to sotp in one of the local tavernas- you'll be treated like an old friend.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

Despite our flight being delayed and arriving at the apartments gone midnight, the owner was there to welcome us and settle us in. This level of service was evident throughout the 2 weeks we were there and combined with the idyllic location, wonderful views and excellent accommodation to make our stay a real joy. It also proved to be a good base for exploring western Crete, with ancient sites nearby and both Chania and Rethymno within an hours drive. On the days that we didn't feel like traveling, it was also a great place to relax by the pool and sit on the terrace reading and looking at the wonderful views.

Fabulous!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bredene
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

Samonas is a little village were you find the real Cretan life, away from the busy tourist-centers, but only 25 km from Chania. An ideal place to come home to in the evening after a day visiting the beautifull island of Crete.
The houses are very well equiped and the owner will do everything he can to make your stay memorable. Everything you need is in the house or the settlement.
Samonas is perfect for people who love a quite place with a lot of nature. Staying in authentic old (but perfectly renovated) Cretan buildings is an unique experience.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2008

We stayed at the Samonas Villas in July 2008, as one of three families, all with children under 10 years old.

The villas are lovely and well appointed. They are well cared for and there is a small shop attached (which is useful as the nearest shops are approx 15 minutes drive away).

The Villa's are quite isolated from other settlements. It takes approx 30 minutes to get to Hania by car (there is no public transport to the Villas).

The Villa's have a lovely pool and outlook high in the hills.

Unfortunately Samonas is not used to dealing with children. The owner/manager "stressed" about a few issues and was not at all backward in coming forward to say what he thought of the children.

If you want to remove yourself from the World for a few days and don't have childen then Samonas will be just the place for you.

  • Liked — Pool and views
  • Disliked — Not child friendly
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samonas Traditional Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samonas Traditional Villas

Address: Samonas Apokoronas, Samonas, Apokoronas, Crete 73003, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Samonas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Samonas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Samonas Traditional Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional settlement of Samonas is a complete renovated neighbourhood in the village of Samonas, in the district of Apokoronas Crete, at an altitude of 400 m and at a distance of 25 km from Chania. All our dwellings are two-storey (maisonettes) with unlimited view to the mountains, valley and the sea. They are exclusively built in stone and wood to match their surroundings. Each is built at a different level due to the ground's steep slope, with common courtyards as well as independent verandas or balconies and quiet corners. They are decorated with many small folklore objects and antiques. All incorporate the same comforts and luxury, although they differ in size and layout.Here you will experience unique moments of relaxation and complete tranquillity in an authentically traditional area, without missing any of the comforts of the modern way of living, which we have quietly incorporated in all our dwellings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Samonas Traditional Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samonas Traditional Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.