We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samonas Traditional Villas

Save Saved
You added Samonas Traditional Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Samonas Traditional Villas
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Samonas Apokoronas, Samonas, Apokoronas, Crete 73003, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic and charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Fantastic nice hotel in a small village in the mountains. The nice owner Konstantinos did everything that we could thrive. Rooms exciting and finely decorated. There are no standard rooms, but each has its own special charm. The view from our room was lovely with valleys, mountains and sea. The children very much enjoyed the tranquility, the heated pool and all the animals. The village is full of cats, chickens, sheep, goats and rabbits. The village has a nice restaurant where we years some very good dinners. It is well worth a visit. It is also possible to cook in the room or grill at the hotel's terrace. We strongly recommend Samonas.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
62
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chania Town, Greece
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Faboulous place, unique experiense. One of the best places on Crete and for sure a very rare find as it is hidden up at the mountains. Breathtaking view, friendly owner and staff and the most rich and delicious breakfast ever. Sleep quality and the comfort of the house was something you don't meet often. We are already planning our next long weekend at Samonas. Nice surprise was the wellcome raki with home made sweets and the small teddy bear to our 3 y.o son.

Room Tip: Only five houses available, so perfect for small copanies of friends or relatives to rent all the pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Excellent location - high and secluded with wonderful countryside views. Everything you need for a home away from home. Small pool for a quick dip, barbecue terrace, steam room ready in minutes, plus books and dvd's - perfect for a rainy autumnal afternoon. Loved the breakfasts and the cafenion with wine in the barrel. Really - just lovely. Will definitely go again. Plus nearby tavernas with delicious food in case you don't want to cook in. You do need to have transport.

Room Tip: Stayed in Malotira. two floors; one bedroom and bathroom upstairs but fold out wooden screen gives p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We loved the uniqueness of these villas. Konstantinos reclaimed ruined village buildings and created an idyllic setting on a hill (that seemed to be what i needed on this trip). Konstantinos overlooked no detail in the creation of these homes, in their decoration, and in their provisioning. Simple example - the sewing kit wasn't just needle and thread; it also had fasteners, buttons, etc. He even has a small market with the necessaries and unusual items.

We should have stayed here a week. We had a complete kitchen, living area with a long dining table, sofa, well (yes, a well) and round oven (from the original buildings), large bedroom with internal balcony, a large outdoor room that overlooked the wide valley below, a private patio, and rooftop terrace. The bathroom had a washing machine. We took advantage of the pool, steam room and library, but ran out of time to use the gym facilities. This place would even be perfect when the weather gets cooler. There are fireplaces in the rooms, games, videos, books, etc.

And the breakfasts! Served anywhere you liked around your villa. An extremely large assortment of local products. Katerina was very friendly and helpful about places to go.

We were able to take great trips into the surrounding area, including the mountain towns around us, the western beaches, and Chania. I wish we had more time to just hang here.

I almost forgot - you must go to the nearby taverna. We made sure that we had two dinners here. The food was traditional and to die for. The owner was absolutely friendly.

Room Tip: Anything with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The local owner, Konstantinos, should be very proud of this magnificent place to stay. Couldn't have been more helpful, cheerful, and welcoming. All facilities (swim pool, gym, cafe bar etc) were all available to us despite very end of season (November).
The apartments are beatifully furnished in traditional Cretan style, and very well equipped.
The location, and views are to die for. Katarina the cleaning lady is a delight, even though we speak no Greek, and she know English!
I cant think of any negatives, and would love to stay again. If you have a large extended family of, say, 15 or more, it would be a great place to book ALL the apartments, and have a great family occasion, with the pool, barbeque area, cafe/shop,gym etc)

Room Tip: The apartments with arched balcony terraces make the best of the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were here in the first week of October following a week walking on the coast, so were in
need of relaxation. We found this here in spades. The apartment was beautifully clean and very well fitted out. It was cleaned every day by Katerina who also makes the most amazing breakfasts if asked the day before. Samonas has been built from a ruin by Konstantinos and includes a beautiful pool, well equipped small gym with steam room attached. All pool towels and robes are provided. Konstantinos has written very helpful guides and there are photos showing the original ruined building and the start of the rebuild. There is a little store with a range of food and drinks so no need to make a late dash to the shops. The nearest mini market is in Stylos and the closest supermarket in Kalives, a seaside town a short drive away. The closest taverna is a 5 minute walk and always seems to be open, just walk in and find the kitchen!. If you are looking for relaxation in the middle of the countryside with stunning mountain and coastal views you will find it here. You will also find two lovely helpful people in Konstantinos and Katerina.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Absolutely lovely! Peaceful, ambient and beautiful. Our family with two boys, five and seven, loved our week's stay at Samonas. We would love to come back, October is a beautiful month in Crete with warm waters and a not too strong sun. We enjoyed very much just hanging out at the pool at the hotel in the mornings, having lunch in Stylos or Aptera before driving to a beach or other excursions. Very relaxing stay!

Room Tip: If you are not fond of animal sounds at dawn (roosters, goats, dogs, cats, ducks...) bring earplugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Samonas Traditional Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samonas Traditional Villas

Address: Samonas Apokoronas, Samonas, Apokoronas, Crete 73003, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Apokoronas > Samonas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Samonas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Samonas Traditional Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The traditional settlement of Samonas is a complete renovated neighbourhood in the village of Samonas, in the district of Apokoronas Crete, at an altitude of 400 m and at a distance of 25 km from Chania. All our dwellings are two-storey (maisonettes) with unlimited view to the mountains, valley and the sea. They are exclusively built in stone and wood to match their surroundings. Each is built at a different level due to the ground's steep slope, with common courtyards as well as independent verandas or balconies and quiet corners. They are decorated with many small folklore objects and antiques. All incorporate the same comforts and luxury, although they differ in size and layout.Here you will experience unique moments of relaxation and complete tranquillity in an authentically traditional area, without missing any of the comforts of the modern way of living, which we have quietly incorporated in all our dwellings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Samonas Traditional Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samonas Traditional Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.