We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be NYC Chinatown!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Palace Chinese Restaurant

Golden Palace Chinese Restaurant
2173 Norwich New London Tpke, Uncasville, CT 06382
(860) 848-1246
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 42 Restaurants in Uncasville
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Could be NYC Chinatown!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Outstanding Dim Sum! Very wide range of selections; pleasant servers who couldn't try harder to make this a wonderful dining experience!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“alright food, and terrible customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We ordered from this restaurant twice during or stay at the Hyatt Place, and the first time it was pretty good, but the second time we didn't get what we ordered., The meal didn't come with an egg roll as stated, and also I ordered Kung Pao Chicken and when I opened the container I noticed it wasn't the same as the first time I ordered it. I called the restaurant and the man that answered told me that since I opened the container their was nothing they could do about it, and also Kung Pao Chicken when ordered in a combination meal doesn't come with peanuts.. WTH.. Kung Pao Chicken always has peanuts unless you request different.. He just didn't want to admit they sent me the wrong item. I wouldn't order from this place again, if I were traveling to Uncasville CT again. Both times that we ordered we had it delivered and on both occasions the lady that delivered the food to us didn't want to provide us the receipt. She just tore off the bottom and wrote the total on the bottom... Very strange

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice place! Good food and a real authentic meal!! Yummy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

This is a hidden gem! The menu is creative with options to please every appetite. Have no idea why the negative reviews. Been here 3 times in the past six months and always top notch! Authentic food at a reasonable price. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“went there once late night for a drink”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

i got only one thing to say
what is that awful smell?
......................................................................................................................................................

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very Good food, very lousy service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I like Chinese food. My husband does not. Given his druthers he'd prefer Vietnamese or Thai or Korean as he finds most chinese food fairly bland and uninteresting. We both enjoyed our meal here, which basically makes it unique among Chinese restaurants. I ordered a Four -something I forget the name of, but it had chicken, pork, fried shrimp and lobster in a basic moogoo gai pan sauce. The lobster was real lobster and as plentiful as the pork. They did not skimp at all.

Service was slow and lousy but we were there near closing I think and the waitstaff was more focused on the people in the attached bar. This was the only serious drawback to the experience and what gives it a four rather than a five. The service probably was a two, but the lobster sweetened my mood sufficiently to lift them to a 4.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Palace Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Uncasville, Mystic Country
 

Been to Golden Palace Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Palace Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.