We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Shopping; Clean Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mohegan Sun

Save Saved
You added Mohegan Sun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mohegan Sun
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Mohegan Sun Boulevard, Uncasville, CT 06382   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Uncasville
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Shopping; Clean Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

This is a huge resort within a resort. Great shopping mall with high-end stores such as Tiffany, Coach, Tommy Bahama and Sephora.

You'll find any kind of food you want to eat, from fast food to five-star restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoheganSunCT, Manager at Mohegan Sun, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thanks for this great review! We hope you'll join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    428
    267
    63
    46
    51
See reviews for
124
355
28
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billerica, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The hotel is nice but they are not very accommodating. First we arrived an hour and a half early. They had a room ready And for an early check fee we could have it. I have never heard of that but we agreed to it. Had we been told when we made the reservation we would not have arrived when we did. Days later I looked at my charges online and it doesn't add up. I called, come to find out there is this other charged called " Resort Check Out Fee" . Another well kept silent fee. I was told someone would get back to me to discuss. That call was made a week ago. I have not received a response. It started as a 219.00 reservation and ended at 40 percent more.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

This is actually two reviews for the Hotel and Casino, both at 4 stars and highly recommended with some minor caveats.

Hotel - The hotel is impeccably clean. The rooms are large, with a desk, chair and lounger. The TV was nice and large as well (if you care). We had a view of the river on the 12th floor. It was all very nice and very convenient if you are out late at the casino. Valet was free (please tip both ways). It's fairly expensive though and the shower broke on us.

Casino - The facility is really a gigantic mall of casinos, shops and restaurants. There's water features and many a things hanging from the roof, but once you get past that, you just see a very nice mall. The place reeks of smoke throughout, but so do a lot of casinos. The non-smoking areas couldn't be any more ineffective. And I don't mean to sound insensitive, but there are many a "Rascal" user who frequent this casino. At one point, I was the only able-bodied person in the promotions line of about 10 people.

It's a fantastic facility. We lost a few bucks on slots which are varied and for the most part pay out. We sat at the bar and played multi-denominational slots and they paid at the best. Bonus was the free drinks every 20 minutes. One thing of note, CT law shuts down liquor earlier than most NYers are used to especially on Sundays. Stock up beforehand with what you want including water, snacks and other miscellaneous goods or pay major mini bar fees. There are very few places to buy just a bottle of Coke. Lastly, if you are deciding between a weekend or a week, pick the former. After a day you've seen almost everything. You can pick up and leave for Foxwoods or sightseeing at Mystic, but there's very little to see or do around the casino unlike AC or Vegas.

Room Tip: Check in says 4 or 5pm, people line-up much earlier. Check out says 11am (a bit early), you can call...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Station, New York
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This hotel is a gem. The rooms are well appointed and very clean. I love the colors and artwork throughout the hotel. This location is convenient for concerts, conventions and other venues at Mohegan Sun and is accessible to the casino and shops. Also you are only a 20 minute drive to the Cross Sound Ferry in New London for anyone traveling from Long Island, NY.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoheganSunCT, Manager at Mohegan Sun, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for this great review! We hope you'll stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

You can valet park your car and never walk outside again for the duration of your stay. This was great as we arrived at the start of a big snowstorm. In the meantime, you have at your disposal a huge casino (I don't gamble), a shopping mall, too many restaurants to count, a major concert arena, indoor pool, fitness center and spa. Our hotel room was spotless, with an updated bathroom. The pool and fitness center could use a bit of livening up decor-wise. I did not use the spa as I did not book any services before arrival and there were no appointments left. There is also a kids' club which I know nothing about, as my teen was too old for it. The arena has major acts, so that in itself is a big draw. Is this place chic? Not by a long shot, but it is fun and well-run. In sum, if you need to park yourself somewhere for a few days in this part of the world, this place is a find.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

So this is a wonderful hotel. I would recommend it to anyone.

With that said if you got to the hotel, do not play the slots, unless you want to loose all your money.

Stick to real card playing and avoid the machines.

First I believe this statement is true for all casinos. If you regularly play the slots you will eventually never be up in winnings. At Mohegan Sun if you regularly play slots you will loose all your money most likely faster than any other casino in the US. In fact I have to wonder if the casino might be bribing folks on the Connecticut gaming commission.

The casino has some very entertaining slot machines. That I have to admit. Further if you play long enough and very your betting your likely to find a slot that pays out some. However, it is a numbers game. The likelihood that you find a slot that pays something before you loose a lot of cash is very very very low.

Now if you use your players card, the casino will comp you rooms, and give you free slot play etc. However at the end of the day, this does not really make up for all the cash that you are loosing.

You can have much more fun playing blackjack at a 5 dollar tables, however there are very few 5 dollar tables.

So if you play the slots you have to have the attitude that you are not going to win. Further, the lowest paying slots are the old quarter machines. The old 5 dollar machines are looser, but your dropping 5 a pop.

The newest electronic machines are very entertaining. Often you can play them the longest because they will give you back more at a higher rate than the older machines.

In general for all the machines if you look at the jackpot payout relative to the bet you have to make to have a chance of winning, the payouts even for the jackpots are very very bad.

The older machines 20 years ago were much looser.

So thats what I know. The hotel is great, and the slots completely suck. Does that mean that nobody wins? No. Some people do win, but relative to the number of people that play, the payouts are some of the lowest I have ever experienced. I have now stopped going even with the free rooms etc.

For slots, Twin rivers casino is also very very bad: Played many times
For slots Prairie Meadows in Iowa is very good: Played many times.
For slots Cliff Castle Casino in Arizona is very good.
For slots Ho-Chunk in Wisconsin Dells is very bad. Played many tijmes.
For slots the river boat Casino in Elgin IL is fair. Played a few times.
For slots the Casino in Black River Falls Wisconsin is fair. Played a few times.
For slots the River Boat Casinos in St Lois and Kansas City are fair.
For slots the casino outside of Minneapolis is fair. Played many times
For slots Circus Circus in Los Vegas is very bad.
For slots the casino outside of Phoenix AZ is fair.
For slots the casino in Miami is bad.

Room Tip: Don't play the machines unless you want to loose money, most likely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Great room, great bathroom Clean and spacious but not worth 350 a night. Nothing spectacular except location. Service great all ladies given a red rose as they entered lobby for Valentines day. Nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mohegan Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohegan Sun

Address: 1 Mohegan Sun Boulevard, Uncasville, CT 06382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Uncasville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Uncasville
#3 Family Hotel in Uncasville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mohegan Sun 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mohegan Sun is the East Coast's premier entertainment, gaming, shopping, meetings and dining destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Mohegan Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohegan Sun Uncasville
Mohegan Sun Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mohegan Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.