We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a beautiful casino and hotel !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mohegan Sun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mohegan Sun to your Saves list
Mohegan Sun
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Mohegan Sun Boulevard, Uncasville, CT 06382   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Uncasville
Huntington Station, New York
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful casino and hotel !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This hotel is a gem. The rooms are well appointed and very clean. I love the colors and artwork throughout the hotel. This location is convenient for concerts, conventions and other venues at Mohegan Sun and is accessible to the casino and shops. Also you are only a 20 minute drive to the Cross Sound Ferry in New London for anyone traveling from Long Island, NY.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoheganSunCT, Manager at Mohegan Sun, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for this great review! We hope you'll stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    299
    73
    50
    52
See reviews for
146
410
33
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

You can valet park your car and never walk outside again for the duration of your stay. This was great as we arrived at the start of a big snowstorm. In the meantime, you have at your disposal a huge casino (I don't gamble), a shopping mall, too many restaurants to count, a major concert arena, indoor pool, fitness center and spa. Our hotel room was spotless, with an updated bathroom. The pool and fitness center could use a bit of livening up decor-wise. I did not use the spa as I did not book any services before arrival and there were no appointments left. There is also a kids' club which I know nothing about, as my teen was too old for it. The arena has major acts, so that in itself is a big draw. Is this place chic? Not by a long shot, but it is fun and well-run. In sum, if you need to park yourself somewhere for a few days in this part of the world, this place is a find.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

So this is a wonderful hotel. I would recommend it to anyone.

With that said if you got to the hotel, do not play the slots, unless you want to loose all your money.

Stick to real card playing and avoid the machines.

First I believe this statement is true for all casinos. If you regularly play the slots you will eventually never be up in winnings. At Mohegan Sun if you regularly play slots you will loose all your money most likely faster than any other casino in the US. In fact I have to wonder if the casino might be bribing folks on the Connecticut gaming commission.

The casino has some very entertaining slot machines. That I have to admit. Further if you play long enough and very your betting your likely to find a slot that pays out some. However, it is a numbers game. The likelihood that you find a slot that pays something before you loose a lot of cash is very very very low.

Now if you use your players card, the casino will comp you rooms, and give you free slot play etc. However at the end of the day, this does not really make up for all the cash that you are loosing.

You can have much more fun playing blackjack at a 5 dollar tables, however there are very few 5 dollar tables.

So if you play the slots you have to have the attitude that you are not going to win. Further, the lowest paying slots are the old quarter machines. The old 5 dollar machines are looser, but your dropping 5 a pop.

The newest electronic machines are very entertaining. Often you can play them the longest because they will give you back more at a higher rate than the older machines.

In general for all the machines if you look at the jackpot payout relative to the bet you have to make to have a chance of winning, the payouts even for the jackpots are very very bad.

The older machines 20 years ago were much looser.

So thats what I know. The hotel is great, and the slots completely suck. Does that mean that nobody wins? No. Some people do win, but relative to the number of people that play, the payouts are some of the lowest I have ever experienced. I have now stopped going even with the free rooms etc.

For slots, Twin rivers casino is also very very bad: Played many times
For slots Prairie Meadows in Iowa is very good: Played many times.
For slots Cliff Castle Casino in Arizona is very good.
For slots Ho-Chunk in Wisconsin Dells is very bad. Played many tijmes.
For slots the river boat Casino in Elgin IL is fair. Played a few times.
For slots the Casino in Black River Falls Wisconsin is fair. Played a few times.
For slots the River Boat Casinos in St Lois and Kansas City are fair.
For slots the casino outside of Minneapolis is fair. Played many times
For slots Circus Circus in Los Vegas is very bad.
For slots the casino outside of Phoenix AZ is fair.
For slots the casino in Miami is bad.

Room Tip: Don't play the machines unless you want to loose money, most likely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Great room, great bathroom Clean and spacious but not worth 350 a night. Nothing spectacular except location. Service great all ladies given a red rose as they entered lobby for Valentines day. Nice touch.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Our stay at Mohegan Sun was delightful. The rooms are all modern, extremely clean and well kept. The room has free water and coffee with a stocked bar for purchases. We enjoyed the casino, shops and restaurants. There is a great selection of restaurants for all budgets. We even earned some comps which we used for breakfast. It is a great place for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoheganSunCT, Manager at Mohegan Sun, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave us this great review! We hope you'll join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
672 helpful votes 672 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

During our luxurious stay the Mohegan Sun casino not only did we win BIG but our savings thanks to Netrate was exceptional. After a $400 slot win my girl got a straight flush on LET IT RIDE and won over $1400....Big win, BIG SAVINGS. Thanks NETRATE. Great service and great price. Should we thank you for the winning cards too?????

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoheganSunCT, Manager at Mohegan Sun, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
It sounds like you had a great time! Thanks for sharing it with us. Hope we see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

My husband and I met up with our 24-year old daughter for a weekend here. The hotel is top-notch and the restaurants are abundant-you will have no problem finding something to suit your taste.

This weekend was a nice winter get-away for us, since Mohegan Sun is about halfway between where we live and the city our daughter lives in. We aren't big gamblers, but we did have some fun playing slots!

For us, this was a terrific winter destination... plenty to do, all indoors! We had a few really enjoyable meals and had a great experience at the spa. There is shopping, too. Good option, since the weather outside was cold and snowy!

Room Tip: We had a river view room on a high floor... very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoheganSunCT, Manager at Mohegan Sun, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thanks for this great review! We're happy we could be the setting for your family get-together. Hope you'll all join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mohegan Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohegan Sun

Address: 1 Mohegan Sun Boulevard, Uncasville, CT 06382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Uncasville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Uncasville
#1 Family Hotel in Uncasville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mohegan Sun 5*
Number of rooms: 1200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mohegan Sun, owned by the Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority, is one of the largest, most spectacular entertainment, gaming, dining and shopping destinations in the United States. Situated on 185 acres along the Thames River in scenic southeastern Connecticut, Mohegan Sun is home to three unique casinos, a 34-story, 1,200 room luxury hotel, a world-class spa and golf course, over 75 shops, restaurants and bars as well as three award-winning entertainment venues including a 10,000-seat Arena. Mohegan Sun is within easy access of New York, Boston, Hartford and Providence and located 15 minutes from the museums, antique shops and waterfront of Mystic Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mohegan Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohegan Sun Uncasville
Mohegan Sun Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mohegan Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.