We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and hard to get to” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mohegan Sun

Save Saved
You added Mohegan Sun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mohegan Sun
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Mohegan Sun Boulevard, Uncasville, CT 06382   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Uncasville
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Overpriced and hard to get to”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Went for a conference. The location is far from town, an hour by taxi from Hartford Airport. There is nothing near by, you're pretty much stuck in the hotel. I guess they figure you're not going to be spending time in your room so the walls are not well insulated, I could hear conversation in the next room and the TV keep losing signal. Smoking is allowed, difficult for nonsmokers.
The people gambling seemed to be enjoying themselves, and it looked like they have a good entertainment lineup.
Of note, the taxi back to town makes you pay in advance, and charged $50.00 more to return to the same airport. Advise to check in advance.
My bill was not ready at checkout, was told it would be emailed to me, still waiting.
Suggest Vegas.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    426
    267
    63
    46
    51
See reviews for
124
354
28
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect when I booked the hotel for a three day conference. Got in mid-afternoon and was checked in immediately. Since it was my first stay, I was given late checkout and a warning about the mini-bar. Up to the room in no time. Elevators quick and plenty of them. Room was super clean and spacious, free wireless internet that worked flawlessly. Great view from the 22nd floor, non-smoking room. Big comfortable bed, large flatscreen tv, desk and an enormous bathroom. I could have spent a week here with no problem at all, and definitely will return. Plenty of food choices, and of course, plenty of opportunity to gamble. Daily newspaper each morning was a nice touch too. You don't see these extras everywhere anymore.
Only one negative, just to show I was paying attention: pickup at the valet was long and confusing, as another conference broke at the same time we did. Some corridor noise, but that is due more to ignorant, ill-mannered guests than the hotel's fault.

Room Tip: Ask for a view, and they should accomodate. King room was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

First things first: Mohegan and Foxwoods are the only two casinos the state and obviously compete against each other. If you had to choose one you should go with Mohegan - it is way nicer and more modern than Foxwoods. However that being said it really can't even hold a candle to Las Vegas casinos or even The Borgata in Atlantic City.

If you take it for what it is - it is a decently nice and clean casino. None of the staff really go out of their way to accommodate you, but they are better than the folks at Foxwoods.

What I don't like is the poker room is so small and will on average have maybe 1/4 of the players that Foxwoods gets.

A lot of the restaurants are obviously overpriced, you would expect that in a casino, but honestly aren't very good either. There are some good options.

Mohegan doesn't give as good of rewards bonuses as Foxwoods does and a room will always cost you an arm and a leg.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have stayed at Mohegan Sun many times and it never disappoints. Just returned stayed March 17,18. Stayed in room 1564, beautiful, beautiful suite! The suite had so many appointments and the bedroom had 2 walls of windows that had an amazing view. Very updated and impeccably clean. The bathrooms are beautiful. The valet was fast and friendly, the bellhops friendly, the check in staff friendly,quick and helpfull. The casinos are clean and cheerful (usually play in Earth casino). Dealers are fun,friendly and helpful. And always enjoy the supervisors on duty. Their security team does a fantastic job. You never see questionable characters walking around or have random people asking you for money which happens in lots of places. Also security at the room elevators which I like. The restaurants are amazing. Check out hash house if you want an interesting breakfast! I never find the casino "tight". Good amount of give and take instead of just take. I have been there with my mom and they were very helpful with getting me a motorized scooter for her and a room close to an elevator. Been there with my hubby and had a romantic room. Been there with friends and had perfect room accommodations. Always get the room and bed types I reserve. I find the air quality to be very breather friendly. I highly recommend Mohegan for a quick get away!

Room Tip: All rooms great. Try to get a room with river view. I highly recommend the sky suite, room 1564
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoheganSunCT, Dave J. - Social Media Specialist at Mohegan Sun, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you so much for this great review! We're happy to hear that you've enjoyed our property for so many different occasions. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Shows, restaurants and the gambling can be enjoyed and its not close and not far. Take only what you may want to loase. If you win, good. Many places to eat, I like Michael Jordan's Cafe. The sirloin chili is wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Recently stayed at the hotel for rest and relaxation. The rooms are not as fancy as five star vegas venues but are very clean, neat and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Within the casino property there are several excellent restaurants offering the gamit of food styles and ethnicities. The entertainment is also first rate.
Much more guest friendly than Vegas!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landing, nj
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I must start off by saying how much I loved everything about Mohegan Sun! If you have ever been to Atlantic City, you already know how disgusting the casino's are and the quality of the type of people it attracts. You will not deal with any of that at Mohegan Sun!! The hotel is located away from everything with a beautiful lakeside view. When you first walk in to Mohegan Sun, your just wow'd from the start, absolutely gorgeous!! Check in was very quick and I was very surprised with how clean the hotel hallways and elevators were; everything smelled fresh and clean. My sister and I had a room with 2 bed and I must say the room was super clean and modernly decorated. We order room service for a late night dessert and breakfast and the food arrived in less than 30 minutes and was delicous. The staff was also very pleasant. We had the opportunity to eat at Ballo (Italian Restaurant), I wasn't impressed with the food there, but everyone has their own preference. However, I did love the food at Michael Jordan's Steak House. This was our first trip to the casino and I must say we had a great time. We even had a chance to play at the "girls only" tables in the back, which was pretty cool. Also lots of great shops to choose from. There were even lots of families there that weekend who seemed to be enjoying themselves. I can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mohegan Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohegan Sun

Address: 1 Mohegan Sun Boulevard, Uncasville, CT 06382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Uncasville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Uncasville
#3 Family Hotel in Uncasville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mohegan Sun 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mohegan Sun is the East Coast's premier entertainment, gaming, shopping, meetings and dining destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Mohegan Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohegan Sun Uncasville
Mohegan Sun Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mohegan Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.