We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappoints!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mohegan Sun

Save Saved
You added Mohegan Sun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mohegan Sun
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Mohegan Sun Boulevard, Uncasville, CT 06382   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Uncasville
Long Island City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Never disappoints!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have stayed at Mohegan Sun many times and it never disappoints. Just returned stayed March 17,18. Stayed in room 1564, beautiful, beautiful suite! The suite had so many appointments and the bedroom had 2 walls of windows that had an amazing view. Very updated and impeccably clean. The bathrooms are beautiful. The valet was fast and friendly, the bellhops friendly, the check in staff friendly,quick and helpfull. The casinos are clean and cheerful (usually play in Earth casino). Dealers are fun,friendly and helpful. And always enjoy the supervisors on duty. Their security team does a fantastic job. You never see questionable characters walking around or have random people asking you for money which happens in lots of places. Also security at the room elevators which I like. The restaurants are amazing. Check out hash house if you want an interesting breakfast! I never find the casino "tight". Good amount of give and take instead of just take. I have been there with my mom and they were very helpful with getting me a motorized scooter for her and a room close to an elevator. Been there with my hubby and had a romantic room. Been there with friends and had perfect room accommodations. Always get the room and bed types I reserve. I find the air quality to be very breather friendly. I highly recommend Mohegan for a quick get away!

Room Tip: All rooms great. Try to get a room with river view. I highly recommend the sky suite, room 1564
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoheganSunCT, Dave J. - Social Media Specialist at Mohegan Sun, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you so much for this great review! We're happy to hear that you've enjoyed our property for so many different occasions. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    414
    253
    58
    45
    50
See reviews for
120
336
24
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Shows, restaurants and the gambling can be enjoyed and its not close and not far. Take only what you may want to loase. If you win, good. Many places to eat, I like Michael Jordan's Cafe. The sirloin chili is wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Recently stayed at the hotel for rest and relaxation. The rooms are not as fancy as five star vegas venues but are very clean, neat and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Within the casino property there are several excellent restaurants offering the gamit of food styles and ethnicities. The entertainment is also first rate.
Much more guest friendly than Vegas!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
landing, nj
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I must start off by saying how much I loved everything about Mohegan Sun! If you have ever been to Atlantic City, you already know how disgusting the casino's are and the quality of the type of people it attracts. You will not deal with any of that at Mohegan Sun!! The hotel is located away from everything with a beautiful lakeside view. When you first walk in to Mohegan Sun, your just wow'd from the start, absolutely gorgeous!! Check in was very quick and I was very surprised with how clean the hotel hallways and elevators were; everything smelled fresh and clean. My sister and I had a room with 2 bed and I must say the room was super clean and modernly decorated. We order room service for a late night dessert and breakfast and the food arrived in less than 30 minutes and was delicous. The staff was also very pleasant. We had the opportunity to eat at Ballo (Italian Restaurant), I wasn't impressed with the food there, but everyone has their own preference. However, I did love the food at Michael Jordan's Steak House. This was our first trip to the casino and I must say we had a great time. We even had a chance to play at the "girls only" tables in the back, which was pretty cool. Also lots of great shops to choose from. There were even lots of families there that weekend who seemed to be enjoying themselves. I can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The last time we were at Mohegan was years ago. We drove ourselves down for a day of entertainment.

We visited Mohegan Sun again, as "day-trippers" with a bus group this past Monday (3/11/13).

The location of Mohegan is pretty convenient, and as they say in their brochure, it's an "easy ride from just about anywhere" (including Mystic, NYC, Boston, Hartford, Providence).

Buses arrive at a "bus lobby" at the "Autumn Entrance", which makes meeting up with your group easy when the time comes to depart. Provided you read the next paragraph ;>)

You MUST orient yourself to where you are in the Casino, or you risk getting lost forever. The entire Casino, which is HUGE, looks exactly alike, no matter what section you are in. So get yourself a map when you arrive, and pay attention to the signs above your head. You can get a map at various "stations" on the walls, or from the Players Club booths.

The service at the Players Club booth was good, if a little slow. You need to do this when you arrive, in order to get your Player's card, which keeps track of your bets, etc. You can just go in and play if you want, but you'll miss out on some special offers if you don't sign up for the Players Club (it's free).

The slots at Mohegan no longer take coins. Bills are needed, $5,$10, $20, etc. When you are finished playing, you either cash out or collect a voucher to use in your next slot/game.

The problem we had with the gaming, was the lack of slot attendants. They were few and far between, so it was difficult to ask questions, get change, etc., and if you had a problem with your machine, I think you'd wait a long time for service.

As for food, we chose to eat at one of the smaller, fast food type places, Johnny Rockets, which is a burger joint. The burgers were reasonably priced (anywhere from $4.65 UP), tasty, and very large. The fries and onion rings were nothing special, and not especially tasty, even though they looked "homemade", rather than frozen.

All in all, Mohegan offers a fun day trip destination. You can do it inexpensively if you plan ahead on how much you want to spend for gambling.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

the wise guys in las vegas wished they never ever made casinos family friendly...it was the end of the elegance....the dress code....the respect each had for one another in the gambling world....now it's like going to the mall when you're at a resort/casino.....I have 4 children and 5 grandchildren and love them dearly....but when gramps wants a vaca at a resort/casino...the last thing I want... is to get off the (winter garage)elevator as I did sunday afternoon ...and walk thur a daycare center with a dozen or so rug rats running around the hall screaming as their parents watched...to have the wannabee teenager/beautiful kids roaming the shopping arena and the aisles of the gambling as far as they can poising for pictures...with 1000's of hotel/resort/theme/parks why people bring the kids to not only Mohegan but all the rest across the usa is a mystery to me....if the bean counters truly did their homework I believe the investment in a family friendly resort was a necessary evil....but is it really necessary...we had a great time but this stood out this time.....so many kids....I know it's profiling...but more often than not it works.....looking at the parents with the rugs rats and wannabees ...I saw not very much gambling revenue.....from them......

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We decided to stay overnight for the first time. It is a very nice place to stay in colder weather, since the many great shops and diverse restaurants are all within the hotel. The room was very clean and nicely furnished. All the employees are very accommodating and friendly. The casino is enormous, and a person could easily get lost here. I would recommend the buffet, as the food is much better than usual buffets, and there is a very nice variety, at a reasonable price.
I would give this hotel 5 stars, except for the fact that it is very smokey. There is really nowhere in the casino that is smoke free, except for one little alcove, and it is smokey also. I came home with my clothes reaching of smoke, so do not stay here if that bothers you. Otherwise, excellent!

Room Tip: All rooms equivalent, except suites. We had a standard room, and it was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uncasville
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Restaurant, Spa...
Show More
6.6 mi away
The Fox Tower
The Fox Tower
#2 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 stars 890 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cristata Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Grand Pequot Tower
Grand Pequot Tower
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Restaurant, Mid...
Show More
4.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Norwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mohegan Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohegan Sun

Address: 1 Mohegan Sun Boulevard, Uncasville, CT 06382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Uncasville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Uncasville
#3 Family Hotel in Uncasville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mohegan Sun 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mohegan Sun is the East Coast's premier entertainment, gaming, shopping, meetings and dining destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Mohegan Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohegan Sun Uncasville
Mohegan Sun Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mohegan Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.