We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Day Trip Destination” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mohegan Sun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mohegan Sun to your Saves list
Mohegan Sun
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Mohegan Sun Boulevard, Uncasville, CT 06382   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Uncasville
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fun Day Trip Destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The last time we were at Mohegan was years ago. We drove ourselves down for a day of entertainment.

We visited Mohegan Sun again, as "day-trippers" with a bus group this past Monday (3/11/13).

The location of Mohegan is pretty convenient, and as they say in their brochure, it's an "easy ride from just about anywhere" (including Mystic, NYC, Boston, Hartford, Providence).

Buses arrive at a "bus lobby" at the "Autumn Entrance", which makes meeting up with your group easy when the time comes to depart. Provided you read the next paragraph ;>)

You MUST orient yourself to where you are in the Casino, or you risk getting lost forever. The entire Casino, which is HUGE, looks exactly alike, no matter what section you are in. So get yourself a map when you arrive, and pay attention to the signs above your head. You can get a map at various "stations" on the walls, or from the Players Club booths.

The service at the Players Club booth was good, if a little slow. You need to do this when you arrive, in order to get your Player's card, which keeps track of your bets, etc. You can just go in and play if you want, but you'll miss out on some special offers if you don't sign up for the Players Club (it's free).

The slots at Mohegan no longer take coins. Bills are needed, $5,$10, $20, etc. When you are finished playing, you either cash out or collect a voucher to use in your next slot/game.

The problem we had with the gaming, was the lack of slot attendants. They were few and far between, so it was difficult to ask questions, get change, etc., and if you had a problem with your machine, I think you'd wait a long time for service.

As for food, we chose to eat at one of the smaller, fast food type places, Johnny Rockets, which is a burger joint. The burgers were reasonably priced (anywhere from $4.65 UP), tasty, and very large. The fries and onion rings were nothing special, and not especially tasty, even though they looked "homemade", rather than frozen.

All in all, Mohegan offers a fun day trip destination. You can do it inexpensively if you plan ahead on how much you want to spend for gambling.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    294
    69
    49
    51
See reviews for
144
399
33
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

the wise guys in las vegas wished they never ever made casinos family friendly...it was the end of the elegance....the dress code....the respect each had for one another in the gambling world....now it's like going to the mall when you're at a resort/casino.....I have 4 children and 5 grandchildren and love them dearly....but when gramps wants a vaca at a resort/casino...the last thing I want... is to get off the (winter garage)elevator as I did sunday afternoon ...and walk thur a daycare center with a dozen or so rug rats running around the hall screaming as their parents watched...to have the wannabee teenager/beautiful kids roaming the shopping arena and the aisles of the gambling as far as they can poising for pictures...with 1000's of hotel/resort/theme/parks why people bring the kids to not only Mohegan but all the rest across the usa is a mystery to me....if the bean counters truly did their homework I believe the investment in a family friendly resort was a necessary evil....but is it really necessary...we had a great time but this stood out this time.....so many kids....I know it's profiling...but more often than not it works.....looking at the parents with the rugs rats and wannabees ...I saw not very much gambling revenue.....from them......

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We decided to stay overnight for the first time. It is a very nice place to stay in colder weather, since the many great shops and diverse restaurants are all within the hotel. The room was very clean and nicely furnished. All the employees are very accommodating and friendly. The casino is enormous, and a person could easily get lost here. I would recommend the buffet, as the food is much better than usual buffets, and there is a very nice variety, at a reasonable price.
I would give this hotel 5 stars, except for the fact that it is very smokey. There is really nowhere in the casino that is smoke free, except for one little alcove, and it is smokey also. I came home with my clothes reaching of smoke, so do not stay here if that bothers you. Otherwise, excellent!

Room Tip: All rooms equivalent, except suites. We had a standard room, and it was beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is connected to 40+ restaurants of all types, great shops & three casinos. The lobby and pool area are lovely. Valet parking is free. They attract are big name concerts, for example, Maroon 5, Eric Clapton & Bob Seeger were/will be there in February & March.

The rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable & well appointed.

We tried a new restaurant called Hash House A Go Go. The name was not appealing & from the outside it looked empty, however, when we entered, it was nearly full on a Tuesday for lunch. The meals were plentiful, high quality & delicious!

I will certainly return to the restaurant and hotel.

Room Tip: My mother is in a wheelchair & it was great that they offered roll in showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, GA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Worst service you could ever imagine. We stayed for a few days for a business meeting. The hotel and facilities were beautiful, very clean and modern. But the people who worked there were unbelievably rude. Customer dis-service is their norm.
When I checked-in, the people behind the desk behaved as if they could not be bothered. They talked to each other, did not make eye contact, refused to answer questions, when I pressed is there water in the rooms, I got a curt "it's fine. it's in there" really? so sorry to bother you. I was very glad I bought a large bottle of water at the shop.

A co-worker and I both called separately about our rooms being in unsafe locations (next to elevators or stairs) and they refused to change our rooms. They claimed the hotel was full to capacity. Even tho the entire facility was empty, and the hotel was clearly not full.

The rooms where we had our meetings were nice and clean but the service was again abominable. They charged for every little thing - a phone line, water for the conf rooms, any small request was extra. and they were angry about being asked. Worst experience possible. They removed the food before people were finished or before some folks had a chance to eat at all. When we asked them to leave the food, they refused. unbelievable.

If you have a problem with your bill, there is no recourse. I waited on hold for 45 minutes and sent four emails with no response.

How do these folks stay in business?
go anywhere but here

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoheganSunCT, Dave J. - Social Media Specialist at Mohegan Sun, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and apologize that we did not live up to your expectations. I would encourage you to call our Guest Relations department at 866.707.3317 so we can discuss this situation further. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meriden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

housekeeping should be more observant, when we first walked in we noticed crumbs on the floor by the bed also hair in shower walls, .we stayed two nights, the next day when our room was "cleaned" they didn't check the coffee pot it was still filled with coffee from the morning .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I had not been to Mohegan Sun in years...I forget how nice it is. Much more upscale than Foxwoods. We stayed midweek, so the rates were not expensive. We has two great meals at Bar American and Summer Shack. There are tons of other great places to eat too!

The best part of the Mohegan is that smoking is restricted to only in designated casino areas, so you don't leave smelling like an ashtray.

We definately will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mohegan Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohegan Sun

Address: 1 Mohegan Sun Boulevard, Uncasville, CT 06382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Uncasville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Uncasville
#2 Family Hotel in Uncasville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mohegan Sun 5*
Number of rooms: 1200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mohegan Sun, owned by the Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority, is one of the largest, most spectacular entertainment, gaming, dining and shopping destinations in the United States. Situated on 185 acres along the Thames River in scenic southeastern Connecticut, Mohegan Sun is home to three unique casinos, a 34-story, 1,200 room luxury hotel, a world-class spa and golf course, over 75 shops, restaurants and bars as well as three award-winning entertainment venues including a 10,000-seat Arena. Mohegan Sun is within easy access of New York, Boston, Hartford and Providence and located 15 minutes from the museums, antique shops and waterfront of Mystic Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mohegan Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohegan Sun Uncasville
Mohegan Sun Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mohegan Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.