We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for level of accommodations and services” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mohegan Sun

Save Saved
You added Mohegan Sun to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mohegan Sun
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Mohegan Sun Boulevard, Uncasville, CT 06382   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Uncasville
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Overpriced for level of accommodations and services”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We recently spent a night at Mohegan Sun since we had tickets to a show in the arena. Overall the hotel is impressive when you walk into the lobby. We had paid over 600 for a single night - with tax and everything else, it came to more than $700. This is NOT a 700 hotel! Rooms are nice, but nothing spectacular. Linens and bedding a bit worn. Bed was pretty messy and sheets definitely need to be replaced (although clean, so that's a relief). Shower curtain had multiple stains on it. No turn down service. Gym had older equipment and multiple pieces of equipment out of service. For $300 or less a night, great. For 600-700, they need to up the ante, enhance the experience and provide a more luxurious experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    414
    253
    58
    45
    50
See reviews for
120
336
24
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Mohegan Sun is absolutely stunning! The attention to detail in everything they have to offer is simply amazing. There are tons of great 5* restaurants and a great shopping area. There is free music every night in The Wolf Den, so there is always entertainment to be had! Any seat in the arena is a good seat as well! Really great place to go for a single day or a few overnights! Hotel rooms are also well decorated and very clean!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mastic Beach, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have been to a lot of different casinos in NJ, NY, Vegas & Reno. All have something to offer.
I enjoy Mohegan as it is a beautiful place, nice rooms, great restaurants,variety of stores, great concerts and close to home. You do not have to leave the grounds. You will not get bored.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

If you are reading this You are in the Right Spot. I prefer this casino/hotel much more over Foxwoods. It is so much homier if that makes sense. As you walk in you feel welcomed. The place offers some great deals during the week and look out for the deals around the shops. I never did feel crammed in like I did in Foxwoods. The slots pay out if you sit on a machine. However I am a table guy and blackjack did treat me right the past few visits. Give Todd English's Italian restaurant a chance as well. Pretty good. Book a show as well. All the seats have a great view. Don't forget to get your players club card!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoheganSunCT, Dave J. - Social Media Specialist at Mohegan Sun, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thanks for this awesome review! We're glad you got to experience so much of our property. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southold, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I booked the Mohegan Sun for my husband's birthday. Our experience with them was top notch! From Liz who took our reservation to the bell man who returned our bags, the staff was very friendly, professional and always willing to please. Our spacious immaculate room was on the 29th floor overlooking the river. The staff sent up a birthday cake for my husband. From previous reviews, I was concerned about the smoking in the casinos. We stayed during mid-week and we didn't have any problems with the smoking. There are 3 non-smoking casinos which we visited. We ate at a few restaurants. We really enjoyed Hash House a Go Go. The pool and whirlpool were wonderful! I would high recommend booking your stay at Mohegan Sun. Let them know if you are celebrating a special occasion!

Room Tip: If you are able, visit mid week. Higher floors are quieter. Ask for a view of the river. They wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

It is because of Kids Quest that we only gamble & dine at Mohegan Sun. We never go to Foxwoods because there are no child care services. Thank you for making a casino where adults AND kids can have a great time.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We visited Mohegan Sun with friends and greatly enjoyed this modern and comfortable property. The amenities are first rate and the staff is courteous and efficient. The attached casinos,restaurants and shops make this a fun destination.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mohegan Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohegan Sun

Address: 1 Mohegan Sun Boulevard, Uncasville, CT 06382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Uncasville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Uncasville
#3 Family Hotel in Uncasville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mohegan Sun 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mohegan Sun is the East Coast's premier entertainment, gaming, shopping, meetings and dining destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Mohegan Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohegan Sun Uncasville
Mohegan Sun Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mohegan Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.