We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and attractions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mohegan Sun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mohegan Sun to your Saves list
Mohegan Sun
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Mohegan Sun Boulevard, Uncasville, CT 06382   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Uncasville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hillsborough, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel and attractions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Just got back from a stay at Mohegan Sun this weekend and really enjoyed the hotel and overall experience. The rooms are very well done, with quality finishes and attention to detail. The overall ambiance was light and open and the hallways smelled very fresh. This is a nice contrast to some of the hotels I've stayed in in Atlantic City. I was also impressed with the quality of service at the hotel.

There were a wide variety of restaurants and we were able to have dinner at Tuscany and a quick lunch at Bobby's burgers. All of the restaurants were outsourced and include wide variety: Bobby Flay, Micheal Jordan, Johnny Rockets, Geno's Steaks, Starbucks, Dunkin' Donuts, etc.

My only complaint was that it was difficult to make a table / bottle service reservation at the nightclub. The conceirge would not assist and the best we could do was leave a message on the number listed outside of the (closed) venu. It all worked out in the end, so I'd consider this a minor nit.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Cove suite, which was a phenomenal room (two bathrooms, living area, etc.) for a rela...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    317
    77
    54
    51
See reviews for
152
441
39
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
377 reviews 377 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is really a destination as it has an arcade for kids, a spa, a pool, great selection of stores for shopping and many terrific restaurants. The slower winter season is a great time to visit if you want to avoid the crowds. Check out the entertainment also, as there is a major concert venue (top names play there), a comedy club and the Wolf Den concert venue in the center of the casino with free music almost every evening. A fun getaway!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had some great meals at this casino. Bobby Flays is outstanding. Ballo is very good. The room was fine. We were generally treated very well. They have their systems down pretty well. I had one incident that colored the stay for me. When I was cashing in some chips before leaving there was this big controversy about the value of them. The folks wanted to give me $1 for chips I had paid $5 for. There was this whole assumption that I was somehow trying to scam them out of $30. I asked to see a manager. He turned out to be worse implying that I was trying to cheat the casino. It wasn't enough money to spend any further time over but their attitude assumes that you are dishonest and that it is somehow worth it to someone to stand toe to toe with some blockhead and argue over $30. I wouldn't go back unless I had to.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoheganSunCT, Dave J. - Social Media Specialist at Mohegan Sun, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We regret that your expectations were not met during your time here and would encourage you to call our Guest Relations team to further discuss the situation you describe. They can be reached at 866.707.3317. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Mohegan Sun is a fun little escape in CT. The rooms are beautiful in my opinion and the beds are comfy. The only problem is you can sometimes hear your neighbor. MS is a great entertaining property and we always have a good time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayport, New York
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

It is a good hotel with good restaurants and good shops but mind you it's not cheap. The only negative is the smell of cigarette smoke that greets you as soon as you walk in. We didn't really play in the casino so I cannot comment on that but all in all a good place to go for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is one great hotel, checked in at VIP which was great the hallways smelled great and the room was very comfy and the bathroom was in tip top shape and well appropriated, great security also, so if you like casino hotels this is the one to stay at.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Have visited here twice in last year...great restaurants, beautiful and spacious rooms, excellent shopping. The only drawback is the smell of cigarette smoke that permeates the hotel despite efforts to mask it. Really takes away from experience. Why do they allow smoking? Reservations are exempt from the federal and state laws regarding this issue.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mohegan Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mohegan Sun

Address: 1 Mohegan Sun Boulevard, Uncasville, CT 06382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Uncasville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Uncasville
#1 Family Hotel in Uncasville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mohegan Sun 5*
Number of rooms: 1200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mohegan Sun, owned by the Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority, is one of the largest, most spectacular entertainment, gaming, dining and shopping destinations in the United States. Situated on 185 acres along the Thames River in scenic southeastern Connecticut, Mohegan Sun is home to three unique casinos, a 34-story, 1,200 room luxury hotel, a world-class spa and golf course, over 75 shops, restaurants and bars as well as three award-winning entertainment venues including a 10,000-seat Arena. Mohegan Sun is within easy access of New York, Boston, Hartford and Providence and located 15 minutes from the museums, antique shops and waterfront of Mystic Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mohegan Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mohegan Sun Uncasville
Mohegan Sun Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mohegan Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.