We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to casino” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1954 Norwich - New London Turnpike, Uncasville, CT 06382   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Uncasville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hamden, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location to casino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed for a concert at Mohegan sun - every room was booked, and all that was available to us a month in advance was a handicap accessible room. We were impressed how extremely clean and efficient everything was laid out. Constant free shuttle to casino till 2am was great even on a busy nightl. We expected a rowdy loud hotel after concert, but had a great night sleep. Decent continental breakfast too. Price was a little more than I wanted to pay ($160) after taxes but we were impressed overall. Only complaint was a bathtub mat that seemed well beyond its time to be thrown out and a $1.50 safe fee. I read others have gotten it waived but we didn't bother disputing it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelUncasville, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback! We are truly glad you enjoyed your stay here and will address the issue with housekeeping regarding the bath mat. Your feedback is valuable to constant improvement of our property. In all departments, we strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and hope to have the opportunity for accommodate you again next time you are in the area.

Kind Regards,
Microtel Uncasville Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    377
    146
    36
    18
See reviews for
176
429
29
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tahoe City, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

The hotel was fine for what it provided: a cheap place near Mohegan Sun. The rooms were tiny but the beds were surprisingly comfy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelUncasville, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit. All comments and suggestions we receive are most helpful as we strive for continued improvement. We are thrilled you found the beds comfortable. For your complete satisfaction we have several room types available including our most economical room to our large suites. The next time you are in the area we would be thrilled to have you “try another room on for size!” Again, we are grateful for your review.
Sincerely,

Microtel Uncasville Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

A friend and I had tickets to a concert for Saturday night at the Mohegan Sun arena. Since we were coming from Long Island, the ferry service would be unavailable after the concert was over and since we were going to do a bit of gambling, we decided to book a room at the Microtel. Just so you know, I've stayed at Mohegan Sun before and I have a review here on TripAdvisor giving it very high marks, however, paying $500+ for a Saturday night stay was not in the budget. Microtel gave me a rate of $125 and is was worth it.

Check-In:
Check in is at 3pm, but Samantha at the front desk was able to give me a room at 1:30pm. She was very friendly and informative and also helped me to print out my concert tickets since they do not have a business center.

WIFI:
FREE WIFI IS INCLUDED. I can't stress enough the importance of this amenity. Any hotel that does not offer this should NEVER be considered by anyone!! Throw it in, for goodness sakes, and Microtel certainly does throw it in. Good for them.

Room:
Room was a standard room with two queen beds. Nothing fancy, but the room was very clean and comfortable. I didn't hear a peep all night and we got in around 2am.

Shuttle Service to Mohegan Sun:
I did NOT use this service as it started at 4pm and we were there at 1:30pm. The drive to Mohegan takes 5 minutes by car. However, I understand there is a shuttle, it runs every 15 minutes or so and they do give you a number to call for pickup. I can imagine that it might get crowded on the last 2am pickup though, so think it through. I'm told a cab to the hotel from Mohegan is 10 buck.

Complimentary Breakfast:
You get waffles, basic pastries, coffee, juice, etc. Nothing fancy, but a very nice touch. Again, shame on hotels that charge a premium yet don't offer these basics.

Summary:
All in all, I'd DEFINITELY stay here again for an overnight if I'm going to Mohegan for gambling or for a concert. The rooms at Mohegan are beautiful, but their costs just can't be justified when you have a viable option like the Microtel available nearby.

Room Tip: We stayed near the back...on the top floor. It was super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelUncasville, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so happy to hear such wonderful feedback from our guests and would like to take the time to thank you! We are very pleased to be able to provide WiFi and continental breakfast to all our guests and are extremely proud that you were able to appreciate these amenities as well! We hope to see you again in the future so that we can continue to provide you with the service that you deserve!

Regards,

Microtel Uncasville Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Had a really great stay at the Microtel. The room was very clean and the staff extremely helpful. Could have used a warmer blanket in February, but didn't realize until after hours. Only real issue was the shuttle service home from Mohegan. The rush at the end of shuttle hours was crazy. Ended up paying for taxi rather than waiting up to an hour to get back to Microtel (at 2AM). Needs tweaking: maybe have a sign up sheet or other method of determining how many shuttle passenger will be seeking return service - perhaps add additional shuttle for late returns. Hotel experience good and would likely stay again if I had confidence in this service.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelUncasville, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us. Information such as yours is both helpful and important to the consistent improvement of our hotel and its services. We understand your concerns about our shuttle service and will look into our policies to see if there are some changes that can be implemented. We are glad you selected the Microtel Inn & Suites for your stay. Although we are unable to change your experience, we would welcome the opportunity to restore your faith in our facility if your travels bring you back to the Mohegan Sun area.

Regards,

Microtel Uncasville Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

my husband and I decided on staying at the Microtel instead of paying bug bucks for a room at Mohegan Sun. What a grea thotel exceptionally clean, I have stayed at 4 star hotels that were not as clean as this Microtel . Not sure why this hotel is ranked 4th out of the4 I have stayed at the other hotels in the area and they are definitely not as nice as this one! Just a nice basic room nothing fancy the continental breakfast was very good everything was fresh.. Will definitely be back. Staff was very pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelUncasville, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated! It is our goal to meet all our guests’ expectations and we are pleased we were able to meet yours. We look forward to seeing you at breakfast the next time you stay with us.

Regards,

Microtel Uncasville Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

This was our second time staying here. The staff here does there job well! Very kind and always willing to help with any questions. Great food recommendations and parking as well. Don't pass it up , for the price and cleanliness you'll be sorry you clicked another or drove by.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelUncasville, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Valued Repeat Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our property. We take great pride in providing friendly service to all our guests. We look forward to accommodating you again next time you’re in the area!

Regards,

Microtel Uncasville Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Stayed there 1/6/12. Found the motel to be an affordable alternative to the hotel at Mohegan. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was clean and bright. Would have no qualms about staying there again. Its nothing fancy but if you need a reasonably priced room close to the Casino this is it. Its less than a mile to the Casino and they offer a free shuttle too. They also offer a free breakfast of muffuns, bagels, cereal etc.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelUncasville, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind remarks about the Microtel Inn & Suites, Uncasville. We pride ourselves on providing clean, comfortable accommodations at rates that won’t break the bank. We hope to accommodate you again in the future and provide you with the same great service.

Regards,

Microtel Uncasville Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville

Address: 1954 Norwich - New London Turnpike, Uncasville, CT 06382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Uncasville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Uncasville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Uncasville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Microtel Inn and Suites, an Uncasville hotel near the Mohegan Sun Casino. Conveniently located off Route 2, the Microtel Inn and Suites hotel is only one mile from Mohegan Sun Casino with free transportation to the casino Sunday to Thursday 5 p.m. to 1 a.m. and Friday and Saturday 4 p.m. to 2 a.m. This Uncasville, CT, hotel is minutes from: Dodd Stadium, Mystic Seaport and Mystic Village. Experience a wine-and-cheese boat ride or just shopping this quaint village. Mystic Aquarium and Institute for Exploration, a recognized leader in oceanic research featuring living marine creatures and the latest discoveries of the underwater world. Eastern Connecticut State University, Connecticut College, Foxwoods Casino, Norwich Golf Course, Clinton Crossing Premium Outlets shopping center, Long Island Sound and Stonington Vineyards are less than 30 miles away. Local businesses near the hotel include Computer Sciences Corporation, The William W. Backus Hospital and FreePort McMoran. Hotel Services and Amenities: Scheduled shuttle service to Mohegan Sun Casino. Conference room with high-speed Internet access; audio-visual equipment available. Free local and long-distance calls within the Continental U.S. Free continental breakfast. Seven ADA-compliant guestrooms, TTY Telephone, auxiliary aids available, wheelchair accessible. Connecting rooms available. All rooms have coffee maker, hair dryer, high-speed wireless internet, iron and ironing board, cable TV with ESPN, CNN and HBO. Microwave, refrigerator and sleeper sofa available in suites only. Dry cleaning and laundry services available. Crib and rollaway bed available. Free outside recreational vehicle and truck parking. This property does not permit pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Uncasville Hotel Uncasville
Uncasville Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.