We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2049 Norwich New London Turnpike, Uncasville, CT 06382   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Pamper Me Package
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Uncasville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on July 4th. Front desk persons need to be more friendly. The room looks bigger and nicer in the photos. I don't like the layout of it. There isn't mirror nor sink in the bathroom. The big mirror and the sink are outside of the bathroom and right across from the bed. I had a late shower when my wife and baby were sleeping. I had to get out of the bathroom to dry my hair and brush my teeth. The noise woke them up. Breakfirst was very basic. The hotel has free shuttle bus to the casino but other hotels also have free shuttle bus or free limo.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, The Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun. It was a pleasure to have had the opportunity to host you and your family during your stay with us in July. I wished that you had contacted us sooner about the troubles that you experienced last summer. While we are not able to relocate items such as the sink and mirror in our guest rooms, I am very happy to report that we do have a totally new Gallery Menu and we now offer the AM Skillet breakfast program. Our new food and beverage program has been a big success. Most if not all of our repeat guests have given us positive feedback about these new offerings. You were absolutely correct; our previous breakfast was basic unless you were willing to pay for additional hot items, such as eggs & Bacon. Our new breakfast program offers hot and fresh egg sandwiches that change daily, pancakes and French toast as well. I truly hope that you would be willing to give us another try the next time that you are in the area. We would love to show you exactly why we are consistently rated 1 for lodging in the Uncasville area by trip advisor members! Again thank you for your review and time today.

Best Wishes,
The Hyatt Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    165
    34
    12
    13
See reviews for
92
229
18
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here at about one-quarter of what we would have paid at Mohegan Sun. We did see a room at the casino hotel and thought our room at the Hyatt was nicer. Breakfast is included and while a gourmet meal was not expected, it was good enough.
Check-in and check-out was efficient and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello!
Thank you for your review of our hotel, The Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun. I am very happy read that you found our hotel and services provided value for you and that our guest rooms are on par or better than others that you have experienced in our market. Our team works very hard to maintain our property and high service standards. It was a pleasure to have had the opportunity to host you and your guests and we look forward to your next visit to southeastern CT soon. As always if you have any questions, comments or concerns please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best Wishes,
The Hyatt Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayport, New York
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This may not be your typical 5 star hotel but the service is more than 5 star. We stayed here on a recent overnight trip to Connecticut, we were initially thinking of staying at Mohegan Sun but I checked tripadvisor for hotel recommendations and this came out as no. 1 so we decided to check it out first. When. We got there, we were greeted with a smiling front desk personnel and in 5 mins, had a room booked with keys on hand. Mind you this doesn't happen at a 5 star hotels and we've been to a lot of them. We didn't have to drive to mohegan sun coz they have a shuttle service that runs every 30mins which was very convenient and my daughter thinks its cool that she gets to ride on a bus. Breakfast was good too. Overall a good experience and will come back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your impressive review!
It was a pleasure to have had the opportunity to host you and your family during your recent visit and noticing that you are a senior contributor to Trip Advisor your positive review really is appreciated. Please know that we are always here for you or your guests, 24 hours a day. It is our pleasure to host you and we look forward to another opportunity soon. Happy New Year to you and yours!

Best Wishes,
The Hyatt Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldwide
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Value for the money is outstanding.

Happy, friendly and wanting to please staff.

Breakfast was enhanced from our last visit.

Exceeded our expectations once again.

If you want to visit the nearby Casino they have a shuttle service for those of us who enjoy wine or two without having to drive afterwards.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Perfect!
Thank you very much for your positive review of our property and services. We truly appreciate all of our guest’s feedback and it is always our hope that each guest enjoys his or her time with us. If we can ever be of service to you in the future please do not hesitate to call on us. We are more than happy to be of service to you!

Best Wishes,
The Hyatt Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a year while consulting at a nearby hospital, and I LOVED IT! The staff really made me feel at home and if there were any technical issues, management was on top of it the minute I brought anything up. The rooms were clean and extremely large compared to other hotels I've been to. Free breakfast is really good. And the updated menu items were great as well. The shuttle to Mohegan was an added bonus after a long day at work. But the staff really made the place, always so professional and courteous. These guys were so good, it made it that much more difficult to leave! Thank you so much for everything! I would recommend anyone to stay here and see how great this place is for themselves.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
WE MISS YOU!!
Thank you so much for everything that you have done and of course this glowing review of our hotel. During your time with us you became family, you are missed by everyone and we still look for you each morning for your daily cup of tea :(. We wish you nothing but the best and please stay in touch with us when you find your new home. If we can ever help you in any way please call us. It was great to have the opportunity to get to know you. You will always have a home here in Uncasville! Happy New Year!

Best Wishes,
You’re Hyatt Place Family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Hyatt Place continues to be consistently good in their product. We spent Christmas Eve here and were quite satisfied with everything. The rooms are very large. Between the two queen beds and the sofa bed, you could have fit 6 people in the room comfortably. Kitchen is really only small fridge and coffee maker, but with the complimentary breakfast, you really don't even need it. Large swivel TV was nice. Not sure what previous complaints were about, but everything in room looked new and was very clean. Best part was the 5-minute shuttle to Mohegan Sun that ran often and on time. Free breakfast spread was adequate (usual fare of cereals, breads, yogurt and fruit), but with only one hot choice (biscuit with ham, egg and cheese). There was a sign saying that French toast was on request, but I didn't see anyone behind the counter. Will definitely re-visit this property anytime we want to head up to Mohegan Sun.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Happy Holidays!
Thank you for reviewing our property, The Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun. It is a pleasure to have had the opportunity to host you and your guests during your recent stay and we hope to have another opportunity during your next visit to Southeastern CT. We turned three years old this month and are very pleased that you feel we continue to provide consistent quality service to our guests. It is our goal to remain every traveler’s first choice when visiting the area. Please know that we are always here to help you, it is our pleasure to be of service to you!
Best Wishes & Happy New Year!

The Hyatt Place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a night while gambling at Mohegan Sun. The hotel and rooms look exactly like the pictures. The rooms are large and feature a very large flat screen TV. The furnishings look nice. However, you can tell that the mattress and couches are starting to build up some wear and tear. We took the shuttle in the evening to the casino and received a coupon book for 10-15 percent off some restaurants and stores. However, you may want to drive to the casino since it is so close. The only downside to the hotel would be the breakfast. I found it to be unappetizing and crowded. Instead, we went to the Mohegan Sun breakfast buffet.

I gave the hotel three stars due to it being a limited service hotel. I would recommend the Hyatt over the Best Western (2 stays) and Holiday Inn (one stay) in the area. I would say that this hotel has a much nicer lobby and guest rooms.

Room Tip: Choose high floor even number rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy S, General Manager at Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hello!
Thank you for your review of our hotel, The Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun! It was a pleasure to have had the opportunity to host you and your guests. We hope that when you return to our area that you will continue to consider us for your lodging. As always, we are here 24 hours a day to help. If we can ever be of assistance please do not hesitate to contact us directly, we are more than happy to be of service to you. Thank you again and Happy New Year!!

Best Wishes,
The Hyatt Place
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun

Address: 2049 Norwich New London Turnpike, Uncasville, CT 06382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Uncasville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Uncasville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Uncasville
#4 Family Hotel in Uncasville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Uncasville Hotel Uncasville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.