We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but Far From Great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Venetian Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Venetian Restaurant
52 E Main St, Torrington, CT 06790
8604898592
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 110 Restaurants in Torrington
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: White Tablecloth - Traditional Regional Italian Cuisine.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good but Far From Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Went here prior to a show at the Warner and we thought the food was very good but the service was awful and the portions were small considering the price. If we were to go to another show at the Warner we likely would come back but this isnt a restaurant you would go out of your way to get to.

The decor is very dated and the tables are all uncomfortable close (to the point where you have to be careful you dont wind up in the lap of another patron when you get up).

Our server was very bad; one of the worst I have experienced.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Torrington, Connecticut, United States
1 review
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The food here is always "good," but I've never had a truly memorable meal here. I always leave feeling a bit disappointed.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Connecticut, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

for all the hype I heard this place was decent. For the price it was disapointing. Tableside ceasar is prepared with bottled dressing....cardinni's. If you have kids they put you in the back even if there is a table in the front.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always a great experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We have been going to the Venetian for over 30 years and it remains to be consistently wonderful. You can spend an a relaxing evening here. The wait staff has a real sense of timing so that everything comes out in just the right amount of time and, if you choose, you can spend as long as you wish enjoying the evening.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Fantastick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Everything from the bread to the dessert is superb! This is a very nice restaurant with a great wait staff. The owners even come around to the table to say hello. We have been going to the restaurant for 8 years and every meal is better than the previous one.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Venetian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Venetian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Venetian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.