We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pizza & Grinders in NW CT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berkshire Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Berkshire Cafe
71 Albert St, Torrington, CT 06790-6402
860-489-0600
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 111 Restaurants in Torrington
Restaurant details
Litchfield, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Pizza & Grinders in NW CT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The pizza is excellent. I had the sausage and roasted peppers, the nice waitress said the sausage is made fresh on the premise. They even had a homemade soup of the day as she joked it was Divorce soup, it was like wedding soup but they made it with sausage instead of meatballs. The decor of the place was like and old school neighborhood cafe. The kitchen is open daily at 11am-930pm and the only take cash but there was an ATM in the back. I can't wait to go back and try the grinders.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torrington, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you have ever lived in or visited Torrington CT, you must have heard about the best pizza place in town!! The place still resembles the old styling of historic places in town, and the pizza recipe does also. The best pizza, coldest beer and sports on the TV...worth your time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I recently visited the Berkshire Cafe in Torrington CT and had the best pizza I've had in awhile!!! Not only that but the drink specials are wonderful...whether it's a Sangria or a Blood Mary...oh and if you're a race fan or football fan the TV coverage is great!! They even have the "Red Zone", which allows you to see all the scoring plays on all the teams playing...it's great! Check it out soon

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catskill Mountains, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I have only been there twice. Their burgers are great. Aks for them to be more done than you want. Both times, I asked for medeium and got them medium rare to rare. Nothing fancy, but good food and good size portions. I will be there again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Depot
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“good place to have a beer and relax”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Good on tap selection, GREAT salad and good pizza.
Great place to have a pizza and beer....casual, homey neighborhood joint!!!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berkshire Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Berkshire Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berkshire Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.