We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tolland Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tolland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tolland Inn
Save
You added The Tolland Inn to your Saves list
63 Tolland Green, Tolland, CT 06084   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Tolland B&B and Inns
Hanover, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Another wonderful stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have stayed at the inn three times now and all have been wonderful experiences. This time it was for a family holiday gathering. Stephen and Susan did their usual excellent job! We love the classic old inn style and Stephen's wood creations are so impressive. This time we played name that tune on the piano by room 1 with another inn guest. The food, from the muffins to the waffles were superb! As alway!!! We shall return again and again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
47
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

I stayed at the Tolland Inn for two nights while on business at UConn. What a treat! Stephen and Susan are gracious and engaging hosts. The rooms are beautifully appointed, including Stephen's fine, hand-crafted furniture. Susan was kind enough to give me a tour of the unoccupied guest rooms--each unique. Breakfasts were simply overwhelming in taste, creativity, and options. When I returned home I hesitated to tell my wife what a great time I had while "working".

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

My wife and I traveled to New England and began our stay At the Tolland Inn and ended it there 14 days later. What a terrific way to start and finish!!! The rooms were clean and tastefully decorated--the original oil paintings by Steve were an added bonus. The breakfasts were excellent with different foods each morning--all wonderfully prepared by the multi-talented Steve. Susan is a warm and attentive hostess who will sit and listen/talk to her guests. Beds were comfy and provided a good nights sleep in quiet rooms. The location was good with easy access to I-84 and local roads to UConn and amazing local apple orchards. (Yes, we picked our own!!!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a hot tub -- nice experience-- especially after two weeks of travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

This inn was a great find. So accommodating, so comfortable, really enjoyed our stay. Our family stayed here while attending an event in Vernon. Quiet, excellent night's sleep - comfortable beds! (all made by the host) Stephen cooked the breakfast - which was very impressive. We were waited on hand-and-foot.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South County, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I spent 3 nights last week at the beautiful Tolland Inn. The innkeepers, Steve and Susan, were warmly gracious, anticipating every need. They were always there when I needed something, or just a friendly word, and left me alone when I needed solitude. Steve is a master fine furniture maker, and the inn is full of his creations: some that you cannot tell from the antiques in the room, others bearing his unique style and sense of the wood he is carving. Though antique, the inn is remarkably comfortable. The twin goldfish ponds with fountain in the back shape a restful place to relax and read, or to meditate or contemplate the lovely natural surroundings. Just an 8 minute walk away is Crandall Park, where you can swim in the summer, walk any time of year, and even rent The Lodge. Had long, peaceful walks everyday. Cannot say enough about this B&B. Thanks, Sue & Steve! Susan from Rhode Island

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent, and a great deal. Most have hot tubes. Details of each room on their we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I lived extremely near this inn all my life. rode past every day. But never been there. Oh how bad i wonted to. the stile is just my thing! And all furniture was hand made and carved by the owner!! Choose the room that fit the way you feel. and what you wont and of coerce Price range. But the Breakfast is something you can not miss!! you will not have another Breakfast like this again in your life!!. they even hand turn there own butter, but not any butter, unique butter. If i could i would spend every year there
only thing i regret. Only staying there Once... why oh why did i what till i was married to go? oh but what a perfect place for your first night!!! thank you Tolland Inn :D

Room Tip: I would choose room 3 if you do not have much $. cause they have the opshion for Just claw tub or ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at The Tolland Inn and was very happy with our stay. Our room was decorated beautifully. We had good sized bathroom with tub and shower. Everything was spotless. Breakfasts were delicious and different each day. The Inn is not only close to UCONN but also Hartford. Steve and Sue made great recommendations on restaurants and things to do in the area. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tolland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tolland Inn

Address: 63 Tolland Green, Tolland, CT 06084
Location: United States > Connecticut > Tolland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tolland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish Connecticut Inn on the Tolland Town Green. Hot tubs, fireplaces, relaxation in an 1800s bed and breakfast seven miles from the University of Connecticut campus. Perfect for travelers, rendezvous, romantic getaways, wedding nights,Connecticut honeymoons, business travel, and of course UConn lodging. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tolland Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.