We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tolland Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tolland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tolland Inn
Save
You added The Tolland Inn to your Saves list
63 Tolland Green, Tolland, CT 06084   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Tolland B&B and Inns
Cleveland, OH
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great night away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Tolland Inn a couple nights before Christmas. It was the exact getaway we needed. We stayed in the Pacific Suite which had a wonderful hot tub, a king size bed and a gas fireplace. The bed was comfortable, and the hot tub was well....hot. Our hosts were great. They pointed us in the direction of some good places to grab dinner. Breakfast the following morning was delicious.

The location of the inn was convenient...about a mile off of I84. There's nothing around it like shops or restaurants that's walking distance, but there were plenty of restaurants we found within a five or ten minute drive. I can't say enough good things about this place. I'd love to make it an annual tradition.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
47
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay here, this is a gem right off the highway. When a snowstorm prevented us from getting to New York, we had to stop and were lucky to be within proximity to this excellent bed and breakfast. So glad we didn't push through to Hartford where there are many hotel chain options. The great reviews here are right: Steve and Susan were so welcoming, excellent hosts who are not intrusive but a joy to speak to. Breakfast was delicious. We loved room 6, where it was cozy, warm, clean, the linens and towels soft, and the attached bathroom with iron bathtub were spacious. The robes provided came in handy. We especially loved the common areas of this BNB which were cozy and well appointed. Steve is incredibly talented evident in the furniture he made throughout this Inn. He is also generous... when looking to purchase an ornament dawning the Inn's logo as we were leaving, Steve had run out of stock on ornaments to sell, so took one ornament right off of his tree and gave it to us as a holiday gift. Thank you Steve and Susan!

Room Tip: We loved room 6! Perfect size, and spacious bathroom, at the 2nd tier rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Our selection of the Tolland Inn as a place to stay was purposeful. It stemmed mostly from a level of nostalgic curiosity.

I spent my youth in a neighboring community. Through the years, I had passed the Inn on my way to and from other places. Each time, I was struck by the setting on the green and the stateliness of the property.

I am pleased to say, our stay at the Tolland Inn was all that we could have hoped it to be, beginning with the hospitality of Inn Keepers Susan & Stephen to the accommodations. In a word, our recent stay at Tolland Inn was ‘wonderful.’ We shall return.

Room Tip: Room #2 appeals to us most because it is located on the first floor, has a separate exterior entranc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleborough, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay during this Thanksgiving weekend.The charming inn is beautifully decorated with antiques and collectibles, yet is has a "homey" atmosphere. Breakfast was delicious.
We enjoyed sitting around the dining table, conversing with the other guests. We loved our stay in the "Treehouse Suite", with it's comfortable king size bed, gas fireplace, and relaxing hot tub.
Thank you, Susan and Steve!

Karen and Dennis C

Room Tip: The "Treehouse Suite" is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was our second visit to this beautiful B&B, as we have relatives in the area. We enjoyed our stay this time just as much as we did the first time. The inn is exquisite. It was built in the late 1700s and has been lovingly restored to its current immaculate, charming condition by its owners, Steve and Susan. It is fun to see how they have incorporated modern amenities while maintaining the historic building’s original charm. Steve designs and builds furniture. His beautiful pieces are throughout the house and help give this special place some of its character. The rooms are lovely and well appointed. The beds are very comfortable. Breakfast each morning is delicious, and it is lots of fun meeting other guests at the large dining table (also built by Steve). We will definitely stay here again when we return to the area and would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
il
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

My stay at the Tolland Inn was absolutely fantastic. The Inn is a wonderful historic B&B surrounded by the beauty and charm of Connecticut. It's conveniently located near the UCONN campus and only a short drive away from major highways. The owners, Susan and Steve, are friendly and personable, and make all of their guests feel welcome. And the breakfasts are delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brielle, New Jersey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We decided to break up our trip to Maine by stopping in Connecticut for a night. By chance, we came across excellent reviews for The Tolland Inn, a bed and breakfast in Tolland, Connecticut. What a great find! The Inn is everything a good B&B should be-beautiful, with homey common areas, filled with antiques and other curiosities, unique, spacious guest rooms each with clean, private bath, a great breakfast each morning, and charming, accommodating staff members. This B&B is all that and more. For a peaceful, pleasant stay, this Inn is highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Treehouse Suite was in the back of the house, and very quiet with a view of the back lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tolland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tolland Inn

Address: 63 Tolland Green, Tolland, CT 06084
Location: United States > Connecticut > Tolland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tolland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish Connecticut Inn on the Tolland Town Green. Hot tubs, fireplaces, relaxation in an 1800s bed and breakfast seven miles from the University of Connecticut campus. Perfect for travelers, rendezvous, romantic getaways, wedding nights,Connecticut honeymoons, business travel, and of course UConn lodging. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tolland Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.