We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service and food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Black Rock Tavern & Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Black Rock Tavern & Restaurant
78 Main St, Thomaston, CT 06787-1715
860-283-4447
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 29 Restaurants in Thomaston
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Terryville, Connecticut
1 review
“Terrible service and food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

good in the past...Last night was terrible...3-1-13. Crispy chicken was dry and over cooked. Waitress forgot my beer and was MIA during dinner. Never got a coffee refill. Took home dessert, wrong ones. BIG thumb print in the middle of it.GROSS!!!! She actually joked..."you had vegetables and mashed potato for dinner!!! yummy!" Almost charged us for beer, as I was putting my jacket on, she asked me if I still wanted the beer! SOOOOO sad!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thomaston, Connecticut
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice hometown restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Have been here many times and the food is always good. In the past they have had great, fun specials but lately their creativity has slipped. It is still a nice small town restaurant with good food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conneticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“going downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Just came back from Black rock tavern resturant, i have been there before and enjoyed my dinner, but the last two meals at this establishmen have been sub par. Tonights meal was worst,service was slow, soup was luke warm, steak had no tast and was tough. I dont't like rsturants that are not consistant,won't be back for a while if at all.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naugatuck,ct
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not very impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I had my birthday party at this restaurant and was not very pleased with price or service. We were put in a corner at a long table with very little ventilation and it was way too warm. The server kept forgetting stuff we ordered and the food wasnt all that good. I had a very fatty piece of prime rib which was not very tasty and one person didnt even get their dinner and when they did it was the wrong one. The prices were way to high and even tho we made it a fun night cause the company was great, the restaurant wasnt. I doubt I will ever return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Had Higher Hopes”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I think this is more or less a place locals congregate. I was disappointed in the atmosphere, drab and damp. There was a distinct smell of stale cigarette smoke in the dining room. I almost didn't want to stay. This restaurant was converted from an old bar/out-dated restaurant to the current establishment. I imagine that is where the smell emerged from on a damp September evening.

The menu was varied except one page was missing from my menu. I brought it my servers attention, she said "oh well we are changing the menu next week" OK?........

My friend ordered eggplant lasagna when it arrived there was literally one round disk (eggplant slice) covered with sauce, that's it no pasta, nothing just one piece of eggplant. Strange.

I ordered a dinner salad nothing good or bad. The service was decent. Not sure I would hurry back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Rock Tavern & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Black Rock Tavern & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Rock Tavern & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.