We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hosts in the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spencer On Main

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Suffield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spencer On Main
Save
You added Spencer On Main to your Saves list
264 South Main Street, Suffield, CT 06078   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Suffield B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
1 review
“best hosts in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

We shot some very important interviews for a documentary in this wonderful old building in Suffield and enjoyed for three days the generous hospitality of Etienne and Caroline. We all decided to come back for a holiday. it was a great experience ! christoph

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
35
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melrose
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2010

My husband and I have been guests at Spencer-on-Main on two different occasions. We can’t sing enough praises of this restful, elegant and charming Bed and Breakfast, which has consistently exceeded our highest expectations. In fact, calling Spencer-on-Main a B&B doesn't begin to do it justice. It's a grand, stately and inviting home. Our hosts, Caroline and Etienne are extremely gracious, delightful and accommodating. Their guest suites and common areas are exceptionally spacious, welcoming and beautifully furnished. No comfort or convenience has been overlooked. It is a joy to wake up to a memorably scrumptious and impressive breakfast served in their beautiful dining room. Also expect to be WOWED by the grounds which include a lovely pool and peaceful places to curl up with a good book or take a needed snooze. We can't wait until our next visit.

Beth and Tug Yourgrau

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

This beautiful historic home has been in family of inn keeper Caroline for many generations, and for her and her husband, Etienne, running it is obviously a labor of love. The home is a huge Victorian that is little changed, it seems, from the 1800's. Walking through the main hall and up the sweeping staircase is like walking back in time with the period wallpaper, beautiful detailing and family treasures and antiques. The first floor has a cozy den in what was once the home's kitchen, a gorgeous formal dining room where breakfast is served, two formal parlors and one large guest room. The second floor has two large quest suits, beautifully decorated with period furniture, with full baths and large adjacent sitting rooms lined with books (ours was easily converted to a separate bedroom for the kids). The rooms were warm, comfortable and extremely quiet. Our hosts, Caroline and Etienne, were marvelous, entertaining us with lore of the town, their home and historic family. And what a breakfast feast in the morning! Fresh home made fruit cups and fresh squeezed orange juice, croissants with various spreads and cheeses European style, followed by a succulent french toast brulee that was out of this world. It was so much fun and so relaxed we lingered nearly two hours over breakfast! We were sorry to go and will surely be back. A great option if you're visiting the big E.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

We cannot thank our gracious hosts, Caroline and Etienne , enough for sharing their elegant home. Every aspect of the stay was delightful, and the Delices De La Nuit suite was spectacular.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

Visiting from London for a wedding we stayed at Spencer on Main for 3 nights. We had a simply wonderful stay. Absolute treat to stay in such a well maintained historic building with charming and helpful hosts. Rooms are spotlessly clean and along with the rest of the house they are maintained to a 5* standard. Breakfasts are served in the fine dining room. You won't find any cornflakes here, it's all excellent home made food including omlettes and croissants, all served fresh from the kitchen. Etienne and Caroline are wonderful hosts who could not be more friendly and helpful but who also provide guests with space. If you are lucky enough to be the only occupants you will feel like a lord of the manor in this wonderful house. So if you're thinking of staying in this area don't consider staying anywhere else....

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

We arrived on Friday afternoon for three nights hoping that we'd found a place (based upon earlier reviews that we'd read) where we could revitalize ourselves. We were not disappointed and join in the kudos previously expressed by others. This B&B has charm and warmth, in large part due to the innkeepers, Caroline and Etienne. It was as if we'd come "home" to long-time friends. Our suite was spacious, beautifully and tastefully furnished, and -- as was the entire inn -- filled with family and other antiques. There was every convenience. Not a small part of the experience were the exceptional breakfasts -- not only unusual and delicious, but beautifully served in a lovely dining room. We will no doubt return.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, VT
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

Relied on the Trip Advisor reviews and booked a one night stay for a recent visit to Hartford and was not disappointed. As advertised, the owners Caroline and Etienne were extremely gracious hosts and were welcoming, accommodating, professional and genuinely warm people. Suffield is a pleasant village with handsome architecture, enough services, etc and is a very pleasant and relaxed alternative (less than 30 minutes to downtown) to staying in Hartford. The house is quite grand, the guest rooms are very large and comfortable. Given the lack of interesting, high quality lodging options in the greater Hartford area, Spencer on Main stands tall as a great alternative. I will definitely stay there again on my next Hartford overnight.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spencer On Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer On Main

Address: 264 South Main Street, Suffield, CT 06078
Location: United States > Connecticut > Suffield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Suffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1870 Second Empire house with two suites and one bedroom, all with private bathroom. Open in September 04 after one year of renovations. Each guestroom decorated with period antiques but offering modern amenities such as cable TV, DVD/VCR, stereo system, WIFI, and central A/C. Eight acres of land, swimming pool. Full breakfasts blend Belgian and American traditional recipes. Free pickup is provided to and from Bradley Airport and Amtrak station. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spencer On Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.