We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful & Romantic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spencer On Main

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Suffield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spencer On Main
Save
You added Spencer On Main to your Saves list
264 South Main Street, Suffield, CT 06078   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Suffield B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Wonderful & Romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2005

My husband and I were looking for a romantic bed & breakfast to spend our 1st anniversary. (He asked me to marry him at a stay at a bed & breakfast.) Spencer on Main was just what we were looking for. Not only were the rooms amazing but the hosts were incredible. They helped us find a place for dinner and even made the reservations for us. And breakfast the following morning....mmmmmm....my taste buds are still happy weeks later.

Thank you!!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
35
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2005

Spencer on Main was an absolutely wonderful place to stay for a quick business trip to New England, the accomodations were beautiful and comfortable, the breakfast was always superb, and the hosts were two of the most loveliest people I have ever met. I would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast to couples, and for those traveling for pleasure or business. A spectacular get-a way! I hope to soon return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2005

Spencer on Main is a bed and breakfast that creates a truly comfortable welcoming atmosphere. Consideration of the guest's schedule is a priority. Breakfasts were wondeful, delicious, treats. The innkeepers, Etienne and Caroline are not creating a business, but a landmark to be savored.

The inn features an extraordinarily wide-ranging library, is furnished with family antiques, and set on several acres in a picture-perfect town that is chock-full of well-labeled old homesteads (be sure to tour the 18th Century King House, just across the street from the side entrace to Spencer on Main, for the marvelously well informed talks on both the house and local history by Lester Smith). Unlike many otherwise lovely B&Bs we have visited, the bathroom was modern, large, and very nicely thought out.

Innkeeper Etienne is a Belgian with a love of food, a desire to see that his guests enjoy wonderful breakfasts in exquisite settings, and the ability to see that they do. And he caters to the needs of the guests in ways I have not encountered earlier: informed that we had planned a very early departure, Etienne volunteered to get up at 4:00AM in order to wake us and to prepare a hot breakfast before we departed at 5:00AM; he even provided a bag lunch for the road (we had about 1000 miles to travel that day)!

Caroline and Etienne lived abroad for many years and bring relaxed gracious and informed conversation to those looking for it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2005

Find Yourself Pampered in a Refined Atmosphere. From the minute you arrive until you reluctantly take your leave you'll find a quiet refined atmosphere with excellent food and conversation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2005

My fiancée and I went up to Connecticut for a few fantastic days this June and we can only express our sincerest thanks to Etienne and Caroline to have made our stay so fabulous.

The house is magnificent and has been recently renovated. The rooms are superb, decorated with antiques and the amenities are top notch.
The welcome we received from Etienne and Caroline was genuine and heart-warming. They were always available and gave us many tips and directions. I must add that their “cuisine” is amazing. The breakfast they put together is truly delicious.

There is a lot to see in the area and the history is present everywhere. Deerfield and the Berkshire mountains are only an hour away. Suffield and its area are beautiful. But I must stress that the Air Museum (where Caroline works) is a must-see. I love the "Air and Space" in DC but this one is far more personal and the care and love put in by so many volunteers is apparent.

The garden is a great place to hang out and the pool is big enough to get a nice workout. (approx. 40ft by 20ft)

My fiancée and I loved the place and will definitely go back. I recommend this great B&B to all who love comfort, great food, atmosphere and history.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2005

The house is magnificent, yet it pales next to the welcoming attitude of the owners. We had absolutely lovely accommodations, top of the line food, and the atmosphere was just wht my wife and I needed on a "whirlwind weekend". Our schedule was hectic, we were needy and Caroline and E'tienne were there each time to help and see to our needs. At the end of our busy days there was a comfortable bed awaiting us and we both enjoyed terrific, well needed sleep.

If for no other reason, one shoud stay there just to see the house and it's appointments. Connecticut history at every glance. Suffield enjoys being a town where decendants of the original settlers are still in residence. Caroline is one of them and the house is all a part of Suffield's story.

A must see for the B & B fan!

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2005

We had the pleasure of staying at Spencer on Main for a few days in mid-April. This inn has been lovingly restored by a family with strong ties to the town of Suffield. Each guest room is handsomely decorated with fine antiques, beautiful colors, and well-appointed bathrooms. The beds are so comfortable you may have a hard time waking up until you realize that the owners' amazing European style breakfast awaits you downstairs!

The common rooms and grounds are gorgeous, too. In the summer, there is a swimming pool for guests' use in the enormous garden. We hope to return again and again.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spencer On Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer On Main

Address: 264 South Main Street, Suffield, CT 06078
Location: United States > Connecticut > Suffield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Suffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1870 Second Empire house with two suites and one bedroom, all with private bathroom. Open in September 04 after one year of renovations. Each guestroom decorated with period antiques but offering modern amenities such as cable TV, DVD/VCR, stereo system, WIFI, and central A/C. Eight acres of land, swimming pool. Full breakfasts blend Belgian and American traditional recipes. Free pickup is provided to and from Bradley Airport and Amtrak station. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spencer On Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.