We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best, Anywhere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spencer On Main

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Suffield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spencer On Main
Save
You added Spencer On Main to your Saves list
264 South Main Street, Suffield, CT 06078   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Suffield B&B and Inns
San Mateo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the Best, Anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We've travelled all over the world but this place, in Suffield, CT, is one of the best places we've ever stayed. Etienne is a delight. We stayed in a suite of rooms that Etienne had arranged for us. Quiet. Comfortable. Breakfast, cooked by Etienne, was delicious.

Room Tip: Get Etienne's advice before you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
35
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nantucket
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed the night in this grand Victorian home with Etienne & Caroline as our host and hostess. What a special place. The home has been with the family almost from the inception of the town and my guess is that it has been kept in impeccable condition ever since. Staying here is like stepping back in time - a "Downton Abbey" expirience. The a decor is amazing. It includes period wallpaper, window dressings and wonderful antique furniture. Our suite had a grand four-poster bed, a fireplace, an exquisite bathroom as well as a parlor filled with bookcases brimming with every book you could ever want to read, a stereo, tv and a candle filled fireplace. What a treat! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from an overnight stay at this wonderful Bed & Breakfast. Etienne & Caroline , the owners were as gracious as could be. We felt welcomed from the moment we arrived. Our room was really a suite consisting of a bedroom , large sitting room/ library and a beautiful, large well appointed bathroom. The home has been in Caroline's family for years. It is tastefully and warmly decorated with antique and family pieces- no " matchy-matchy Frou Frou" here.... thank goodness. Had a lovely nights rest and a delicious breakfast and hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in the Bird in the Nest suite, 3 large rooms, including a nice library room to read in or watch TV. Comfy bed. Beautiful house, nice screened porch. Each breakfast was grand, excellent. Better than being at home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I am a tour operator, have travelled very widely and have stayed in an enormous variety of hotels across the world. My company does not, however, feature the United Sates. This is an enormous and very gracious house with ample, individual lounge areas full of books and music, spacious gardens and large swimming pool. The rooms are classic five star and the breakfast imaginative and served with style. Caroline and Etienne are there when you want them but never intrude. I would not hesitate in featuring this property if it was in an area which we covered in our programmes.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baronbou, Manager at Spencer On Main, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Please know that our pool is not open to our guests due to the unaffordable requirements of the CT Health Department and ADA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed with Etienne and Caroline many times over recent years. This time it was the occasion of our son's High School Graduation. As usual they welcomed us and our friends and family with their generous hospitality. We had a lovely stay and celebrated around their pool with many of our son's friends and their parents. The boys enjoyed chilling by the pool after the stress of their last few weeks!
Spencer on Main has been voted the best B&B in New England and we agree from our many visits that this is well deserved. For comfort, warmth of welcome and great breakfasts, they may be the best in the USA.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Caroline & Etienne are wonderful hosts. The room was amazing. The house and it's history are not to be missed. And Breakfast was an absolute delight. I can't say enough wonderful things about the whole experience

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spencer On Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer On Main

Address: 264 South Main Street, Suffield, CT 06078
Location: United States > Connecticut > Suffield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Suffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1870 Second Empire house with two suites and one bedroom, all with private bathroom. Open in September 04 after one year of renovations. Each guestroom decorated with period antiques but offering modern amenities such as cable TV, DVD/VCR, stereo system, WIFI, and central A/C. Eight acres of land, swimming pool. Full breakfasts blend Belgian and American traditional recipes. Free pickup is provided to and from Bradley Airport and Amtrak station. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spencer On Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.