We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More a boutique Hotel rather than a B & B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spencer On Main

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Suffield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spencer On Main
Save
You added Spencer On Main to your Saves list
264 South Main Street, Suffield, CT 06078   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Suffield B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More a boutique Hotel rather than a B & B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I am a tour operator, have travelled very widely and have stayed in an enormous variety of hotels across the world. My company does not, however, feature the United Sates. This is an enormous and very gracious house with ample, individual lounge areas full of books and music, spacious gardens and large swimming pool. The rooms are classic five star and the breakfast imaginative and served with style. Caroline and Etienne are there when you want them but never intrude. I would not hesitate in featuring this property if it was in an area which we covered in our programmes.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baronbou, Manager at Spencer On Main, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Please know that our pool is not open to our guests due to the unaffordable requirements of the CT Health Department and ADA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
36
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed with Etienne and Caroline many times over recent years. This time it was the occasion of our son's High School Graduation. As usual they welcomed us and our friends and family with their generous hospitality. We had a lovely stay and celebrated around their pool with many of our son's friends and their parents. The boys enjoyed chilling by the pool after the stress of their last few weeks!
Spencer on Main has been voted the best B&B in New England and we agree from our many visits that this is well deserved. For comfort, warmth of welcome and great breakfasts, they may be the best in the USA.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Caroline & Etienne are wonderful hosts. The room was amazing. The house and it's history are not to be missed. And Breakfast was an absolute delight. I can't say enough wonderful things about the whole experience

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Etienne and Carolyn are excellent hosts: the room and house were lovely, the food was excellent, and I really enjoyed our chats by the fireplace on a cold, winter day! I would recommend this for friends and hope to return someday to stay again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I stayed here with my mother while she was visiting New England and it just made her whole experience of the CT area better. Etienne was the perfect host and a great chef. He was attentive without being smothering, polite without being distant, and utterly charming. The house is clean with spacious rooms and maintains many of the original features that give this B&B a leg up on any conventional hotel.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Just got back from a one night stay at the beautiful Spencer On Main B&B in Suffield, CT. We've stayed at many B&B's and this one ranks up there with the best. It's beautifully furnished and is bursting with charm. Caroline is a delight and made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was superb as well. Highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We are Belgian and were at Spencer on Main for 3 wonderful days with friends.
Everything was really nice!
Merci beaucoup!

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Spencer On Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer On Main

Address: 264 South Main Street, Suffield, CT 06078
Location: United States > Connecticut > Suffield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Suffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1870 Second Empire house with two suites and one bedroom, all with private bathroom. Open in September 04 after one year of renovations. Each guestroom decorated with period antiques but offering modern amenities such as cable TV, DVD/VCR, stereo system, WIFI, and central A/C. Eight acres of land, swimming pool. Full breakfasts blend Belgian and American traditional recipes. Free pickup is provided to and from Bradley Airport and Amtrak station. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spencer On Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.