We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn Stratford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn Stratford to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn Stratford
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Washington Parkway, Stratford, CT 06615   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Stratford
Nova Scotia, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice place for a stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

My husband need a place to stop over on our way to Washington, DC and found the Rodeway Inn in Stratford. The hotel itself is very basic, a bit older, but basically fine. Normally I would have rated it a 3 but its location made me up my rating to a 4. It is right on the beach overlooking Long Island, NY. It was wonderful to get in after a long day of driving and stroll the beach and enjoy a nice supper at the hotel's onsite restaurant which had an outdoor patio. The hotel is fairly isolated - not a lot of stuff to do around it, which is why i would recommend it for a stop over as opposed to a destination. But it is very quiet being located at the end of a residential street. Good for sleeping.

  • Liked — The Beach
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    43
    22
    14
    8
See reviews for
36
42
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
richfield, OH
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

We searched on the internet for a hotel in the area for a job interview, and were lucky enough to find this wonderful place---right on the water, wonderful, friendly family owned, great patio overlooking the water, with a great restaurant. What else could you ask for? We are coming to New York to see a Yankees game in August, and will be thrilled to drive a little extra to stay here again!

  • Liked — Family atmosphere- great location, great restaurant on-site
  • Disliked — No elevators is a problem for people with handicap.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

We booked our room from the internet. We like to stay with the small independent as compared to the large corporate chains. Marnick's is American family owned since it opened. Marge & Nick (hence Marnick) started everything. Family has continued the hospitality to make their heritage proud. Our room was VERY clean, updated & well equiped with microwave , fridge cable TV & internet. We booked a king bed with balcony overlooking The Sound. OUTSTANDING view. Nothing like falling asleep listening to the waves. Outside full service bar was opened. Gives a carribbean feel with sitting under the umbrella, ocean breeze & music. Great service. Food is real home cooking that again represents the personal touch Marge & Nick began. This isnt a large corporate chain with all the hustle & hassle. It is a small, tranquil, relaxing vacation that we will positively be back for. Takes you back in time when vacations were to escape from the world & reunite with your family.

  • Liked — Outstanding Courtesy
  • Disliked — Had to leave when time to go home
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2008

The view from the balcony and the surrounding town is absolutely beautiful! The room was rather plain with a stand up shower stall, 2 double beds, fridge and microwave. The first night we got there we weren't impressed with the cleanliness of the room, there was ashes on the bathroom floor and hair in the shower :( Although when we woke up and opened up that balcony door the smell of the ocean and the crisp ocean breeze just made us relax. We went out for the day and came back to a CLEAN room. WE will definately be going back again very soon, but will NEVER eat at the restaurant there again. We ordered the fishermans platter and it was all frozen food that you could go buy in the frozen food section at walmart, and to top it off it was all oven baked!!!!!!! ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE FOOD!!!!!!!! If you stay here and want some real off the boat seafood we definately recommend Uberti's right down the street!!!!! DO NOT EAT AT MARNICKS its expensive and disgusting!!!!! We checked out other hotel locations in that area and there were all right in the heart of the "city" surrounding views of these other hotels were stop lights, stores and road rage. I would definately recommend the Rodeway Inn for any age group with or without children (we brought 3 kids) and for anyone that wants to enjoy the beach and a quiet setting. Pay the extra for the balcony it is well worth the 10 bucks!

  • Liked — deifinately the view
  • Disliked — the hotel restaurant
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2007

This was a lovely, old hotel. It was not fancy and had none of the bells and whistles of the nicer chains but the beachfront property made up for everything.
We spent the night with our patio door open to hear the sounds of the ocean. It was our childrens' first time to see the ocean. Even though it was cold and dreary, they played on the beach all morning. We cancelled our plans to leave early and get to Mt. Vernon because they were having so much fun.
On the night we arrived, the desk clerk, who I assumed was the owner, asked the restaurant staff to stay open till 9 p.m. because he had several rooms arriving late (of which we were one.)

  • Liked — beachfront
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2007

Flies dead and alive in the check in area. Hallways narrow and beat. Room maid had her whole family with her running up and down the halls. The room had a inch of dust under the beads,bathroom shower stall was moldy, slider had a peice of plywood on the outside so you could not go out. Not a place for the faint heart.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — filthy
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

My husband took me here as a quick surprise getaway this past weekend. I didn't know what I would find there, but I have to tell you that I found a fantastic time!

The room was clean and cool (a.c. was running), the patio was clean and nothing could beat the view of the Long Island Sound. The restaurant was great. While there wasn't any other place nearby to eat, I enjoyed the dinner very much and the breakfast was great too. Very hospitable bunch and although the restaurant was full to capacity during breakfast, everything went smoothly and quickly. The people there do whatever they can to make your stay comfortable and that to me goes a long way.

This is definitely a great place to stay.

  • Liked — Relaxing
  • Disliked — Went by too quickly
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn Stratford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Stratford

Address: 10 Washington Parkway, Stratford, CT 06615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Stratford
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Stratford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Stratford 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Rodeway Inn Stratford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Stratford Hotel Stratford
Stratford Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn Stratford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.